• Andrew McQualter

Votes: 87 37.8%
  • Adem Yze

Votes: 146 63.5%

I just don't want our 2024 to be totally railroaded by Dusty and him leaving gossip. You know it is going to happen. The longer he goes uncontracted, the more bullshit the club will get dragged through. 2023 was the Jack & Trent farewell tour. It was a total waste of a year as we have no picks to grow with & most of our younger guys only grew by small portions - no one spiked to a starter really & owned that position.

He either needs to extend the contract now or request a trade. IF neither happens 2024 will be another wasted season more focused on individuals and not the team.

I feel like the supporting this club has been an emotional & exhausting process over the past 3 years - it has been 40% about the footy & 60% about the individuals. It all started with Rance's departure in Dec 2019 & it has been non-stop since. Higgins. Lynch. Rioli, Bolton, Stack, CCJ, Cotchin. Coitchin's wife. Strippers. Kebabs. Marketing Girls. Danielle. Cotchins Wife & kids. Pickett. Vlaustin. Short. Chol. Stack again. then again. Castagna.Umpires. 50s. Arcgate. Dimma. And always, Dusty. It's been an ongoing drama the whole way through - its been really unenjoyable and unproductive as well & we are approaching Dec 2023 - making it 4 years of tension. We have gone nowhere but backwards during that tenure since 2020. We need to get control of our club again.

You realise thats mostly on the AFL media and its been like that for every club, AFL media has become more soap opera than it has footy.

Just have a look at how the Brayshaw/Maynard thing is still going on, AFL media still going for clicks on it.

Great thread, came in here to read about Richmond’s coaching search but found a Dusty thread instead.

Also for all you jokers trashing the club, do you think any club would not trade their last 6 years with us to be in our position now?

Reality is you can’t compete for a flag continuously. We’re resetting now so expect another year or two of 6th-12th but no doubt the guys in charge will get us back to the top quickly.

Great thread, came in here to read about Richmond’s coaching search but found a Dusty thread instead.

Also for all you jokers trashing the club, do you think any club would not trade their last 6 years with us to be in our position now?

Reality is you can’t compete for a flag continuously. We’re resetting now so expect another year or two of 6th-12th but no doubt the guys in charge will get us back to the top quickly.
Hopefully soon we have a new coach. Dusty talk some have moved elsewhere lol.

You realise thats mostly on the AFL media and its been like that for every club, AFL media has become more soap opera than it has footy.

Just have a look at how the Brayshaw/Maynard thing is still going on, AFL media still going for clicks on it.

You gotta know the beast though. We have legit invited the controversy over the last 4 years & continue to do so leading into 2024 unless Dusty is traded, or re-signed. Im not fussed which outcome, but they must make 1

There haven't been a whole lot of articles about him leaving until Dimma tho, the articles were more so around if he had fallen out of love for the game, retiring etc. Articles about that stuff after his father passed away, or, articles about not being able to visit his father due to covid & police restrictions etc. This time though, Dusty can actually control their narrative by putting pen to paper - showing he is staying, instead of making others like Balmey continually have to say it. I just want a definitive answer in the form of proof, not heresay

Anyone who can't see how much the club has been slowly destabilising over the last 4 years must be blind. I've been warning about the tipping point to all that & is here, now.
Forgive me if I’m mistaken but haven’t you been wanting Dimma to move on anyway?

So why is it now a tipping point?
A new sr coach is the biggest decision the club had made since 2016 when they backed Hardwick in so I have no issues with the club doing it’s absolute due diligence to get it right and make the best decision possible

We don’t have a huge amount of trade currency and only depth players out of contract so we won’t be massive players in the trade period anyway so no real rush anyway

Let the new coach have this year assess the list over next season and start to make the moves they want to see after acutely learning the strengths and weaknesses of the players and how they fit into the gameplan they constructed over the pre season

As for Dusty as others have mentioned he has been talked about moving every year for the last 4 years and even before when he toured gws it’s a story that drives clicks
Seems like a little bit of correlation vs causation with you saying it’s because of Dimma this year when it’s just as likely that it’s because we are getting closer to the trade season

As for Dusty needing to say something…
Why?
He’s contracted why does he need to put pen to paper? Or make a statement just to appease a part of the footy community who are swallowing whatever the media is telling them?

& even if he does go it’s completely his decision anyway

I must also point out the irony in the fact that you have said that the players and staff had lost respect for Dimma due to what happened in the hub and his marriage yet he is having no difficulty in getting ex players and staff to join his coaching and football department and now Dusty is leaving to follow Dimma (according to you)

I just don't want our 2024 to be totally railroaded by Dusty and him leaving gossip. You know it is going to happen. The longer he goes uncontracted, the more bullshit the club will get dragged through. 2023 was the Jack & Trent farewell tour. It was a total waste of a year as we have no picks to grow with & most of our younger guys only grew by small portions - no one spiked to a starter really & owned that position.

He either needs to extend the contract now or request a trade. IF neither happens 2024 will be another wasted season more focused on individuals and not the team.

I feel like the supporting this club has been an emotional & exhausting process over the past 3 years - it has been 40% about the footy & 60% about the individuals. It all started with Rance's departure in Dec 2019 & it has been non-stop since. Higgins. Lynch. Rioli, Bolton, Stack, CCJ, Cotchin. Coitchin's wife. Strippers. Kebabs. Marketing Girls. Danielle. Cotchins Wife & kids. Pickett. Vlaustin. Short. Chol. Stack again. then again. Castagna.Umpires. 50s. Arcgate. Dimma. And always, Dusty. It's been an ongoing drama the whole way through - its been really unenjoyable and unproductive as well & we are approaching Dec 2023 - making it 4 years of tension. We have gone nowhere but backwards during that tenure since 2020. We need to get control of our club again.
just have a lay down you will be ok

As far as I’m concerned, the club has had the benefit of time to get the coach recruitment 100% right

Dimma”s resignation was months ago and there have been no other clubs actively/ publicly looking for coaches…
Effectively, it”s been an open field for us to choose from

i”m backing the club to get this right….there is a lot at stake

go tigers

bring on 10:20
No other senior coaching jobs available and based on what has been reported so few applicants for the position available.

And the final two candidates do not have either premierships as a player or coaching their own team. Actually the total head coaching experience appears to be Mini's stint as caretaker, right?

Not ideal.... difficult to argue that anyone rates our club or list at all tbh

Forgive me if I’m mistaken but haven’t you been wanting Dimma to move on anyway?

So why is it now a tipping point?
A new sr coach is the biggest decision the club had made since 2016 when they backed Hardwick in so I have no issues with the club doing it’s absolute due diligence to get it right and make the best decision possible

We don’t have a huge amount of trade currency and only depth players out of contract so we won’t be massive players in the trade period anyway so no real rush anyway

Let the new coach have this year assess the list over next season and start to make the moves they want to see after acutely learning the strengths and weaknesses of the players and how they fit into the gameplan they constructed over the pre season

As for Dusty as others have mentioned he has been talked about moving every year for the last 4 years and even before when he toured gws it’s a story that drives clicks
Seems like a little bit of correlation vs causation with you saying it’s because of Dimma this year when it’s just as likely that it’s because we are getting closer to the trade season

As for Dusty needing to say something…
Why?
He’s contracted why does he need to put pen to paper? Or make a statement just to appease a part of the footy community who are swallowing whatever the media is telling them?

& even if he does go it’s completely his decision anyway

I must also point out the irony in the fact that you have said that the players and staff had lost respect for Dimma due to what happened in the hub and his marriage yet he is having no difficulty in getting ex players and staff to join his coaching and football department and now Dusty is leaving to follow Dimma (according to you)

The tipping point was we allowed ethics and standards to drop to a dangerous level & now lost an entire generation of players and people all at once & replaced them with not alot. What is our culture now? How are our leaders? What style do we play ? What mantra do we carry?

At the moment, no one knows. In the past, that has been incredibly clear.

Dimma is a piece of it, but not all. We have lost a hell of a lot. The time for the club to be able to re-tool to avoid a reboot is well and truely over due to Dimma's ridiculous "Last Dance" fantasy. We are in no mans land and you know it. The club needs to pick a lane & pick carefully. Winning now to capitalise on Dusty's last year is more insane than the "last Dance" idea.

People spruicking belief and patience on what? The people who brought you a dynasty are no longer at the club. Who are you exactly being patient & believing in atm?

We have 2 captains that barely resemble one. Sorry Toby & Dylan, but the role has not worked.

Who is the coach? Who are his assistants ?

Are we believing in just Balme & Benny at this point? As they are pretty much the only 2 left that had an part of the last era we all trusted in

You’ve found it ‘emotional and exhausting’ supporting this club for the last 3 years? Jesus, how did you cope between 1982 and 2016 or weren’t you around then?

Well I’m certainly old enough to have lived through all that and I can assure you the last 3 years have been nothing like that.

Honestly some of you just don’t know how well off you are. Stop bloody sooking and get behind the club like a real supporter would. Benny Gale knocked back the AFL for us, do you really think he wouldn’t make sure we are in good shape before he does leave one day?

Proving himself to be a troll.

Top 4 pick for Dusty.lol

Top 4 Pick + Chol for Dusty, Prestia + us covering 90% wages for Dusty, Prestia in 2024 & they get to salary dump Chols $1,000,000/2 on us as well.

Remember , t his is the club that traded a pick 7 & Bowes for a future 3rd round pick only 12 months ago. And a pick 2 on Lachie Weller. The AFL has just helped them land their biggest fish in Dimma - if the AFL thinks they can get Dusty as well, they will make it happen. They run the Suns & don't forget it. What is best for the AFL $$$ will take precedent to whats best for the Suns list management

Top 4 Pick + Chol for Dusty, Prestia + us covering 90% wages for Dusty, Prestia in 2024 & they get to salary dump Chols $1,000,000/2 on us as well.

Remember , t his is the club that traded a pick 7 & Bowes for a future 3rd round pick only 12 months ago. And a pick 2 on Lachie Weller. The AFL has just helped them land their biggest fish in Dimma - if the AFL thinks they can get Dusty as well, they will make it happen. They run the Suns & don't forget it. What is best for the AFL $$$ will take precedent to whats best for the Suns list management
Wow, feel like we are giving up a lot for a single pick. Who are you planning on picking up with Pick 4? Maybe you should be also asking for additional players off the Suns list. Maybe midfielder with speed and footskills?

He knows who the coach will be out of a handful of candidates.

And Neil Balme and Hardwick both said he’s staying in the past couple of days.

Balme…. “It gave you blokes (the media) something to talk about that he must be going there to play, which is not true, I can guarantee you.”

"Dustin's going to stay at Richmond," Hardwick told the Seven Network's Talking Finals.

"Personally, for my opinion, that is absolutely the right thing for him to do.

"He's going to stay at Richmond which is an enormous positive for that footy club.

"Me, like 17 other coaches, would love to have him on my side,
but the fact of the matter is it's great he's going to play his 300th game at the Richmond football club next year."
Why would you put any credence to what an opposition coach says ,until Dusty or his manager say something all the rest is fluff, if he plays put next year without re commiting the journalists will have a field day with the club , it will bring distractions that the new coach won’t need

A mate was taking the piss the other day suggesting we appoint Joel Selwood as next coach. Reckons he's got all the right credentials to take us to another flag:
ex Geelong, big sulking sook and the umpires love-child.
Just think about all those close games we lost by being shafted by the AFL and the Maggots will be a thing of the past with him in charge.

On SM-A426B using BigFooty.com mobile app

You gotta know the beast though. We have legit invited the controversy over the last 4 years & continue to do so leading into 2024 unless Dusty is traded, or re-signed. Im not fussed which outcome, but they must make 1
The worst thing in management us the inability to make a decision, whatever decision is made is right at the time , it may be proven wrong later but making a decision is the right decision