RIP Allan Jeans - One of the Hawthorn Football Club's Greatest has passed away

Re: RIP Allan Jeans

I have just heard Dipper being interviewed, he was in tears and very upset..Hard to believe Dipper would cry, he loved Alan, and his wife..Another tough man..
Remember Dipper telling the story of when he thought his shit didn't stink and whinging to all the other players that he should be in the ones, and how Yabby wasn't playing him. The great man brought Dipper into his office one night after training to give him an explanation. He proceeded to pick up Dipper, throw him against the wall and then give him a barrage about how he was acting and conducting himself. Dipper was a blubbering mess :D

Can't wait to hear some of the stories when they come out in the coming days.

RIP Yabby. You and Kanga made Hawthorn the club that it was, and what it continues to be.

A sad day. A true legend of the game. Just a great bloke overall.
Thank you for all the wonderful memories. Cannot remember anybody ever saying a bad word about him. Love and Respected by all.

Love you and will never forget you.

Prayers and thoughts with you family.

RIP Alan "Yabby" Jeans.

The man was coaching genius. People talk about Malthouse, Matthews, Sheedy etc but this guy was just on a whole new level.

He made us what we are today (along with guys like Ron Cook and JK Snr). I shed a tear today for the great man.

We will be forever indebted for what you gave our club. Thanks again Jeansy and may your soul RIP.

Deepest sympathies to the Jeans family.

Your legacy to this great club will be everlasting.

You gave me some amazing memories during our golden era, but my most lasting and treasured will be during one of our darkest hours. To hear your voice boom out over the PA out the front of the Hawthorn Civic Centre during the merger meeting was inspiring. I felt like I was a player in the rooms before the most important game in the clubs history.

A true legend.

I don't think we could ever find the right words to express our gratitude and love for this great man. A true legend is he who has as much respect and admiration by his opponents as he has by those he considers his family. Yabby, your memory will live on in our great club, as you were partly responsible for making it great in the first place.

RIP

Dermie struggling to get through Jeansie's tribute. Summed it up well though "A lot of blokes lost a dad today". Couldn't have said it better myself.

Nice one Phil..I reckon Dermie was right..YOu dont want to say silly things but lots of young kids grew up looking at Allan Jeans, dipper, dermie and lethal as role models.

I am one of them.

Really sad day...not ashamed to say the news brought a tear to my eye.

Hawks need to go out and win a flag for Yabbie.

No doubt Yabby will have been greeted in heaven by Bobby Davis with the words "Yabby, you were fair dinkum unbelievable".

Very, very sad news :((
It was a tough run into work listening to Dermott on SEN this morning.

So many childhood memories of this great man.

We lost a true legend today. RIP Yabby

Very rarely post on any forum's but was so gutted when I heard about Yabby....

He was the coach of the team I fell in love with as a child growing up in the 80's and is so much a part of the awesome memories I have.

I feel very fortunate to have been a kid in the 80's following a team such as those Yabby led Hawks.

R.I.P. Yabby

a very sad day.
anyone who leads a club to 6 consecutive grand finals (88 not incl) and wins 4 premierships is a genuine contender as the greatest AFL coach of all time. and so much more depth beyond his footy life. really interesting to read about his career in the police force. And Jeans was the epitome of what it meant for Hawthorn to known as the family club.
RIP Yabby. Thanks for the Memories.

Very sad day.

A Legend of the Finley, St Kilda and Hawthorn Football Clubs.

A true gentleman of the highest order.

RIP Yabby. You will never be forgotten!

RIP Allan Jeans - One of the Hawthorn Football Club's Greatest has passed away