Preview RND 2 Carlton v Brisbane @ The Gabba Thursday 5th April 7.40pm - Team - NO CHANGES

Re: Brisbane vs Carlton @ The Gabba. Thursday 7.40pm

no brown makes it a hell of a lot easier, but merrett forward is capable of chipping in for a 2 or 3. taking care of black will go a long way towards a win.

can we at least kick straighter? we are still so wasteful.

old man hudson played very well against us last bulldogs game.

Henderson is like a deer in headlights when he gets the ball. I would love him to match up on merret. I think carlton should win but our midfield is better than people give it credit for as well as an element of surprise in our fwd line simmilar to carlton post fev. Just hope its a good game of footy really

You might wanna get yourself a telly.

Have you got a brother that barracks for Richmond

Yeah I think it is safe to say that Rocky will play midfield and rest forward. Black, Redden and Adcock is a good midfield however.

Sorry moonshine, 3 players (1 quality, 2 average) does not constitute a good midfield.

You will be overawed with the difference in game styles come thursday night. The Blues will cruise to an 8+ goal victory easily. This is one of those games to rotate players and avoid injuries.

:)

Great work taking the piss mate.
:rolleyes:

Must send Carrots to Black. Black always destroys us and has been the catalyst for the Lions vicotries over us in years past (along with J.Brown but obviously he will be missing). I think we should win, but I just hope we don't underestimate the Lions. I thought we looked pretty rusty against the Tigers and have so much upside and room for improvement. We have shown we have some good depth with 4 or 5 of our starting 22 out.

I think our bigger bodies should get the job done and would like to think we will run the game out better. Black and Rockliff are the main guys we have to shut down. They are stars.

Yeah I think it is safe to say that Rocky will play midfield and rest forward. Black, Redden and Adcock is a good midfield however.

What no Rich?

I'm not taking the piss he is a list clogger! Sure he may have played a couple of good games last year but he is a dumb footballer. Can you honestly say that he is a good footballer?

You drafted him.

C4[2]Yo`DooR, I know you're an Albert Proud tragic, but you really didn't need to start another BF account.

Yes, yes we can. Fair enough up forward he looked a bit overawed at time with ball in hands but his composure with the footy down back has been a real highligh.

Sorry moonshine, 3 players (1 quality, 2 average) does not constitute a good midfield.

You will be overawed with the difference in game styles come thursday night. The Blues will cruise to an 8+ goal victory easily. This is one of those games to rotate players and avoid injuries.

Fair enough, you are entitled to your own opinion but I think you have horribly mis read my post. I was not talking about our whole midfield, I was talking about the 3 players who would be starting in the square at the start of the match. Also I would hardly call Adcock and Redden average and Black is more than just quality. You are like I said entitled to your opinion however :)

P.S. May I ask why you think I will be overawed on Thursday night? I realise that Carlton are a top 4 side and are miles ahead of the Lions in terms of development, I was merely stating the likely line up that the Lions will have on Thursday night and I was making the point that we have good players in our midfield that will allow Rockliff to spend time up forward.

Must send Carrots to Black. Black always destroys us and has been the catalyst for the Lions vicotries over us in years past (along with J.Brown but obviously he will be missing).

This. He is the only player on the park for Brisbane who should be better than his direct opponent (given his experience, and considering it's not someone like Judd or Murphy). Should we shut him out of the game then our midfield should run rampant. Carrots is a perfect match-up.

You drafted him.

I LOL'd. :D:thumbsu:

Yes, yes we can. Fair enough up forward he looked a bit overawed at time with ball in hands but his composure with the footy down back has been a real highligh.

I'm sorry guys, not trying to be smart or revisionist, but would you seriously (objectively) rate Hendo as worthy of a top 10 pick?

Judging from the posts above I'm sure most of you are going to say "yes" but I genuinely believe that he is your stereotypical "good ordinary footballer"and certainly not Carlton's best tall defender. At very least he is poor by foot, but otherwise I will concede he is a competent defensive player (but an awful CHF). What can't be doubted however is his character.

I'm pretty sure you guys will take care of us by 4-5 goals on Thursday, but Saturday at least gives us some reason to believe that we are slowly on the improve

I'm sorry guys, not trying to be smart or revisionist, but would you seriously (objectively) rate Hendo as worthy of a top 10 pick?

Judging from the posts above I'm sure most of you are going to say "yes" but I genuinely believe that he is your stereotypical "good ordinary footballer"and certainly not Carlton's best tall defender. At very least he is poor by foot, but otherwise I will concede he is a competent defensive player (but an awful CHF). What can't be doubted however is his character.

I'm pretty sure you guys will take care of us by 4-5 goals on Thursday, but Saturday at least gives us some reason to believe that we are slowly on the improve

He is very good by foot, a really accurate disposal even on the run. You are 100% wrong. When did you last watch him play?

I don't know. Our club didn't select him as a top 10. That was someone else.

Does he fit into our structures and has he got what it takes between the ears? Yes, we're very happy, thank you.

Will be interesting to see what Club does with Duigan and Jammo, given the Northern Blues aren't playing this week. Reckon Duigan may have to play with ressies.

My changes:
OUT: Touhy, Russell.
IN: Jamison, McLean

Why would you take out 2 backs and throw in a player that clearly competes with Curnow?

If the game was in Melbourne on a Friday to Sunday, I have no doubt that Jamison would play.
There will be some serious consideration given to throwing him onto a plane for a game in 5 days time. 50/50

It makes sense now to really set out to settle the back six rather than have to call on Gibbs to plug up holes, all being well.

I'm sorry guys, not trying to be smart or revisionist, but would you seriously (objectively) rate Hendo as worthy of a top 10 pick?...

He's currently the best young KP defender in the AFL, so yes. That was easy wasn't it. Any other questions? I think the issue here, is you're still a bit bitter over the fallout of "that trade" aren't you.

Jamo I can see coming in for Russell, but Touhy played well in defence, and mclean is a midfielder trying to break into a midfield that did pretty well against richmond. Its tough to get into - and it should be with the midfield selection we have.

If the seconds arent playing this week, then Jamo would turn out for the Blues against the Lions so he's match ready for the Pies. oh how i want to beat the Pies.

I agree, Henderson is a Good Ordinary Footballer, at the moment. .. No one is claiming he is elite. .. He is also a 22 year old KPP that is still finding his feet. .. He is not our best KPD although he will likely be on Thursday night. ..

Jamison is our best KPD and he will be considered elite once he gets free of injury and he only really come good last year at 24 years. .. We got him for a rookie pick BTW which makes a mockery of even considering when a player is drafted when judging their quality. ..

Hendo is solid, with superior fitness, a good read of play and a quality kick (esp. on the run). .. Wouldn't expect him to beat a J.Brown but he'll handle a Merrett on Thursday night. ..