- May 5, 2011
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions
Taylor Adams lol
This team looks like it was selected by a 12 year old Dream Team player
You mean like Jake Carlisle?
Fingers crossed our approach works as well as the Saints and it also only takes 9 years for us to make the top 8 again
All Australian captaincy has never been "based solely on their season's output". It's not the MVP award. 22 players are selected based on their season's output. From that 22 they pick a captain and vice-captain based on a mixture of seniority & status within the game. It's a "lifetime achievement" award for one of the long-standing champions of the game. Usually given to players they deem as an ornament to the game.It's not picking an AS squad for a world cup, it's picking the best team based solely on their 2020 output.
Either way though I would still much rather the bloke with the better form who is an actual leader and just led his team to the top of the ladder over some bloke being gifted it because he is a household name and looks good on paper
Exhibit A: Player on left column does make the All Australian Team while the player in the right column does not even make the squad of forty, you may notice no names are mentioned to protect the innocent. Both players play the same position the only difference is one plays for a team that made the finals and the other player plays for a team that did not make finals. I don't barrack for either team so this is not a view influenced by loyalty.
Have you just time travelled from 1989?eff me!!
No it isnt. Danger had a far better year then papley. If papley got an all australian nomination but danger didnt the. It would make a mockery of all australian.Still better than those picked in potential spot on the field - Martin, Bont and Danger, so can feel unlucky as he was in the 40 man squad, same as any other fwd not picked.
i wouldnt split it, id have a clear 1st team and clear 2nd team. historically its always been THE best 1 team, and doubling up the teams might sort of cheapen it a bit given twice as many make it.Like it too. All NBA have 3 teams.
Have two would be an interesting point. make a 44 man squad each year, then split the two teams.
So how did Ridley and Taberner make the squad then? They were complete nobodies before this season. These selectors just make it up as they go along.Interesting that Jakovich said that selection is partly based on a body of work. He responded to criticism about May's exclusion by saying that he had a breakout year this year and so will be in the frame next year of course if form continues.
All Australian captaincy has never been "based solely on their season's output". It's not the MVP award. 22 players are selected based on their season's output. From that 22 they pick a captain and vice-captain based on a mixture of seniority & status within the game. It's a "lifetime achievement" award for one of the long-standing champions of the game. Usually given to players they deem as an ornament to the game.
That's why Andy McLeod was awarded the captaincy in 2007, late in his career, despite never becoming the Adelaide captain. McLeod had far better seasons than his late-career exploits at half back. From 2000-2003 he was one of the most dynamic, dominant players in the game. But the AA selectors recognised his amazing career by giving him the AA captaincy in 2007. He wasn't denied the AA captaincy purely because Ricciuto was the Crows skipper. (Same story with Dangerfield at Geelong under Selwood's captaincy)
Dangerfield is vice-captain of Geelong. He is just as much of a leader (on and off the field) as Travis Boak at Port Adelaide and he has had a far better career. FFS, the guy is one of the all-time greats who was selected for a record-equalling 8th time and people are whinging about him being made Australian captain... Jeez... If I was picking a team from scratch and I could name any 22 I wanted, I wouldn't hesitate about having Dangerfield as my captain.
Interesting that Jakovich said that selection is partly based on a body of work. He responded to criticism about May's exclusion by saying that he had a breakout year this year and so will be in the frame next year of course if form continues. He also pointed out that the other defenders stacked up really well against him and remarked that Sheppard had been very consistently and had basically beaten all his opponents of different sizes. He defended the Danger forward decision pointing out that those type of mids do go forward and impact more often than regular forwards like Papley when they get their chance there. Guess that last game did show that while Papley couldn't nail his shots, Danger got the Cats over the line.
So how did Ridley and Taberner make the squad then? They were complete nobodies before this season. These selectors just make it up as they go along.
Obviously you can't readEqual 1st. And 19 goal assists in 17 games is not 0.72 but 1.1
I'm not arguing with you, mate. I'm trying to help you understand how the AA selectors choose their captain.It's not a lifetime achievement award. It's supposed to be the AA team for 2020. A year where Boak outperformed him as both a player and leader.
I'm well aware it's been a sh*t show for some time. Doesn't make it any less of a joke this time
Once they've selected their 22, they then turn their attention to the honourary leadership titles. It's a bit of a juggling act, but unless there is some alpha dog like Wayne Carey who is both MVP of the league and the game's best captain, then they reward the older guy they deem to be an ornament to the game
2. The All Australian captaincy is usually a lifetime achievement award.
I'm not arguing with you, mate. I'm trying to help you understand how the AA selectors choose their captain.
It's a two step process (both of which are voted upon by the selectors)
1. All Australian selection is based on the season's output.
Once they've debated & voted upon their 22 team selections, they turn their attention to the 2 honourary leadership titles. It's a bit of a juggling act, but unless there is some alpha dog like Wayne Carey who is both MVP of the league and the game's best captain, then they tend to reward the older guy they deem to be an ornament to the game, be it Buddy Franklin, Alex Rance, Robert Murphy, Darren Glass, Joel Selwood, Luke Hodge, Nick Riewoldt, Andrew McLeod, etc...He could be a club captain (that would certainly work in his favour)... But he might not be...
2. The All Australian captaincy is usually a lifetime achievement award.
Yeah nah... disagreeLol Glass and Murphy weren't household names they were just very good leaders of their clubs. If anything they more mirror your Boak types.
Yeah cbf arguing with you either. I'm just saying it's a joke and not what the award is supposed to be judged on. The fact Danger was a better player in past years means fu** all to the 2020 AA when Boak was the far superior player and leader this year.
Not sure Martin's done particularly well as far as AA's go. When he was younger he was frequently compared with Mark Ricciuto; Ricciuto has eight AA's, and Dusty who turns 30 next year now has four. Not saying he should have eight, just that Ricciuto wasn't twice the player Martin is.
I haven't shitcanned any of the selections, they've obviously all had great years, but I raised eyebrows at four or five. Reckon I've got a reasonable idea of what is an AA-standard year without comparing against players from other clubs and I reckon Martin had one, without being at his best every week.
Richmond won 11 from the last 13 at a percentage of 150 and some are effectively saying we had no standout players. It's bad enough that Grimes' and Vlastuin's chances were scuttled by the staging stitch-up despite being cleared at the Tribunal. On last night's coverage, both were mentioned as an afterthought and it was clear they were never going to be picked.
Thought Martin was best suited to one of the interchange spots, but selectors in their wisdom crammed him into a pocket. Butler and Papley both tapered a little; I reckon selectors found them difficult to split and decided it was easier to leave both out than to choose one.
Why are West Coast and the Western Bulldogs always over represented in the AA team?
Been happening for decades and needs to be investigated.
Danger was geelongs best mid this year. You are letting expectations bias influence you evaluation.
My bad!Obviously you can't read
I said the half forward line
That means 3 players
Not 1! !,,,I never mentioned your boys
Name at all, I know he's equal number 1
With 19 and so is big tom Hawkins
Well if it’s any consolation or justification, on the Geelong Board MVP voting Guthrie came in 1st and Danger 2nd.Not really. Almost every game I've seen of Geelong, it was Guthrie I found impressing the most.