Rolling All Australian Team 2020

Why do the AA selectors continue with the farce of naming players in positions - this isn't the 1970s - positions are redundant.

As soon as the ball is bounced, wingers and half forwards push into the midfield or into the back line, defenders leave their opponent and set up zones and plus ones, CHFs either push back deep or up onto the wing, and so on. Often all 36 players are at one end of the ground for prolonged periods - positions become a distant memory.

Just name 1 ruck, 2 tall forwards, 2 tall back men, 4 interchange, and the rest midfielders.

Why do the AA selectors continue with the farce of naming players in positions - this isn't the 1970s - positions are redundant.

As soon as the ball is bounced, wingers and half forwards push into the midfield or into the back line, defenders leave their opponent and set up zones and plus ones, CHFs either push back deep or up onto the wing, and so on. Often all 36 players are at one end of the ground for prolonged periods - positions become a distant memory.

Just name 1 ruck, 2 tall forwards, 2 tall back men, 4 interchange, and the rest midfielders.
This is pretty much the only way they could squeeze Danger, Bont and Dusty in, all undeserving of forward positions. All averaged less than a goal a game.

Typical simplistic way of looking at it

So who of Shepp, NicNat & Ryan didn't deserve their spot?

Not saying Ryan isn't deserving of a spot but considering Papley kicked more goals, won more of the ball and had more goal assists whilst being supported by key forwards like Blakey and McCartin as opposed to Darling and Kennedy one might question the criteria for selection as a forward

Danger was geelongs best mid this year. You are letting expectations bias influence you evaluation.
Really? If Danger was Geelong's best mid this year, then why did his teammates vote for Guthrie, Menegola and Hawkins as their 3 nominations for the MVP award? Were they trying to rort the system again like last year when they left Danger out and nominated Kelly, Blicavs and Hawkins ahead of him?

Why is Geelong always trying to game the system when it comes to these individual awards? Talk about having your priorities out of whack. No wonder your side has always been the star-studded underachievers who dominate the home & away and win all the awards but fail in the finals.

If you close your eyes and imagine a world where every country plays Aussie Rules and that in 2 months there is a World Cup tournament, then it's no real stretch of the imagination that Patrick Dangerfield would be the captain of the Australian team.

Diego Maradona, Lionel Messi, David Beckham all captained their national teams at World Cups despite not captaining their own club and despite the presence of other club captains within the ranks of their national team squads.

The people who think AA captaincy must only be awarded to one of the club captains are fools. It's an honourary title which should always go to the most senior, decorated player who commands the most respect from the other players. The bloke you'd actually want to lead the team out onto the ground if they were playing an international match.
Dangerfield has never been voted in as a captain at any of his clubs, so what makes you think any of the AA players would hold him in higher regard then Boak or Bont? He isnt the worst choice, but Boak or Bont for mine.
And don't forget last year when Buddy was picked, he isnt a captains arseh*le. Your CV shouldn't give you rights to the "C"

Dangerfield has never been voted in as a captain at any of his clubs, so what makes you think any of the AA players would hold him in higher regard then Boak or Bont? He isnt the worst choice, but Boak or Bont for mine.
And don't forget last year when Buddy was picked, he isnt a captains arseh*le. Your CV shouldn't give you rights to the "C"
You are wrong

Especially about Buddy. You don't have a clue. The bloke has always been a great leader on the field and on the training track.

Why are West Coast and the Western Bulldogs always over represented in the AA team?

Been happening for decades and needs to be investigated.

Eagles arguably deservedly this year- sheppard should have been in last year and is an actual defender, NicNat dominated many games and Flyin' Ryan is bloody great to watch, even as a Freo fan.

Bont had a really good year after slow start, Daniel probably deserved a bench spot (he isnt a defender), Macrae very, very, very lucky- Luke Darcy pick.

Richmond and Port shafted- Vlaustin and Jonas particularly- both more deserving than Dusty and DBJ.

Gawn is a joke.

I hear they are strongly considering Rhyce Shaw for AA coach

Why are West Coast and the Western Bulldogs always over represented in the AA team?

Been happening for decades and needs to be investigated.
1992 AFL Premiers West Coast Eagles
1992 All Australian: Dean Kemp

1 Eagle in a flag year.

Scott Cummings wins the 1999 Coleman with 95 goals.

Left out of All Australian side.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not sure my opinion regarding Dangerfield not being a good choice for captain can be wrong but ok mate.
Buddy always been a leader? Righto
LOL

What exactly do you think a leader is?

I always hear cliches about Cripps, Selwood or Judd putting their teams on their back and "carrying them to victory", but that is exactly what Buddy did for his entire career. He always stood up in the big games and in the biggest moments. He single-handedly dragged his side back into contests and to victory more than any footballer I can think of.

All the crap that has been written and said about Buddy's party lifestyle does not alter the fact he was ALWAYS one of the best trainers at Hawthorn and Sydney... and ALWAYS one of the best on-field leaders. Ask anyone involved with the Swans who the young players all looked up to and who took them under his wing.

Fairdinkum, you have your head up your arse if you think otherwise. You're just a slave to all the media bullshit and social media gossip. You think only the players who present well to the media and act all serious like Shannon Hurn and Nick Riewoldt are the legit leaders.. Wrong!

Before Wayne Carey blew it at North, he was spoken of as one of the greatest captains ever. So what's the difference between him and Buddy, in terms of dominating on the field and dominating afterwards at the nightclub? Benny Cousins, the same before he became an ice addict. Hodge, Voss, J Brown... all great leaders who loved a beer or two.

If the All Australian team did play a real game, the gun players in the side are not going to care about anything the captain says to the media or in the huddle before the opening bounce. It's about leading the way out on field. It's not about setting standards around the footy club day to day for 12 months.

Anyway, the point is moot. You don't get to pick the team nor the captain because you're just another nobody on Big Footy and your opinion means doodly squat.

Not saying Ryan isn't deserving of a spot but considering Papley kicked more goals, won more of the ball and had more goal assists whilst being supported by key forwards like Blakey and McCartin as opposed to Darling and Kennedy one might question the criteria for selection as a forward

I would have thought having better forwards next to you would mean you would actually kick less goals. If Buddy played, he would have taken a large chunk of the goals so you're logic doesn't hold up. Ryan was tearing games open on his own boot in the 2nd half of the season and playing better footy out of any small forward in the comp after a slow start. Papley was more consistent, but never reached the heights of Ryan.

No it isnt. Danger had a far better year then papley. If papley got an all australian nomination but danger didnt the. It would make a mockery of all australian.

we couldnt compare players by saying he is a 5 times all australian but the other is only 2. It would be meaningless.

It already is meaningless, especially for different positions.

For example, Jason Dunstall has the same number of AA's as Leon Davis. Dunstall is widely regarded as one of the best 20 footballers of all time whilst Leon would not make the top 1000.

Even players from the same position and era is really hard as selectors are mighty generous with some players and extremely harsh on others. In 2012, for example, Sam Mitchell was the number 1 player in the number 1 side, won the B&F easily, won the Brownlow, won some poty media awards and did not make AA. This was common for him - he only made 3 sides in a long and dominant career. Yet, Scott Pendlebury last year, Selwood a year or 2 earlier (and many more examples) were generously selected to the surprise of many after producing seasons vastly inferior to that of Mitchell in 2012. Both Selwood and Pendles have 6 but I wouldn't say either are twice the player Mitchell was (or Danger 3 x as good).

I would have thought having better forwards next to you would mean you would actually kick less goals. You're logic doesn't hold up. Ryan was tearing games open on his own boot in the 2nd half of the season.

Ryan gets the third defender, Papley gets the best defender. Kennedy and Darling bring more balls to ground, less likely to be outmarked, more small forward roving opportunities.

My argument is not against Ryan in the team. My argument is that Papley deserved a spot in the forward line as a small forward as well rather than one of the three midfieldiers.

Ryan gets the third defender, Papley gets the best defender. Kennedy and Darling bring more balls to ground, less likely to be outmarked, more small forward roving opportunities.

My argument is not against Ryan in the team. My argument is that Papley deserved a spot in the forward line as a small forward as well rather than one of the three midfieldiers.

That he did. AA lost a lot of credibility this year with that move. Bizarre decision.

Typical simplistic way of replying with no argument.
I won't speak for the others, but as has been mentioned many times in this thread (several times by me) Danger is No.1 in the competition for goal assists in 2020 and he was top 10 for score involvements. Plus he was top 10 for contested possessions. All that aside, he spent less time this year in the midfield than previous years. So for him to be selected on HFF, the same position he was given in the 2019 team, is okay with me

AA is ridiculous. Danger should be moved to either A) the bench in place of Adams, or B) shuffle things around the middle for Guthrie out. Papley/Butler/Gunston in doesn’t have to mean these A+ mids miss out on selection. It means these fringe 1st AA jacket types that they seem to like to select every year for whatever reason AKA Byrne-Jones, Guthrie, Adams don’t make it.

Were guthrie and adams good? Sure. But i’m not going to try to argue they’re better then Danger, thats the position they’re competing with. So one moves out to actually fit genuine half-forwards in their rightful position.

Byrne-Jones over Maynard is an absolute joke. Maynard is better then Byrne-jones in almost every single statistical category there is, minus centre clearances. Which, even with that small amount of mid time, Byrne-Jones couldn’t surpass Maynards possession or Inside 50 count. Maynard also has 2,200 more Metres gained. And was the ONLY general defender in the comp to be ranked elite in player rating, Kick rating, disposals, intercepts & metres gained.

Maynard is more deserving of a spot then Adams (for sure), and Moore. Even though Moore has been excellent.

LOL

What exactly do you think a leader is?

I always hear cliches about Cripps, Selwood or Judd putting their teams on their back and "carrying them to victory", but that is exactly what Buddy did for his entire career. He always stood up in the big games and in the biggest moments. He single-handedly dragged his side back into contests and to victory more than any footballer I can think of.

All the crap that has been written and said about Buddy's party lifestyle does not alter the fact he was ALWAYS one of the best trainers at Hawthorn and Sydney... and ALWAYS one of the best on-field leaders. Ask anyone involved with the Swans who the young players all looked up to and who took them under his wing.

Fairdinkum, you have your head up your arse if you think otherwise. You're just a slave to all the media bullshit and social media gossip. You think only the players who present well to the media and act all serious like Shannon Hurn and Nick Riewoldt are the legit leaders.. Wrong!

Before Wayne Carey blew it at North, he was spoken of as one of the greatest captains ever. So what's the difference between him and Buddy, in terms of dominating on the field and dominating afterwards at the nightclub? Benny Cousins, the same before he became an ice addict. Hodge, Voss, J Brown... all great leaders who loved a beer or two.

If the All Australian team did play a real game, the gun players in the side are not going to care about anything the captain says to the media or in the huddle before the opening bounce. It's about leading the way out on field. It's not about setting standards around the footy club day to day for 12 months.

Anyway, the point is moot. You don't get to pick the team nor the captain because you're just another nobody on Big Footy and your opinion means doodly squat.
You ok? Finished melting yet?

Im a slave to the media now haha, even though I disagree with most in the media regarding this team, unlike yourself haha.

Im just sharing my opinion like others, don't take it to seriously bud.

But again Buddy isn't a captains arseh*le, just to clarify that part of MY opinion. Enjoy xx

It already is meaningless, especially for different positions.

For example, Jason Dunstall has the same number of AA's as Leon Davis. Dunstall is widely regarded as one of the best 20 footballers of all time whilst Leon would not make the top 1000.

Even players from the same position and era is really hard as selectors are mighty generous with some players and extremely harsh on others. In 2012, for example, Sam Mitchell was the number 1 player in the number 1 side, won the B&F easily, won the Brownlow, won some poty media awards and did not make AA. This was common for him - he only made 3 sides in a long and dominant career. Yet, Scott Pendlebury last year, Selwood a year or 2 earlier (and many more examples) were generously selected to the surprise of many after producing seasons vastly inferior to that of Mitchell in 2012. Both Selwood and Pendles have 6 but I wouldn't say either are twice the player Mitchell was (or Danger 3 x as good).

In 2012 Swan, Ablett, Beams, Cotchin, Dangerfield, Thomson Deledio were way ahead of Mitchell. Mitchell was better in 11 and only polled so well because Sewell was your next rated mid, Hodge played 10 games and umpires don't like Buddy. Maybe Watson should have been out of the team but in no way was Mitchell the best mid that year.

Rolling All Australian Team 2020