Analysis Rolling All-Australian team for 2021

He's not.

He genuinely should be.

It's not the best kept secret that I have not been his biggest fan since he came to Hawthorn, but he has done incredibly well in the worst midfield in the comp this season. Mitchell has been ineffective, Worpel has fallen off a cliff and then we have guys like Howe, Cousins, etc through there. The fact we have won 2 games and been competitive in the others is largely due to OMeara carrying the midfield,.often winning contests against 2 or 3 opponents and no 'cheap' possessions.

In round 1 he had 30 disposals, 9 clearances, 4 tackles and 8 coaches votes.
Round 2 he was decent without standing out.
Round 3 he had 34 disposals, 13 clearances and was 1 of 3 players to get votes from both coaches.
Round 4 he had 28 disposals and 6 clearances.
Round 5 he had 27 disposals, 9 clearances, 6 tackles and was Hawthorn's best player (again receiving coaches votes).
Round 6 he had 31 disposals, 5 clearances, 5 tackles, a goal and was BOG.

Definitely worthy of the squad IMO.

He genuinely should be.

It's not the best kept secret that I have not been his biggest fan since he came to Hawthorn, but he has done incredibly well in the worst midfield in the comp this season. Mitchell has been ineffective, Worpel has fallen off a cliff and then we have guys like Howe, Cousins, etc through there. The fact we have won 2 games and been competitive in the others is largely due to OMeara carrying the midfield,.often winning contests against 2 or 3 opponents and no 'cheap' possessions.

In round 1 he had 30 disposals, 9 clearances, 4 tackles and 8 coaches votes.
Round 2 he was decent without standing out.
Round 3 he had 34 disposals, 13 clearances and was 1 of 3 players to get votes from both coaches.
Round 4 he had 28 disposals and 6 clearances.
Round 5 he had 27 disposals, 9 clearances, 6 tackles and was Hawthorn's best player.
Round 6 he had and was BOG.

Definitely Hawthorns best player this season (ahead of Jiath) and worthy of the squad IMO.
Deserves a mention?

Being Hawthorn's best player doesn't make him AA.

Being better than Jiath is neither here nor there. He's not competing with Jiath. He's competing with the best 6-8 mids in the comp.

Deserves a mention?

Being Hawthorn's best player doesn't make him AA.

Being better than Jiath is neither here nor there. He's not competing with Jiath. He's competing with the best 6-8 mids in the comp.

Some added edits from you and largely I agree. The reason I made mention of his standing in the Hawks midfield is to give the stats better context. To be top 2 in clearances in the comp in a team being destroyed in clearances is exceptional. Also, some players getting 28 touches a game when their teams are dominating and sharing the ball around is different to the 28 omeara is having to earn. If his teammates weren't so shit this year, he'd be getting way more plaudits.

Also, you don't need to be a top 6 mid to make the AA squad as I suggested. They shove more than 10 in the actual team these days before the squad is even considered.

Some added edits from you and largely I agree. The reason I made mention of his standing in the Hawks midfield is to give the stats better context. To be top 2 in clearances in the comp in a team being destroyed in clearances is exceptional. Also, some players getting 28 touches a game when their teams are dominating and sharing the ball around is different to the 28 omeara is having to earn. If his teammates weren't so sh*t this year, he'd be getting way more plaudits.

Also, you don't need to be a top 6 mid to make the AA squad as I suggested. They shove more than 10 in the actual team these days before the squad is even considered.
Then you'd need to make the case for O'Meara as one of the 10 best mids, not as Hawthorn's best player. That's neither here nor there.

Who's North's best player? Should he be in the AA team too?

Then you'd need to make the case for O'Meara as one of the 10 best mids, not as Hawthorn's best player. That's neither here nor there.

Who's North's best player? Should he be in the AA team too?

I feel like we are going round in circles a bit. I have already agreed that being Hawthorn's best player means nothing in terms of his AA candidacy. I also already highlighted that his standing in the Hawthorn side and midfield was mentioned to contextualize the 'numbers' for those that have not seen his games this year.

In terms of his worthiness for the squad, the 2020 AA squad featured no less than 16 midfielders. The 2019 squad had 20 midfielders. I have made the case for O'Meara's inclusion in the squad in response to you saying he is not close. You are yet to make a case for why he is not. Di you want to try and name 16-20 mids you reckon are having a better season?

I feel like we are going round in circles a bit. I have already agreed that being Hawthorn's best player means nothing in terms of his AA candidacy. I also already highlighted that his standing in the Hawthorn side and midfield was mentioned to contextualize the 'numbers' for those that have not seen his games this year.

In terms of his worthiness for the squad, the 2020 AA squad featured no less than 16 midfielders. The 2019 squad had 20 midfielders. I have made the case for O'Meara's inclusion in the squad in response to you saying he is not close. You are yet to make a case for why he is not. Di you want to try and name 16-20 mids you reckon are having a better season?
16 Midfielders in front of O’Meara this year.

Bulldogs
Macrae
Bont
Treloar
Dunkley

Demons
Petraca
Oliver

Port
Wines
Boak

Swans
Parker

Martin

Guthrie

Mundy
Brayshaw

Gold Coast
Miller

Steele

Walsh

Parish
Merrett

Pendles

Mitchell

Bulldogs
Macrae
Bont
Treloar
Dunkley

Demons
Petraca
Oliver

Port
Wines
Boak

Swans
Parker

Martin

Guthrie

Mundy
Brayshaw

Gold Coast
Miller

Steele

Walsh

Parish
Merrett

Pendles

Mitchell
Omeara's learnt too many tricks off his mate Tom Mitchell on how to be completely non damaging despite racking up 30 a game.

Bulldogs
Macrae
Bont
Treloar
Dunkley

Demons
Petraca
Oliver

Port
Wines
Boak

Swans
Parker

Martin

Guthrie

Mundy
Brayshaw

Gold Coast
Miller

Steele

Walsh

Parish
Merrett

Pendles

Mitchell

You're having a laugh mate with some of those names. First one to cross off is Tom Mitchell. As a Hawthorn supporter I can assure you that JOM has comfortably outperformed Mitchell this season.

You've also put Parish ahead? I assume he'll get votes this week but otherwise Parish has gotten coaches votes once this season. O'Meara has gotten them 4 times counting this week. Parish gets less of the ball, less contested ball, less effective ball, less clearances, less tackles, etc. No way he has had a better season so far.

Touk Miller is similar. Less coaches votes, less of the ball, less contested ball, less effective ball, fewer clearances, etc.

Dusty is a reputation selection. He has been poor for 3 weeks which constitutes half the season so far.

I could keep going but don't have time to go through player by player.

I don't think he's in the rolling AA team because there are too many midfielders who've been better. That's the case.

I hate to be that guy who comes in trying to push players from the team I support, but O'Meara has to be close. Having a career best season and without him we are probably 1-5. Also ranked inside at least the top 15 for handballs, effective disposals, contested possessions and ranked 1st in centre clearances.
Penalised by the crummy team factor. See also: Nathan Jones 2012-14

I don't think he's in the rolling AA team because there are too many midfielders who've been better. That's the case.

Actually, you said he's 'not close' in response to someone saying he could be in the squad. Also, the above is not really a case anyway - just more of being deliberately obtuse. Never mind though, it's the AA squad and it's round 6 - I'm not confident he can maintain it long enough to remain in contention anyway.

Bulldogs
Macrae
Bont
Treloar
Dunkley

Demons
Petraca
Oliver

Port
Wines
Boak

Swans
Parker

Martin

Guthrie

Mundy
Brayshaw

Gold Coast
Miller

Steele

Walsh

Parish
Merrett

Pendles

Mitchell
I mean, I think you can take Dunkley off the list now. He's not making it.

I hate to be that guy who comes in trying to push players from the team I support, but O'Meara has to be close. Having a career best season and without him we are probably 1-5. Also ranked inside at least the top 15 for handballs, effective disposals, contested possessions and ranked 1st in centre clearances.
Without him we are 0-6 ... he has been immense in nearly every game this year.

Jiath is a very interesting one, no signs of him slowing down. It's starting to seem like these type of performances are the norm not just a purple patch and if he continues the way he is right now its going to be tough to not have him on the HBF.

OMeara, has surprised me so far this year. I've been a critical of him throughout 2020 but his game has lifted. I'd want to see another month of similar performances with the few sprinkled in at Geelong game level before I'm ready to start arguing his case though.

B: Lever Aliir May
HB: Rich Keath Salem
C: Langdon Macrae McLuggage
HF: Martin Riewoldt Petracca
F: Greene Walker Papley
R: Gawn Oliver Bont
Int: Boak Ridley Laird Wines

OUT: Andrews, Hickey, Howard, Steele, Haynes
IN: Salem, Aliir, Keath, McLuggage, May

WATCH LIST:
Papley, Martin as potential outs.
Pickett, Treloar, Ben King, McKay all making a case.

Jiath is a very interesting one, no signs of him slowing down. It's starting to seem like these type of performances are the norm not just a purple patch and if he continues the way he is right now its going to be tough to not have him on the HBF.
With both him and Aliir if they are just close to the team they will make it. The AFL will love the story of a player with a Sudanese background making the team

At the moment i would have Aliir in on merit and Jiath vying with a number of HB's to be in. I would have him in but am biased

Omeara's learnt too many tricks off his mate Tom Mitchell on how to be completely non damaging despite racking up 30 a game.
LMFAO he is winning most of his footy inside and dominating clearances, such a laughably bad opinion.

B: Lever Aliir May
HB: Rich Keath Salem
C: Langdon Macrae McLuggage
HF: Martin Riewoldt Petracca
F: Greene Walker Papley
R: Gawn Oliver Bont
Int: Boak Ridley Laird Wines

OUT: Andrews, Hickey, Howard, Steele, Haynes
IN: Salem, Aliir, Keath, McLuggage, May

WATCH LIST:
Papley, Martin as potential outs.
Pickett, Treloar, Ben King, McKay all making a case.
Needs more Melbourne players.

Bulldogs
Macrae
Bont
Treloar
Dunkley

Demons
Petraca
Oliver

Port
Wines
Boak

Swans
Parker

Martin

Guthrie

Mundy
Brayshaw

Gold Coast
Miller

Steele

Walsh

Parish
Merrett

Pendles

Mitchell
Mitchell absolutely has not been better

Neither has Pendles, Miller,Dusty (as a mid), Brayshaw and Dunks is now now chance with injury.

Analysis Rolling All-Australian team for 2021