Preview Rookie Draft

Actually followed this guy a bit ... was told by a few AFL clubs his best bet was to go play in the SANFL, which he dominated in for Norwood perhaps(?) and was favourite for the Magarey Medal which I don't think he ended up winning. After that not sure what he has done perhaps moved back to Victoria

Matt Thomas snagged the Magarey Medal this year. Reported as having disposal efficiency of just under 80% (which is surprising).

http://www.sanfl.com.au/news/sanfl_news/page_8/2250/

Does anyone know the story with James Boyd? Comes first by 8 votes in magarey medal in 2012 but ineligible then comes fourth in this year's magarey medal and then shown the door by the Central bulldogs (in other words delisted).

T.Banfield was delisted today, i thought he was alright in his draft year but hasn't really done much since, anyone reckon he could be worth a rookie list spot?

Brisbane will rookie him with their first choice as their committed to taking him.

T.Banfield was delisted today, i thought he was alright in his draft year but hasn't really done much since, anyone reckon he could be worth a rookie list spot?

I rate him or rated him when he was getting games. He fits into our need and is probably a better player than Matthew White was for most of his tenure at the RFC. I'd consider taking him last pick in the draft, I mean we are giving Ricky Petterd a senior spot FFS.

Im also a little suprised at keeping Big O on the rookie list this year with bringing in Hampson

Also I remember FJ was dissapointed when the Lions selected #69 1 pick before our selection which we then passed on
Bart McCulloch
Club: South Launceston (Tas)
D.O.B.: 23.9.90
Height: 198cm
Weight: 96kg
Wouldnt mind either Rookie listing or VFL listing Bart to see how he would go under Brendon Lade and along side Maric/Hampson to learn from

Im also a little suprised at keeping Big O on the rookie list this year with bringing in Hampson

Also I remember FJ was dissapointed when the Lions selected #69 1 pick before our selection which we then passed on
Bart McCulloch
Wouldnt mind either Rookie listing or VFL listing Bart to see how he would go under Brendon Lade and along side Maric/Hampson to learn from

Too small. 198cm just isn't big enough in 2013.

Bart McCulloch

I would think they don't like the prospects for this year and may wait till next year to find that rookie, hence keeping big o for 1 more year.

The thing is that they really rated him during his draft and were extremely dissapointed when Brisbane selected him , I remember FJ's interview at the time where he actually mentioned this - Would make sens that they still would rate him and specially with a Rookie spot where big O is only there for a year nothing to lose really

Unless of course they know of others who are better.

Only from what I've read. Grey is a late convert from soccer who only played AFL full time this year. Started as a small forward (180cm) because of his goal sense but gradually moved his way into the midfield where he really started to make an impact and was chosen to play for tassie in the champs.

He has enough skill and run to play outside but in one game he apparently won 14 clearances so is very good inside as well and they say he loves to tackle.

Because he is new to footy he has been very inconsistent with a lot of quiet games but I read in the TFL grand final for Burnie he was a player who really stood up when the game was slipping away.

I like the look of him. But I don't know much.

I think Chocco would love him and could make it work. Could be a bust or could be Kieran Jack.

He is also indigenous.

Tell us anything about him wormy ??

My friends and I are really keen on him.
He is obviously a good all round sportsman, due to his involvement in other sports. I think the success he has had this year, whilst being relatively new to the game shows that he could be a fast and willing learner, as does his involvement in multiple sports.
He won't be an instant player but give him a couple of years focused on football and I reckon he could be a success. Perfect for a rookie spot really, because he could go either way.

I reckon if we do rookie him he could play small forward from day one. He is good in tight, has good acceleration and good goal sense. So let him learn and grow and see how he goes.

In the event that Thomas doesn't last to us, does anyone think we should rookie Myles Sewell?

Don't understand why he hasn't been picked up by now. Will be 26 by the time the season rolls around, and could be a good replacement for Lonergan.