Autopsy Roos v Hawthorn

I am devastated. How could this happen to us? Ot only are we beset with injuries we were victimised beyond belief last night. The maggots relentlessly helped them and destroyed us till i came to the blow ups.......... now we may have three at the tribunal.through no fault of our own.footy is played by men.it is not a church social

they are determined to stop us..well lets see how the tribunal hammers in more nails

Lake will get suspended. Not because of a bit of a wrestle but because he is a hawthorn player. Petrie will get nothing for an eye guage.

I still feel sick in the stomach at how girly we played !
Worst I have seen us play since I can remember.
We were undisciplined, our skills were rubbish, our decision making deplorable, our tackle pressure embarrassing, our chase and want for the footy non existent, brain fades galore, and worst of all ? We were out muscled and out toughed !!!!!!
We let that smug flog Harvey win.
We let that smug flog Brad Scott win.

I came on this morning to give Lake an all mighty spray but having been met with this photo and IF this was caused by Petrie's first act in the wrestle then Lake reaction is understandable .

Mate, should always stick behind guys that have a crack and show some grit even if it costs the team at times. The boys clearly walk taller when Lakey is playing, the impact he's had at the club is nothing short of remarkable. He is clearly carrying a few extra kgs, had this been his 5th/6th game back Petrie wouldn't have kicked his bag and we likely scrape home.

Lake instigated the wrestle but Petrie absolutely went the eye gouge which even in MMA is a disqualification. Lake had every right to knock Petrie out and I'm livid the commentators barely made a topic of what Petrie contributed to the altercation.

Big Brian has few faults, he's generally a star for us and has a crack every week. Who would you prefer next to you on the big stage, Lake or Suckling ? He makes sick.

jpzhaw post: 33885457 said:
I still feel sick in the stomach at how girly we played !
Worst I have seen us play since I can remember.
We were undisciplined, our skills were rubbish, our decision making deplorable, our tackle pressure embarrassing, our chase and want for the footy non existent, brain fades galore, and worst of all ? We were out muscled and out toughed !!!!!!
We let that smug flog Harvey win.
We let that smug flog Brad Scott win.

Cmon jp, you can't say that about the footy club. We just had a bad night apparently. You will get all the soft ****, I live in fairy land, know it all supporters upset with you.
Last night was a bottom 4 team performance, not supposedly a top 4 teams effort that apparently hawthorn are. And then some think we will beat adelaide over there... maybe and I hope ee do, but after last nights pathetic performance we are in a bit of trouble. But only time will tell.

There are spots open. Those playing for Box Hill have a chance to come in so I expect nothing less than gut running tough performances from McEvoy, Langford, Woodward, Cheney, Lowden, Simpkin, Hallahan.
They would have watched last nights game and if they are not thinking in their minds that they are a chance if they perform well for Box Hill this weekend then I'd be gob smacked !
This is loss that could open the door for one or more of them to cement a spot and play finals in the big league.
Make it happen boys !!!!

Cmon jp, you can't say that about the footy club. We just had a bad night apparently. You will get all the soft ****, I live in fairy land, know it all supporters upset with you.
Last night was a bottom 4 team performance, not supposedly a top 4 teams effort that apparently hawthorn are. And then some think we will beat adelaide over there... maybe and I hope ee do, but after last nights pathetic performance we are in a bit of trouble. But only time will tell.

Yes I know reality hurts, hurts me just as much. I love Hawthorn and have done for 40 years so it pains me deeply when I see efforts like last night.
I know we had a crap night, we have injuries etc... but what cuts deepest is the lack of chase and hunger. At least have that.
Don't think ! Dooooooooo ! At least you can say I did something !!!, I tackled, I chased !
Those words from the great man were embarrassed last night !

If you listen to some of the clowns on Fox Footy, he deliberately tried to strangle Petrie. In reality, he had hold of the neck line of his jumper and was forcing him down on the ground in a display of strength. Was probably a few seconds where he was chocked, but I doubt that was the intention. Healy was banging on about Lake deliberately grabbing his voice box.

you should have heard BT go off on 3AW. According to him, Petrie was "in a sleeperhold, was turning purple and about to pass out."

Even when one of the callers gave him a serve about him sensationalizing the incident, he claimed to have watched it 15 times and said they were wrong.

Mate!! That was ridiculous honesty there were three times in the first half were I thought he could have easily had a crack. Really selfish behavior
Won't go so far as to say it was intentional, but he should have been told in no uncertain terms to have pings, and if he misses at least the 'streak' is off his mind

we were bound to drop a game somewhere along the line in the past month - so all good. unfortuntately though from here on we're going to have to rely on Port, Syd, Freo, Coll, Geel dropping games in order to get that top 2 or 4 possie.

Won't go so far as to say it was intentional, but he should have been told in no uncertain terms to have pings, and if he misses at least the 'streak' is off his mind
Agree breust should of taken a few shots especially the one when he was run down trying to sidestep had plenty of time and wasn't a hard shot

Well he shouldn't get suspended but i dont blame people for thinking the MRP will bend us over and shaft us as usual, so anythings possible.
Will be 2 weeks obviously so he misses against Sydney in fact with bad record it won't take much to achieve that.

Just got home - havn't read this thread and am bitterly disappointed tonight.

Have no idea as to why Hill was a very late withdrawl - looked Ok at warm up.

Hawks were flustered before game started. Ross in Kermit jacket goes to bench with 2 others and Team Manager is looking for 4th player. He quickly beckons to Suckers to come off to make the 4 so we are not penalised. Duryea is then called off and quickly changes with Suckers. Totally unorganised and unfortunately that was the tone of the game from then on.

"Knee soreness" was the official reason given for Hill's late withdrawal, according to the club.

And I agree with you that it would have upset the preparations, at least for the midfield group, having Hill withdrawn so late. This was then compounded by Sewell going off early in the first quarter.

The real question is, how many weeks will Petrie get for eye gouging?

Makes no difference to Hawthorn's fortunes going forward, so I'm not concerned. The issue for Hawthorn and its coaches is whether Lake will miss time for his actions.

Lachie Hansen was a big inclusion for North, 20 kicks, 8 handballs, 14 marks. Is he that good or did we let him do as he liked?

The latter.

Hawthorn's gameplan seemed to be kick long down the line, wait for the inevitable Hansen mark and rinse & repeat. Very rarely did Hawthorn actually try to switch the play. Kudos to North Melbourne's pressure on the Hawks when in possession as it was very much out of Hawthorn's character.

Hansen is a good player but he and Dal Santo were North Melbourne's two best players last night, as Hawthorn did nothing to curb Dal Santo's influence and played right into Hansen's hands.

Makes no difference to Hawthorn's fortunes going forward, so I'm not concerned. The issue for Hawthorn and its coaches is whether Lake will miss time for his actions.

I don't really like how Lake has been demonised here. Every paper seems to have an article focusing on his thuggish behaviour. Nevertheless if he is to miss a game then I venture to say that Adelaide is a good team to do it against with no walruses in their fwd line. Sydney the following week however .....

Autopsy Roos v Hawthorn