Autopsy Roos v Hawthorn

"Knee soreness" was the official reason given for Hill's late withdrawal, according to the club.

And I agree with you that it would have upset the preparations, at least for the midfield group, having Hill withdrawn so late. This was then compounded by Sewell going off early in the first quarter.

If the players were switched on prior to running out on the field - surely, surely, surely 4 guys would know they were on the bench.

Bad preparation from the start which led to being on the back foot at 1st bounce.

Just read some of Clarksons presser. Cant believe he has blamed Lake for the lapse in the 3rd. Was he watching the same game. Did he not see the pathetic performances by, Suckling, Shoenmakers, Stratton, Bruest, Duryea, Birchall, Smith just to name the worst of the pathetic brigade.

What an absolute disaster. In every sense of the word.

North played a great game. Completely outplayed us, and held their structures really well. They completely shut down our run and carry, and destroyed us with their own. They had a over 100 more possessions then us.

That 10 minute patch in the 3rd quarter is about the poorest, stupidest, most undisciplined 10 minutes of football I have seen us play in a long time. To make things worse it was our senior players that lead that charge. I guess we also finally got see 'Bad Brian', and wow it is not pretty.

The worst thing about the game though and why the loss is an absolute disaster, is what this does to our season. We can effectively say goodbye to a top 2 finish and a home final. Our top 4 spot is also now in serious jeopardy. To make the Top 2, we can't loose a game for the rest of the season. To make the top 4, we now have to win 2 of the Fremantle, Sydney and Geelong games. Not to mention Adelaide away and Collingwood. Lasts nights loss, was one we simply could not afford to have.

I can't believe the reaction on here. Less than a day ago we were on top of the ladder, now apparently we can't make top 4, half the side needs dropping, we are finished etc. Obviously you people haven't followed our great club for very long. Adversity brings out our best. This flag isn't getting handed over to someone else any time soon. Our intensity (especially in tackles) wasn't up to standard, only a week ago against the same opponent Brisbane proved this. We will be back.

Watching the game on the TV last night I thought to only lose by 20 points was a good result, the Hawks were spanked, Clarkson has now lost 3 in a row.
Someone should have checked before the game if Grant Birchall had a pulse last night, clearly his worst game ever.
Who was it that hogtied Isaac Smith in the first half? Did no trainer have a knife to cut him free?
I thought Luke Breust was more interested in going for the accuracy record than winning the game, only 1 shot at goal. no snaps.

! hope McEvoy, Langford, Woody, Cheney and Kelly play well at Box Hill this weekend as they could replace Hale, Lake, Suckling and Sewell.

I can't believe the reaction on here. Less than a day ago we were on top of the ladder, now apparently we can't make top 4, half the side needs dropping, we are finished etc. Obviously you people haven't followed our great club for very long. Adversity brings out our best. This flag isn't getting handed over to someone else any time soon. Our intensity (especially in tackles) wasn't up to standard, only a week ago against the same opponent Brisbane proved this. We will be back.

More a recognition that Hawthorn's run home is the toughest of any of the clubs in the hunt for the top four and Hawthorn really couldn't afford a slip-up against a second tier club, given Hawthorn plays Adelaide next Friday in Adelaide, Sydney, Fremantle in Perth, Geelong the following week and Collingwood in round 23. It's a tough run, make no mistake, and history suggests that unless you're top four you're no chance of winning the flag. Hawthorn is in the business of winning premierships, not making up the numbers, and there is a sense that this year, for a number of reasons, that Hawthorn could just be making up the numbers, unless our luck changes radically between now and the end of the season.

I still feel sick in the stomach at how girly we played !
Worst I have seen us play since I can remember.
We were undisciplined, our skills were rubbish, our decision making deplorable, our tackle pressure embarrassing, our chase and want for the footy non existent, brain fades galore, and worst of all ? We were out muscled and out toughed !!!!!!
We let that smug flog Harvey win.
We let that smug flog Brad Scott win.
They are such a smug bunch of bastatd, aren't they?

Reminded me so much of that horror final against them in 2007 where they beat us fair and square but it didn't seem to be them
Rising to a level, more us dropping a level and losing our cool.

That night we played dumb footy, bombing long to buddy who had Gibson and co mauling him all night. We copped some suspensions (Crawf and Bateman from memory). Harvey got under everyone's skin and whinged to the umps. Etc etc.

I don't have a lot of respect for north. I mean, they lost to Brisbane in a quarter and their whole club seems more interested in free kicks than football (Scott, princess Lindsay and Harvey) etc.

But they worked harder than us, ran past us like witches hats and did what they wanted. We're lucky their skills are so average or it could have been a bad loss.

No other team currently in the 8 let alone top 4 has had to go through what our club has this season.
We have lost our best players all year lost our coach had to get used to a stand in coach and his style then go back to our old coach and get used to his style all over again and only lose 4 games for the year yet still be sitting in the top 4.
It's time to put things into perspective and appreciate what the club has had to endure through out the year and still have a chance for back to back flags for the first time since 1989.
No club in the 8 would last as long as we have!!!

Above is one of the most well-balanced, acurate and realistic statements about where we are at and why.

Remember we are Hawthorn.

Its fine to be passionate, but don't degenerate to the level of sniping at players and coaches; thats what the "others" do.

We will survive, we will regroup and we will find a way forward. Being able to do this is part of what makes Hawthorn the club that it is.

Keep the faith people, there are still another 7 matches to go.

ps. Can't believe the biased commentating and match reports. People rabbiting on about Petrie's 5 and Jack "who" kicked 6 and doesn't rate a mention. And don't get me started on the Lake and Petrie exchange, totally inconsistent umpiring and one eyed commentators having "love affairs" with certain "star" players.

Unfortunately Hale looks completely cooked, he has been great for us over the years but he has fallen off a cliff at the moment, only 4 possesions last night, he has been poor for weeks now and the selectors made a mistake by not replacing him with Mcevoy. Stratts is only a shadow of the player he was last year when he was almost All Australian, he just struggles when he has had injuries, even though he is fit now he just cant flick the switch. The experiment with Schoenmakers up forward is now over, he just cant read the play and hasnt got the pace to shake a defender. As for our injuries what can be said, has any club had as many hamstring injuries this year, complete negligence and incompetence and that those in charge refuse to make the right call is a disaster for our club.

..from the outset we looked incredibly slow...they ran around us like witches hats..we couldn't catch them...we just lethargically trotted around...

WHY? Was it last week in Tassie conditions? Was it just that North were ON...or are the injuries catching up? Or was it that were OFF for the night.

Watching the game on the TV last night I thought to only lose by 20 points was a good result, the Hawks were spanked, Clarkson has now lost 3 in a row.
Someone should have checked before the game if Grant Birchall had a pulse last night, clearly his worst game ever.
Who was it that hogtied Isaac Smith in the first half? Did no trainer have a knife to cut him free?
I thought Luke Breust was more interested in going for the accuracy record than winning the game, only 1 shot at goal. no snaps.

! hope McEvoy, Langford, Woody, Cheney and Kelly play well at Box Hill this weekend as they could replace Hale, Lake, Suckling and Sewell.

You did not say Kelly? We have enough mid sized, slow paced and average defenders.

Clarko, please tell Breust to forget about the milestone. He is not in the same league as Plugger and it wouldn't sit right if he's deliberately attempting to beat Pluggers record. It would be the same as Fletcher deciding to play on for the purpose of beating Tuck's games record.

I don't really like how Lake has been demonised here. Every paper seems to have an article focusing on his thuggish behaviour. Nevertheless if he is to miss a game then I venture to say that Adelaide is a good team to do it against with no walruses in their fwd line. Sydney the following week however .....
Book Tex Walker in for a bag if Lake goes, which I think he will. I don't know why people are defending him, as Clarko said in his presser he let the team down. Game was on the line and you've got one of our most senior and important players carrying on like a petulant little sook. Cost us the ****ing game!

The worst thing about the game though and why the loss is an absolute disaster, is what this does to our season. We can effectively say goodbye to a top 2 finish and a home final. Our top 4 spot is also now in serious jeopardy. To make the Top 2, we can't loose a game for the rest of the season. To make the top 4, we now have to win 2 of the Fremantle, Sydney and Geelong games. Not to mention Adelaide away and Collingwood. Lasts nights loss, was one we simply could not afford to have.

Prior to last night I thought we could afford to lose 2 games in the run home and still finish top 2.

We are still good enough to do that.

We can have an off night, I can accept that, with our injuries we have pulled off some brilliant victories this season. What I don't like is when another team gets into our head and alters our game style. The players were frustrated with a few decisions (and a lot of non - decisions) but we need composure. North are just another side that cannot play outside Ethiad basketball stadium and nothing to worry about.

Nope we will drop Adelaide, Sydney, Geelong and Freo. Collingwood will probably get us as we will be down on our knees.

As long as we can get everyone back for a first final...we can beat anyone anywhere. I just think the lead up will be ugly

I don't post very often but I read these forums quite a bit. The posts saying our season is dead etc is every bit as sensationalist as the Ch 7 'commentary' team. Hopefully today some cooler heads can post and bit more of a discussion. The third quarter debacle was frustrating as a supporter but you cannot stay up forever and we lost it for 10 mins. 10 mins out of a season is much better than 10 mins every week.

If losing Hill and backing up from a physical game didn't make us ripe for the picking, particularly with their season on the line, then losing Sewell very early in the match put pressure on our already fatigued bodies. This became very obvious in the final quarter with North players able to get off the mark quicker. I have no doubt that, given a bit of luck with injuries, we would have pressed and won like we did against Essendon earlier in the year. The comeback was there, we were on the cusp in the final quarter and you could see the intent to push, but you need the fitness and with our fatigue it didn't occur.

Birchall & Smith obviously very quiet. Birch is quiet due to that niggle he has, he doesn't seem to the have the pace or even freedom of movement he usually has. Not much to say on Smith except he was one of few providing run in the last 40 minutes of the game. He was still running hard when a lot of the guys were flat on their feet, but he was beaten for the night, no questions.

Suckling, week in week out I read calls to get him out of the team and that he's a liability. He's been given a bit more license to take on the game this year and at times, he's gotten caught out. Last night he was trying to inspire and show some courage at least. On two occasions I think sure it was his fault when he was caught but he was also set up by poor handball receives. The two HTB free kicks given against him to Petrie were both the result of receiving a handball under pressure. Of the games where he's been good he generally has a ratio of about 2 kicks to 1 handball. Last night was 12k, 8 hb. Put it simply he handballs too often and I think he needs to be using his kicking strength more.

I think Schoe looks best coming out of the goal square, he's not getting used in the style that suits him. I feel sorry for the bloke, forward as a junior, thrown down back, knee reco, thrown back forward then back then forward. KPP need consistency and a time to gel with those around him, he's not getting it.

Edit: grammar

Prior to last night I thought we could afford to lose 2 games in the run home and still finish top 2.

We are still good enough to do that.

We would have to rely on Sydney or Port to drop 2 more games though, and even if they do we can only drop 1 more game. We have a super tough run home, and the injuries appear to be mounting again. Its certainly not impossible, but it is more difficult after last night.

from the first quarter we looked pedestrian, almost as if the players didnt care if we won or not, Lake got eye goughed and responded with some choking of Petrie, only problem was Lake went missing and took no responsibility after that and Petrie stood up like a man and played well........

midfield played poorly and defense was a joke, Lewis, Lake, Stratton and Spangher were terrible last night, they should all hang their heads for not turning up to play.....

idk what happened during the week, but i havnt seen this Hawthorn since we played Geelong earlier in the year........NO HEART last night and it was disappointing

Don't underestimate the Bolton connection. We seemed different.

Now my whole weekend and week is ruined. I ****ing hate this game

We would have to rely on Sydney or Port to drop 2 more games though, and even if they do we can only drop 1 more game. We have a super tough run home, and the injuries appear to be mounting again. Its certainly not impossible, but it is more difficult after last night.

Well if we beat Swans that serves two purposes....we win and they lose. I'm not disagreeing we have a tough run, but we are good enough to win any or all of them.

Dureya.....For somebody with supposedly great disposal he sure burns it by foot and could most probably be the worst decision maker in our side which inturn makes his disposal by foot look poor.[/QUOTE

he aint no where near our best 22 IMO...turns the ball over time n time again
about the game...it was a shitter by the hawks no doubt and norf had rockets fired at them all week
personally think we will rebound strongly...great wake up call!

Autopsy Roos v Hawthorn