Player Watch Rory Sloane - Retired

This is likely what has happened yes. Did we do everything we could to keep players we wanted, or were we hedging our bets and kept some $$ back for Sloane, which has cost us those players?
Silvers said our TPP is in a good position. We ain’t losing any player due to us not being able to fit them into the salary cap

Club couldnt give a flying fxxk about us..

Roo will simply pull out his famous “those unhappy supporters can go support another club” line..

His best mate and business partner Rory deserves another year at full pay!
As long as he throws 50k Roo's direction.

Well thats what I’d love to know..

Does “we are pleased to announce Rory has signed an extension to his current contract” sound like Rory has signed a whole new contract with new terms and conditions?..

Or does it sound like he’s simply added one more year to his current contract and its terms and conditions?..

Sounds like the latter to me..

There's absolutely no way he is on anything near 800k next year.

They have EXTENDED his current contract for another year.. his current contract is at around $800k a year is it not..

They said nothing about him signing a whole new contract for next year

So… How are you so certain that you are right and I’m wrong?..
Just in case you're serious and I can save you some mental anguish, this is not what extended means in this context.

Here's the initial announcement of Rachele's contract 'extension' before he had played an AFL game to 2025, alongside Soligo's 'extension': Young Crows sign on

Here's Rachele's contract 'extension' to 2029 announcement: Rachele signs long-term extension

Following your logic here, Rachele would be on the same money until 2029 that he was on when he was a draftee who hadn't played an AFL game, since his initial contract has simply been extended twice. I think it's fair to say this is not the case. 'Extension' simply means that the player was already under contract and the period for which they are contracted has been extended to X future date, the AFC page uses this language for every contract. The terms of that contract are obviously subject to change, and it would be significant change in the case of all these examples.

Well… there you have it..

he thinks he’ll be better next year and be able to play more AFL rather than less..

he couldnt give a fxxk if that cost young guys spots and development.

he’s a selfish self centred flog..

and what a trainwreck of an interview. Got the feeling watching it that he’s just full of shit and its all about him.

Well… there you have it..

he thinks he’ll be better next year and be able to play more AFL rather than less..

he couldnt give a fxxk if that cost young guys spots and development.

he’s a selfish self centred flog..

and what a trainwreck of an interview. Got the feeling watching it that he’s just full of s**t and its all about him.
It was embarassing for the club. What a shambles.

Confused Season 4 GIF by Power

Just in case you're serious and I can save you some mental anguish, this is not what extended means in this context.

Here's the initial announcement of Rachele's contract 'extension' before he had played an AFL game to 2025, alongside Soligo's 'extension': Young Crows sign on

Here's Rachele's contract 'extension' to 2029 announcement: Rachele signs long-term extension

Following your logic here, Rachele would be on the same money until 2029 that he was on when he was a draftee who hadn't played an AFL game, since his initial contract has simply been extended twice. I think it's fair to say this is not the case. 'Extension' simply means that the player was already under contract and the period for which they are contracted has been extended to X future date, the AFC page uses this language for every contract. The terms of that contract are obviously subject to change, and it would be significant change in the case of all these examples.
I really hope you and others are correct.. but would anyone here honestly put it past this club at the moment?..

what do you all reckon sloane will be on then?..

throw some figures around..

Just said on the radio that he understands if form is not there he won't play - a discussion all senior players have at the back end of their careers

If he is playing in the main side next year...it simply has to be in a forward pocket. This would be the best spot for him as he can kick a goal and can mark overhead and won't be expected to run midfield AND it would allow Rachele and Rankine more time in the middle...but you just know they won't look at it like that inside the club

Just listening to Rory on 5AA, a couple of points -

• get the impression that he honestly thinks he has more years left. Says after a ACL players are better in their second year. Yes they are but they normally aren’t 33 years old. FFS!
  • and this nearly had me throw my ipad across the room - and I quote “Ned McHenry has massive upside”. WTF!!! Ned must be one of his close mates. FMD!!!

Just said on the radio that he understands if form is not there he won't play - a discussion all senior players have at the back end of their careers

If he is playing in the main side next year...it simply has to be in a forward pocket. This would be the best spot for him as he can kick a goal and can mark overhead and won't be expected to run midfield AND it would allow Rachele and Rankine more time in the middle...but you just know they won't look at it like that inside the club
And if we draft in two young midfielder/forward lads like a zane dursma with our first..

they’ll be great to watch play sanfl next year while this cooked old fool takes their spot and spuds it up all year.

The FB comments are just depressing. Unbelievable how so many think this is a great decision because it's Rory yet can't look past what a liability he is out there now.

Tried my best to repudiate those +ve comments but gave up, no point arguing with idiots, they will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.

“So my form in the last game wasn’t what I wanted”

What about Essendon and Collingwood Rory? Last week wasn’t the exception, it was the norm Rory.

Says his form isn’t at the level where SANFL is in the discussion.

He seriously is one deluded individual. I hate it when club champions go on too long, makes me detest the site of them, especially when they are deluded and selfish.

The club is ****ed.

There's absolutely no way he is on anything near 800k next year.

I doubt he is, but how many times have have you thought
"Theres absolutely no way" when it comes to the AFC?

If hes going to be our unofficial Captain, Spiritual leader,Team icon and irrepressible first choice Midfielder on top of the media darling duties next year, then I think he deserves the 800k. Why the feck not I say.

Player Watch Rory Sloane - Retired