Ross Lyon is synonymous with Ugly football

Fremantle are nice guys of the AFL and that's why they've probably got the most pathetic history out of all the AFL clubs except for the expansion teams but even that won't be for very long imo

Poaching Ross Lyon was a huge mistake, you need a guy who knows how to win a premiership. Lyon has failed under the heat of September/Octorber action far to many times to be taken seriously as that man who can take Freo from a pathetic rabble to a club that is middle of the road

And yet this is not a so called troll attempt.

So you said Rossy Lyon is a Mistake? What about Mick Malthouse? I expected your mob to get top 4 with your current squad this season. Freo a Middle of the road club? I rather be a Middle of the road club that will play finals than a 10th or 11th placed mob being a couple of wins outside of the 8.

Oh please, of course it's ugly when it's barely working and it's not that pretty when it's in full flight either.

But it works pretty well for the most part, so until teams find a way to execute a gameplan that exposes his team's individual deficiencies (Team Defense you can't beat them, but if you can get out the back and expose them one-on-one they are bog average), he's going to persist with it.

Mate logic and clear rational thinking has no place @BF.

Well said!!

Agreed! win anyway you can.

but do you think you can win a flag playing that way without getting very lucky ?

You had an off night tonight so ignore that, but last week you were switched on and you beat North by like 25. Good teams will get hold of you, the question is can you return fire ?

you cant control 100% of a game

I think that's the point that often gets lost with such a defensive game plan. I have no issues with the style of game Ross coaches. It largely gets the job done and really does make the team extremely difficult to play against and win.

However, the team in finals footy having to play 3+ games to win the premiership require an enormous amount of luck in scoring enough points to win. I think you can win a finals game, probably two. But to do it in the GF against the other best team in the comp is going to be a tough call.

His sides have the ability to score. They just don't do it often enough.

People have already mentioned it but he is doing what he can with the list he has available. What attacking weapons does he have at his disposal? People need to remember in 09' and 10' we were a pretty good side to watch because we had some attacking weapons, currently Fremantle don't have these options available to them so he is forced to grind out games.

Geelong Premierships 9
Fremantle Premierships 0

tears of joy :D

Years without Premierships

Geelong -140
Fremantle -18

WAFL premierships

WestPerth - 13
Geelong - 0

Even after a win you guys are still smarting about last year. And Selwood supposed toughness was on full display last night. Ducks and he gets a free kick, and still sooks ala Harvey. Then your coach further embarrassed your club by having a sook to. Those Scott brothers were snipers and yet whinge about him?

Anyway we will hand you guys your arses with Pav, Sandi, Mundy, Barlow and possibly Morabito, on a neutral deck. You know, now let the tears flow princess.

Wouldn't surprise me if the AFL Rules Committee comes out and bans Ross Lyon as a coach for slowing ball movement and not producing attractive football.

That would be good for the TV rights money :rolleyes:

Anyway we will hand you guys your arses with Pav, Sandi, Mundy, Barlow and possibly Morabito, on a neutral deck. You know, now let the tears flow princess.

Funny bow it's only ever the losing team's supporters that bring up their injuries.

I'd suggest Geelong will be a better team with Johnson, Chapman, Rivers, Varcoe and McIntosh - wouldn't you? And if you're going to throw in Morabito, I may as well include Menzel. It's foolish to think either will have any immediate impact on their returns after so long out.

Doubled your score and could have easily kicked 100 points. Not quite.
Last year we played our team defence in the elimination final against you and kicked 96 points. Is that not attacking enough? We could be like North Melbourne and attack... and still lose. That is the "Scott" way. Chris is the same, an average coach. It was evident last week against Brisbane. He had no idea what he was doing in the last quarter and you had your pants pulled down. The Scott way is to cheat and run ahead of the ball, meaning if you lose the contested footy you have limited defenders and can get scored on easily. Brisbane showed it.

He promotes his teams strengths and then uses his lesser types to blunt the oppositions strengths.

It's tactics 101 stuff.

Unfortunately, he doesn't have the talent available at Freo that he had when he arrived at StKilda in 2007.

He is doomed to fail and set back Freo's future development in the process.

Sounds like there's a few teams running scared. The writing was on the wall last year and predictably it is the Scott coached teams that feel most threatened by our game style.
I think Freo will stick to our "ugly" style.

PS- the smarter coaches in the league have already acknowledged they need to do more of what Freo are doing. Port are now doing it ffs. The big footy heroes are in denial but hey, enjoy the free flowing footy against the Dogs and Melbourne :thumbsu: .

Try

So you have absolutely no idea then.
Try telling young blokes like Walters and Clancee Pearce that had careers almost on the scrapheap under Harvey that Ross is no good at 'development'.

Can't be bothered posting the same stuff time and again, and then getting engaged in a pointless drawn out Q & A. My position is on record. As usual, time will prove me to be correct.

He promotes his teams strengths and then uses his lesser types to blunt the oppositions strengths.

It's tactics 101 stuff.

Unfortunately, he doesn't have the talent available at Freo that he had when he arrived at StKilda in 2007.

He is doomed to fail and set back Freo's future development in the process.

I think this is a myth.

Saints had a team chock full of first round draft picks and some players that would be in St Kilda's best ever. Freo similarly are blessed with talent.

This whole Ross Lyon makes silk purses from sows ears is rubbish

Interesting, I'll always look down on this current FFC and what it stands for but i do not disrespect your fans.

I admire the way you attempt to defend your side, just like a good fan should. It's hard to generalise on a whole supporter base or lose respect for them, not sure how many cats fans you have met.

If I could generalise, i dont seem to like WCE fans, they seem like twats on tv and there is this one WCE fan i know, he is a tosser. Also Most of our fans that I know are far from arrogant. I guess it comes from having a 44 year drought, some can be arrogant, just not many. But hey you can make up your mind from reading 5-10 cats fans opinions on BF, you know we have aboout 40,000 members though right?

Lols, more than 10, that's for sure! UNfortunately it only takes one bad or good egg to turn an opinion. My initial impression of Cats as good guys was via my uncle - one supporter - who is a Geelong man through and through. It's taken a bit of a battering to be honest.

I know a lot people are going to rationalise that argument as to why they hate Fremantle as a club, because if what our players did and did not do in the past, and unfortunately that's a fact of life, too. I have heard it said a lot that the most grating reason they hate Freo these days was because we won the EF against you guys in 2012. That wasn't our fault, both teams came to play - we weren't undisciplined, we weren't dirty, we prepared as much as your boys, and we were on song, and we got the chocolates that day, in the same way you guys got them last night. It baffles me that for a supporter base that had to wait 44 years before true success for their team, can begrudge our once flaky team the success we are experiencing now - albeit, before anyone else says it, we STILL haven't won the flag.

BACK TO TOPIC. I enjoy watching free flowing football as much as the next person - the speed, the specs, and the skills associated with attacking football can't be beat. However, I think people underestimate the intensity, discipline, and commitment that it takes to execute a defensive game plan - and the battles that ensue on the field are also quite fascinating to watch. it's all a matter of perspective for the spectator.

For the mentality of the playing group, Ross was probably the best thing to happen to the club. Harvey had taken the list a step up to where it had been when he took over, but it needed a coach like Ross to take it to another level and make the playing group that they could play consistent, hard football and that their best effort was enough to take it up to all comers - whether they won or they lost.

Can't be bothered posting the same stuff time and again, and then getting engaged in a pointless drawn out Q & A. My position is on record. As usual, time will prove me to be correct.

As usual you slither like a snake when pressed.
You're pathetic.

Years without Premierships

Geelong -140
Fremantle -18

WAFL premierships

WestPerth - 13
Geelong - 0

Even after a win you guys are still smarting about last year. And Selwood supposed toughness was on full display last night. Ducks and he gets a free kick, and still sooks ala Harvey. Then your coach further embarrassed your club by having a sook to. Those Scott brothers were snipers and yet whinge about him?

Well this is one of the best sooky la la posts i have ever read, Fremantle had Geelong by the proverbial's before last night's game, 8 wins on the trot, secure in the top 4, a fine night, Geelong were shocking last week and the Cats were without Johnson and he's worth Mundy and Barlow by himself. Sandilands is a crock and the big Pav is suffering old age. It is only a matter of time before some player does a Barry Hall and king hits Crowley, it's the low level of coaching that only the limited ability of Ross Lyon can provide. Without doubt the most over rated coach in the league. Yeah sure bring on a neutral deck, we're both well behind the Dorks anyway so let's play for the Crowley Cup in September and i hope one of our blokes knocks his block off!

I thought the Cats would. I have alot of faith in Geelong; they have shown an extreme amount of consistently over such a long period of time. Have made the Finals now nine out of ten years, six of them top four (hopefully seven after this year.) So why wouldnt we be confident heading in? I admit I thought they would flog the Dockers. They didn't, I was wrong, oh well. Just not sure why Freo fans keep bringing it up pretty much consistently. I live in Perth, and I get taunted pretty much constantly. Dockers supporters taunting a Geelong fan is like a virgin making fun of someone for only having sex six out of seven nights.
See the big difference here for me is that the guy having sex is actually the one doing it whereas we are all just fans of football teams. I don't have any influence on what Ross Lyon does, same as you don't have any influence on what your team does. All we are doing is associating ourselves for whatever reason with a footy team. We support, its all we can do.
For those of us that support Freo it makes a nice change after years of being associated with flaky, inconsistent, hot & cold teams to follow the fortunes of a team that competes hard every week against any opposition regardless of the venue. In years past without 4 of our best 6 players in Geelong we would have been certainties to turn up our toes in the first 5 minutes and get blown off the park. The fact that people still considered us a chance going into this game speaks volumes about the hard edge and professionalism Lyon has brought to the team and club.
In terms of style, sure we play a lot of defensive tempo footy, that is the game plan of Lyon and I understand not everyone likes it but we score as quickly and offensively as anyone when its our turn and I notice that serious students of the game appreciate that. I'll admit to a certain frustration when watching Saint Kilda when they were nigh on unbeatable with the way they would blow the oppo off the park and then go into lockdown mode and control tempo for long periods but it made them a very very hard team to beat.
I get it why people critisise the style but as a Freo supporter the satisfaction of being in and around the top 4 at this time of year with 5 of our very best players to come back into the side next week and a pretty easy run home has me looking forward to September instead of sighing and thinking, oh well maybe next year, (wonder who we will draft?).
So no, you aren't the guy having sex 6 nights a week, you are a supporter of a very well run, very successful footy team. We are supporters of a team that is just getting a taste of what that might feel like. Excuse us while we enjoy that feeling for a while.