Toast Ross Lyon returns to St.Kilda #UnfinishedBusiness

Happy?

• Yes

Votes: 225 86.2%
  • No

Votes: 36 13.8%

We had so much dash and spirit in 2009 our points for would easily have been the best in season 2022.

Another bs myth busted. But I suppose Freo have been to so many grand finals you can be critical.of a coach that only made one for your club.
Jog on spanner
Ouch
Mean Nicole Power GIF by Kim's Convenience

Am a lot more excited about the prospect of his return since watching the presser. Super-impressive from all of them.

All we can ask is that he gets the best out of more of the team more often than Ratts did, and that he has a more effective game plan.

Sounds like he knows how the game needs to be played now and that he thinks we’re highly capable of playing that way, after consulting people in the know in the industry who have scouted us.

Giddy-up!

A few great comments. "If you don't do the work you're just a day dreamer". RTB is back.
Clearly aware of the criticisms of his previous game plans. Lots of focus on run. Reckon Hill will love having him as coach again.

Sounds like remaining assistant appointment will be announced in next few days.
Elite presser
Already setting benchmarks for the team with Geelong being the benchmark. Has already Put pressure on the cats and a few of their youngsters.

Winning hearts and minds of the saints fans early in expressing his love for the club and regrets around how he left the club and it’s champs, mentioned crying and emotional at the board meeting

Already stripped the game plan back to ‘let’s just run’ be elite runners, (very simple message for all players, if I work hard he will back me) all players can run.

Open about his contract, which was a flaw of his the past, and the big reason he left the saints. What a contrast and how very well done to show everyone he has changed.

Has absolute clarity on the roles of the football department, everyone knows there role.

Already empowering others to build vision as a coaching group.

He is an elite leader.

Imagine you have a job. That job involves you writing about football. That job involves you going to a press conference and listening. And this is the article you come up with after. Jonathan Horn should just have stuck to the main Big Footy board.

"It’s hard to see how his defensive, asphyxiating, attritional brand will cut it in this conspicuously more attacking, open era of football."

The 09 style that would have topped the scoring this year you absolute turtle?! The 10 style where he lost his captain and key forward for 10 games so had to come up with a plan B that took us to the bounce of a footy away from beating the best side all year you absolute pillock?

Perhaps wait and see a praccy game ya flog!

Oh it feels good to get back to where journalists of a certain ilk turn up with absolute stupidity and bag us for when we get something right.

I reckon Jonathan was once a Shane. Go read up on those Ross Lyon sides and come back to us when you've had an education Champ.

Look where our club is vs your club though after Ross destroyed both… is it internal above the coaching? Who knows
Mate piss off. We bottomed out right at the compromised draft then shot ourselves in the foot selecting Billings over Bont, Paddy over Petracca, goods like Dunstan Acres, Newnes etc.
Then 2017 we picked Coffield and Clark, yet to show their full potential.
We only just started to nail the draft with King in 2018, then Windhager, Owens and wanganeen milera in 2021. Made a heap.of mistakes.
Lyon started a Freo rebuild at Freo this is now bearing fruit.
You have no idea about the Saints, so just go away. You think we went well this year? Yeah 10th. Can see you are a genius regarding football.

If true, Robert Harvey, Lenny Hayes, Ross Lyon, and Corey Enright is an unreal coaching line up.

If that lot can’t get the most out of our players than no one will, bring on 2023!
Robert Harvey loves Hunter Clark as a player, there were whispers last year here that he was working to get him to the hawks.

Imagine you have a job. That job involves you writing about football. That job involves you going to a press conference and listening. And this is the article you come up with after. Jonathan Horn should just have stuck to the main Big Footy board.

"It’s hard to see how his defensive, asphyxiating, attritional brand will cut it in this conspicuously more attacking, open era of football."

The 09 style that would have topped the scoring this year you absolute turtle?! The 10 style where he lost his captain and key forward for 10 games so had to come up with a plan B that took us to the bounce of a footy away from beating the best side all year you absolute pillock?

Perhaps wait and see a praccy game ya flog!

Oh it feels good to get back to where journalists of a certain ilk turn up with absolute stupidity and bag us for when we get something right.

I reckon Jonathan was once a Shane. Go read up on those Ross Lyon sides and come back to us when you've had an education Champ.
FWIW I have followed the media reaction to the last 2 weeks with bemusement. I am more convinced than ever that they want to keep us down, they did it during Ross's last turn here, I always put that down the Herald Sun being especially critical because The Age was one of our sponsors back then.

But now in the age of Bantz and less accountable journalistic "opinion", they go even harder on the low hanging fruit, and right now we're exposed.

Unlike previously, most of our fans aren't worried as they take in this biased drivel, and are stubbornly optimistic. Hope it lasts!

What I will say is that it is really noticable, the difference between the people who actually have a clue about football and how it's coached and played, and those who are just in the game for the drama and grifting along as a pundit.

That first group includes people like Jimmy Bartel, David King, Leigh Matthews, Eddie McGuire, Dermott Brereton, who are all really positive about the appointment because they recognise the difference in quality between Ratten and Lyon, and see potential in our list.

The latter group are all the bottom feeders like Damien Barrett, Mitch Cleary, Caroline Wilson, Ben Dixon, that Rowe flog in SA, Robbo, Whatley, the hand-wringing peanut gallery as well as the innumerable procession of trolls and illiterate nuffies on SM whining about a lack of process or Ratten's sacking or our club's history blah blah blah.

One group look at the football, the other at the drama. That totally validates the decision IMO and I couldn't be more delighted. Let the vinegar in their hearts burn forever more!

ST KILDA 150 - ALL IN!

FWIW I have followed the media reaction to the last 2 weeks with bemusement. I am more convinced than ever that they want to keep us down, they did it during Ross's last turn here, I always put that down the Herald Sun being especially critical because The Age was one of our sponsors back then.

But now in the age of Bantz and less accountable journalistic "opinion", they go even harder on the low hanging fruit, and right now we're exposed.

Unlike previously, most of our fans aren't worried as they take in this biased drivel, and are stubbornly optimistic. Hope it lasts!

What I will say is that it is really noticable, the difference between the people who actually have a clue about football and how it's coached and played, and those who are just in the game for the drama and grifting along as a pundit.

That first group includes people like Jimmy Bartel, David King, Leigh Matthews, Eddie McGuire, Dermott Brereton, who are all really positive about the appointment because they recognise the difference in quality between Ratten and Lyon, and see potential in our list.

The latter group are all the bottom feeders like Damien Barrett, Mitch Cleary, Caroline Wilson, Ben Dixon, that Rowe flog in SA, Robbo, Whatley, the hand-wringing peanut gallery as well as the innumerable procession of trolls and illiterate nuffies on SM whining about a lack of process or Ratten's sacking or our club's history blah blah blah.

One group look at the football, the other at the drama. That totally validates the decision IMO and I couldn't be more delighted. Let the vinegar in their hearts burn forever more!

ST KILDA 150 - ALL IN!

It's the sign of the times - these virtue signalling sjws constantly wanting to point the finger at anyone they think has done an injustice... "how dare they!!"

These flogs will get their due in time..

Did someone here mention that our current hierarchy apologised to Ross for his treatment by the old hierarchy?? That's quite moving.

It was a bad break up and myself and a lot of other Saints supporters blamed Ross for it at the time but now it seems like our club was more to blame.

There was a lot of hurt on both sides and credit to Bassat, Lethlean and co for getting Ross back to the club and healing old wounds, we feel whole again

Toast Ross Lyon returns to St.Kilda #UnfinishedBusiness