List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked

Is Ross still the man for the job?

He has run out of excuses

Actually he hasn't.
Today's excuses were skill errors (yes he actually went there), decisions at critical times and Fyfe getting knocked about off the ball

So basically the players make too mistakes, the umpires make too many mistakes and Hawthorn is a bunch of thugs like the slime.

Watch next week for the no excuses football club to make more excuses

Imagine being so convinced you have to agree 100% with everything the club does to be a supporter, that you've argued with anyone who would listen the past four years in defence of this pretender. Glory be.

How bad was the Fyfe checking off the ball?

Wouldn't you already have a system in place to deal with this? Considering Fyfe is one of the best contested ball winners in the game. Is this guy for real?

People are saying smaller losses aren't a sign of improvement, but iirc one of the reasons Brisbane were correctly tipped to surge up the ladder this year was the number of narrow losses they had last year.

I'm one of those people and no I don't see that as a reasonable metric for improvement.

We've had 5 games this year so far that have been decided by less than a goal. We have won 3 and lost 2 of those games.

The difference between winning and losing those games is more luck than management. Getting close enough to have a chance to win is the management part. That and a couple of brilliant efforts from truly gifted players (Mundy, Fyfe, Walters plus a good slice of our defenders)

If we had no luck, we would be on 4 wins so far for the season. If we had a heap of luck we could be on 9 wins.

What this pans out to is if we were on 4 wins, we would be doing worse than the previous 2 years. If we were on 9 wins, we would be doing better. But considering how each of those games might have finished, there is no way that you can confidently point to the the team performance this year and claim definite improvement. It just doesn't stack up to scrutiny.

Just because the losses this year have been smaller (so far) doesn't equate to definite improvement. You need to figure in all of the factors that decide games. One example is the 6-6-6 rule. This has resulted in lower average scores across all teams, which MAY well explain a significant part of the difference. Note I say MAY because it is impossible to be precise when all you have is imprecise inputs and a small dataset. Unless you can point to improvements in the playing group to exclusion of all other factors, any claim for improvement is rubbery

My view is that improvement to be lauded needs to be somewhat more significant than what we are currently seeing. I listed what I thought were reasonable metrics for improvement. They would be playing finals, reliably beating bottom 4 teams, indeed reliably beating bottom 8 teams but settle for bottom 4 at this stage. I'm certainly not ever going to be making any claims about Freo based on narrower losses. That just doesn't work.

Gold coast suns would be a perfect fit for Ross Lyon......hope and pray to God they offer him a god father offer,please that's all I want for Christmas
No one will offer Ross a job. His time is past and he probably is the only one that doesn't know it.

He finished. The only question left is will he finish the club off as well?
Jeez I hope north,st kilda or Carlton offer Ross a new job...
Regardless if he works anywhere after coaching freo. Well how Old is Ross Lyon? 55? 8 years at Freo coach at 1 million a year. You assume he saved half his earnings.

Not if he invested it the same way he did at St Kilda.

Besides, he 'allegedly' used up some of it on payouts according to rumours but who knows?

I think that’s unfair, given that we didn’t realize we needed a rebuild until after 2016 started. And how on earth is any team meant to rebuild that fast? So after 1 draft and clean out were improving and the 2nd in finals contention? Unrealistic.

Realistically this year was always 11-13 finish
Next year we should be 7-10
Realistically that's garbage. Flag by 2020

We are clearly improved on last year.. like ridiculously clear. If you don't agree you are just good old fashion plain kind of wrong.

It cant even be based on opinion. Pure fact.

This year's Freo would flog last year's Freo 9/10.

Even today's Freo would best full strength Freo from last season.

Gonna be exciting to see a comparable improvement again.

Can't wait for the humble pie feast to begin.

Oh also.. when Ross said he wasn't a numbers man he was talking about his 300th game. Trying to say it was about Freo not him

A classic example of a cherry pick inverted to a negative narrative by some hatred filled tool again on an earlier post. Can't even be bothered going back a page to quote you.

We are clearly improved on last year.. like ridiculously clear. If you don't agree you are just good old fashion plain kind of wrong.

It cant even be based on opinion. Pure fact.

This year's Freo would flog last year's Freo 9/10.

Even today's Freo would best full strength Freo from last season.

Gonna be exciting to see a comparable improvement again.

Can't wait for the humble pie feast to begin.

Of course we have improved, how could we not with who we have brought in plus natural development.The fundamental question is have we improved enough?

Just so my position is clear. I am not a Ross hater, I am a Freo lover. If the board sees fit to keep Ross on for another 3 years and he wins us a flag, I will love him too.
But my personal opinion, which is completely irrelevant to the real world (just like all of us) is that he won't do that.
Obviously he cant beat Hawthorn or the Eagles. So to win a flag he'd need to go through a finals series without facing one of these teams (or a coach who has the same game plan).
I don't get to see us live very often but the takes from today are that he often got done on the match up. Cerra on Bourgoyne in our forward line. Who is going to win that one on one 99 out of 100? Blakely in the backline. The guy is a creator, not a negator. There's no one better on our list to replace Neale yet where is he playing?
We gave too much space to them. Watching us guard space as they chipped out of our forward line. Man up. They don't have anymore players than us on the field.
Skills, no point discussing this. Just so many errors.
Ross will likely stay, which I'm not going to sook about, but watching the players walk off of the ground, they were pretty dejected and from the presser, Ross doesn't know how to fix it.

Gold coast suns would be a perfect fit for Ross Lyon......hope and pray to God they offer him a god father offer,please that's all I want for Christmas

You know what, GWS actually would be.

Leon has them playing this full do whatever you want in the middle shit and they don't lock down defensively very well. The sheer amount of footskills on the list would mitigate some of Ross' flaws.

It was our smallest loss to Hawthorn in Tassie since 2006
Well I'm sure we'll all sleep well tonight after learning that fact.
Start with trading Langdon for a second and get the best kick we can get.
We could, shock horror, work with Langdon on his kicking. Crazy suggestion I know.
A season is measured by the season, not individual games
A season isnt played in hindsight, its played in real time. Chess for example is a game that has had almost all combinations of the game played before. You can know what move you should make, and what your opponent should then respond with. You can lose a game, review the moves that were made and day to yourself 'I shouldn't have made X move but Y instead. But it actually doesn’t matter. You lost. It's the true Masters that can make moves they 'shouldn't' make yet know/find a way to make their opponents play the game the way they see it unfolding. Ross has a system he thinks will win 'in the moment' but his constant excuse of reviewing isn't bringing wins.
Ten goal losses aren't the same as losing by a point
So by the same measure, 1 point wins mean less than 10 goal wins, yet you quote wins against top 4 teams as a significant measure of improvement. Two of which were single figure victories. For what its worth, many bottom teams are beating top 4 teams.

Blakely in the backline. The guy is a creator, not a negator. There's no one better on our list to replace Neale yet where is he playing?

This one is really irritating. I was gutted when Blakely went down with that long term injury, thinking 'there goes the perfect guy we'd earmarked to replace Neale'. Now we get him back and he never plays there anyway despite looking great the couple of times he's been briefly shifted inside.

I just don't understand it. It smacks of trying to be too clever - or too stubborn now the decision has been made - instead of keeping things simple and playing a player where they look most suited. It's not like our midfield is currently overflowing with talent and keeping players out.

You know what, GWS actually would be.

Leon has them playing this full do whatever you want in the middle s**t and they don't lock down defensively very well. The sheer amount of footskills on the list would mitigate some of Ross' flaws.

Yeah I agree that would be a list Rosco could do something with early by getting a lift out of the foot soldiers with the class players around them and established so they are essentially Ross proof

It would be funny too see old purple eyes and co blowing up about how well he's doing while missing the point entirely

Again

Have to say i'm pretty close to done.

We are a better team than that. Yes, our outs are important but so are theirs (see also Carlton game).

Yes, we have clearly improved statistically but the same issues which have held us back previously largely remain.

A systemic failure to find a way to generate quality forward entries. It is not just personnel that hold us back there, it is system. Inside 50 entry quality matters and shot quality matters. We play in a way which suggests it doesn't.

We have rebuilt well and it was the correct time to do it IMHO. But I worry that we really have not learned the lessons of 2013-2015 from both a coaching and recruitment perspective. We have become better by natural player improvement and we will continue to get better on the back of that. But i'm less sure we will become better than we were.

Have to say i'm pretty close to done.

We are a better team than that. Yes, our outs are important but so are theirs (see also Carlton game).

Yes, we have clearly improved statistically but the same issues which have held us back previously largely remain.

A systemic failure to find a way to generate quality forward entries. It is not just personnel that hold us back there, it is system. Inside 50 entry quality matters and shot quality matters. We play in a way which suggests it doesn't.

We have rebuilt well and it was the correct time to do it IMHO. But I worry that we really have not learned the lessons of 2013-2015 from both a coaching and recruitment perspective. We have become better by natural player improvement and we will continue to get better on the back of that. But i'm less sure we will become better than we were.
What outs did Hawks have? Mitchell the only one I can think of.

Watching Peel play on tv was even more sickening than watching the 1's play , it's not all about wins when development is your main goal and if it was their bigger bodies smacking us around that was the issue then all good that can happen but it wasn't they bloody cut us to pieces with their kicking and ball movement

How the hell can anyone justify that sort of disparage in skills between WAFL players and players deemed good enough to be on an AFL list

Well the first couple of minutes of his post-game presser shows that, once again, Ross can correctly identify the problem. The $64,000 question is: does the coaching team have the chops to actually fix the identified problems?

If not what is the point of current coaching team?

List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked