List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked

Is Ross still the man for the job?

Well the first couple of minutes of his post-game presser shows that, once again, Ross can correctly identify the problem
He has said that, for nearly half a decade now.
It has then gone from fixing the problem...
To reviewing the problem...
To what ever bullshit that falls out of his gob.

We are a mess at the moment and nothing he says or does provides any confidence that he’s going to be able to rectify the situation.

Not really convinced we are in that much better shape now than we were 2 years ago. Skills still deplorable. Scoring still a massive struggle. Still uncompetitive against WC and Hawthorn. Still bloody awful to watch.

I am so annoyed we are in this position.

We are a mess at the moment and nothing he says or does provides any confidence that he’s going to be able to rectify the situation.

Not really convinced we are in that much better shape now than we were 2 years ago. Skills still deplorable. Scoring still a massive struggle. Still uncompetitive against WC and Hawthorn. Still bloody awful to watch.

I am so annoyed we are in this position.

Its all good we aren’t losing by as much as last year.

A season isnt played in hindsight, its played in real time. Chess for example is a game that has had almost all combinations of the game played before. You can know what move you should make, and what your opponent should then respond with. You can lose a game, review the moves that were made and day to yourself 'I shouldn't have made X move but Y instead. But it actually doesn’t matter. You lost. It's the true Masters that can make moves they 'shouldn't' make yet know/find a way to make their opponents play the game the way they see it unfolding. Ross has a system he thinks will win 'in the moment' but his constant excuse of reviewing isn't bringing wins.
Beautifully put. The Napoleon touch.

Ross builds a machine that should win and when it doesn't rather than questioning the design of the machine he doubles down. Make the machine better!

He has the problem backwards. I've been arguing some variation of this for years.

How many years will he keep losing to Clarkson & Simpson before having an aha moment?

Ross builds a machine that should win and when it doesn't rather than questioning the design of the machine he doubles down. Make the machine better!

He has the problem backwards. I've been arguing some variation of this for years.

How many years will he keep losing to Clarkson & Simpson before having an aha moment?

When you think about how many times he would’ve been told or given advice or suggestions on beating them, the mind boggles as to how stubborn or dogmatic he is.

Well put.

One think I will say is I don't think Ross has years left in his career for us to find out.

Good clubs make tough decision whether it's the playing group to the coaching staff and above
Chris Cononley didn't survive after taking us to finals in 2003 and almost making a grand final in 2006

Mark Harvey didn't survive after finals footy in 2010 one year 2011 where we were decimated by injuries and only 3 years after a rebuild this Bloke took us to 4 years of consecutive finals with a rich list but has done nothing since the so called rebuild restump rewire as he called it
Just remember his famous words in his first ever speach ", I'm a careers coach"
Over the years he has got rid of people in his assistant coaches that had provided a threat to his job
Has there been other clubs that have poached any of our recent assistants like other clubs have poached theirs ie Rawlings
His actions are for his survival and not of the clubs I see it and all freo supporters see it
The most successful organisation in the world make tough decisions its about time Fremantle started doing the same or we will start heading in the same direction as Gold Coast

It has never been clearer to me that the stumbling block right now is not Ross's fault. The Ross haters are blinded by that hate.

It's the cattle, no shred of doubt. Clarkson couldn't get a win with this lot at the moment. The youngens are getting tired and our structural players are getting very thin.

You could tell the shift in Ross's presser, he's had enough of the clangers too.. He has been in the players corner in every presser but even he can't at some point and there was a shift to firing a rocket right at the players today and I don't bloody blame him.

A credit to him for getting as much out of them this week.
If he getting sick of clangers, maybe he might look at the stoppage structure and maybe, keep a forward structure.

Just remember he relies on effort. You and I and everyone here can show great effort you still need to be good enough though
Too many times I see our Players with ball in hand not knowing where to kick to.

Most of the time they need to invent things instead of having a system.

The Eagles and Hawks have systems in place, where their players know who can kick or handball to.

Cool. Another chat with you about the meaning of words.

I was responding to Becky2Belts post and interpretation of 'the curve'.

I wasn't replying to you even if Becky2Belts was.

Ah yes - criticise people in general for 'setting a curve' then get challenged that there is no way possible anyone can set the curve. And instead of walking it back you get upset that you are called out on the meaning of words you have used. Bizarre.

Too many times I see our Players with ball in hand not knowing where to kick to.

Most of the time they need to invent things instead of having a system.

The Eagles and Hawks have systems in place, where their players know who can kick or handball to.
Cerra is probably the worst for this, followed closely by Switter.

Ah yes - criticise people in general for 'setting a curve' then get challenged that there is no way possible anyone can set the curve. And instead of walking it back you get upset that you are called out on the meaning of words you have used. Bizarre.

I wasn't replying to you or have any desire to.

I reread your original post and I fundamentally disagree with you. More apologist "every team is different so you can't compare" and "we have no control over expectations regarding the rebuild". You're welcome to your opinion but I'm not arguing on a topic that I fundamentally disagree with. A waste of both our times.

Enjoy the analytical exercise of looking for justifications (and using the word conflating as many times as you can) and I'll just use my eyes to watch the last four games and know things aren't right.

We'll see what history will say about this season and this period of the Fremantle Dockers Football Club and unfortunately I reckon my views are going to be seen as a damn sight closer to the eventual reality.

I reread your original post and I fundamentally disagree with you. More apologist "every team is different so you can't compare" and "we have no control over expectations regarding the rebuild". You're welcome to your opinion but I'm not arguing on a topic that I fundamentally disagree with. A waste of both our times.

Enjoy the analytical exercise of looking for justifications (and using the word conflating as many times as you can) and I'll just use my eyes to watch the last four games and know things aren't right.

We'll see what history will say about this season and this period of the Fremantle Dockers Football Club and unfortunately I reckon my views are going to be seen as a damn sight closer to the eventual reality.

We agree on all that mate - again missing the point of what is being discussed.

I used the word conflate or conflating etc when it was accurate to do so.

We are one win different on what we think would be a good or acceptable result for the season. Neither you or I think we will reach either mark. Which marks a very sad and unacceptable end top the year.

You continue to miss the point of the argument and in doing so make claims that when analysed are proven incorrect. I am not nor have I challenged that the last few weeks have been crap. I have only responded to people who have mocked the ten win mark as a target and used sweeping generalisations to do so. On each of those occasions I have asked questions and challenged the generalisations and each time no one has been able to thoroughly respond to the actual questions.

I think if we hit nine wins the club has a difficult decision. I am not sure what I would do in that situation as we would have fallen short of my expectations. I don't know what the club set as a win target for the season. If we hit ten wins (which I don't think we will without a massive change in form) then I think we have hit what I see as a pass mark for the season.

I am baffled that you and others fail to see the difference between what I am saying and the line of response you are taking to prove your point.

You replied to someone who was replying to me - you mocked my position and positioned yourself by criticising those of us who 'set a low curve'

I pointed out no one can set a curve and yet you still refuse to walk back your comment.

List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked