List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked

Is Ross still the man for the job?

Just watched the highlights of elimination final, hawks v Freo. So many younguns. Walters playing his 7th game, and heaps of inexperienced players, but by god they were exciting. I want to get back to that, and that won’t be with Lyon

Who was our coach in round one this year against North when we won by 80+ points?

Don't use specifics - people get upset around here when you do that. They won't answer the question they will pull in a larger sweeping emotional argument to shout you down.. and when challenged on any sweeping generalisation they will chuck a tanty and say they weren't talking to you.

The firm KPI we all know about is a premiership by 2020. I like Ross but our current trajectory suggests we should be a bit further along than the 9-12 win range in the penultimate year.

We agree on all that mate - again missing the point of what is being discussed.

I used the word conflate or conflating etc when it was accurate to do so.

We are one win different on what we think would be a good or acceptable result for the season. Neither you or I think we will reach either mark. Which marks a very sad and unacceptable end top the year.

You continue to miss the point of the argument and in doing so make claims that when analysed are proven incorrect. I am not nor have I challenged that the last few weeks have been crap. I have only responded to people who have mocked the ten win mark as a target and used sweeping generalisations to do so. On each of those occasions I have asked questions and challenged the generalisations and each time no one has been able to thoroughly respond to the actual questions.

I think if we hit nine wins the club has a difficult decision. I am not sure what I would do in that situation as we would have fallen short of my expectations. I don't know what the club set as a win target for the season. If we hit ten wins (which I don't think we will without a massive change in form) then I think we have hit what I see as a pass mark for the season.

I am baffled that you and others fail to see the difference between what I am saying and the line of response you are taking to prove your point.

Fair enough. I'm happy to call a truce and if you think I mocked you then apologies.

It's a mess of a thread and which a pretty good reflection to where we are on the field.

The firm KPI we all know about is a premiership by 2020. I like Ross but our current trajectory suggests we should be a bit further along than the 9-12 win range in the penultimate year.
He will use injuries as an excuse as he hasn’t developed depth to cover this.

4 weeks ago the story was ' look how great we are compared to Carlton , St Kilda etc

Now it's not fair to compare us to them ?

Or Brisbane

But Saints are OK

And I wonder what we have in common with them ?

So the fact that the Saints have struggled since Ross left is a bad thing for us?

He will use injuries as an excuse as he hasn’t developed depth to cover this.

The likes of Barlow, deBoer, Sheridan, Sutcliffe, etc could have been retained as depth but then the haters would say what happened to the re-build. The rest of our depth players are Crowden, Giro, Bewley, etc, etc. Guys that were taken late in the draft with 1 or 2 pre-seasons under their belt.

The flag by 2020 went out the window when we were 0-10 at the start of 2016, making a rebuild a necessity.

That sounds like an excuse, his exact quote was "Particularly at the end of this tenure, I’ll have no excuse to not have achieved that, because we’re fully resourced.’’

So do we give him another 5 years and make it 2025 now? :oops:

Now we wait to see how the season pans out. 7 or 8 wins this year he'll be gone. If we improve on last year he deserves to see out his contract, and from there it's finals or bust.

We had a terrible second quarter against Carlton and West Coast, and kicked poorly with the wind in the first quarter in Tassie. That's 3 disappointing quarters out of 17 games of footy in 2019, the rest has been pretty good and about par on most peoples expectations for season 2019. But the hysteria based on those 3 bad quarters is hard to fathom.

That sounds like an excuse, his exact quote was "Particularly at the end of this tenure, I’ll have no excuse to not have achieved that, because we’re fully resourced.’’

So after a 4 win season in 2016 and a big clean out of the list you still expected a flag by 2020?

Clearly after falling off a cliff in 2016 the KPI's changed, but having one of the best coaches in the game at the helm was reassuring through the re-build. Now after one bad month after almost a decade in the job he's incompetent?

Good clubs make tough decision whether it's the playing group to the coaching staff and above
Chris Cononley didn't survive after taking us to finals in 2003 and almost making a grand final in 2006

Mark Harvey didn't survive after finals footy in 2010 one year 2011 where we were decimated by injuries and only 3 years after a rebuild this Bloke took us to 4 years of consecutive finals with a rich list but has done nothing since the so called rebuild restump rewire as he called it
Just remember his famous words in his first ever speach ", I'm a careers coach"
Over the years he has got rid of people in his assistant coaches that had provided a threat to his job
Has there been other clubs that have poached any of our recent assistants like other clubs have poached theirs ie Rawlings
His actions are for his survival and not of the clubs I see it and all freo supporters see it
The most successful organisation in the world make tough decisions its about time Fremantle started doing the same or we will start heading in the same direction as Gold Coast

Connolly and Harvey were crap so they were easy decisions.

Richmond almost sacked Hardwick and he won them a flag. Ferguson was almost pushed out of Man United a couple of time and kept winning silverware.

The masses seem to be anti-Ros now, so the brave decision would be to keep him on?

I want to see a clear succession plan for life after Ross.

Freo need to get the best assistants to support the new coach if Ross is sacked

It'll be one or the other this off season. Either Ross wins a couple more games, the club backs him in, and the coaching staff will barely change. Or our form over the last month continues, Ross gets the bullet, and there will be a total overhaul of the coaching department.

Who was our coach when we let Geelong kick 23 unanswered goals, thus setting a new AFL record for shit performance.

Yeah, others can play this game as well

To be fair NM were absolutely mud that day and for the entirety of the start of the season.
We were not the only team to carve they up, it was turnover town but hat day and we also made some first up game howlers.
I would be very careful not to compare that one off game with anything else we have dished up this year.
If we play NM in the next couple of weeks we will get torched.

Richmond almost sacked Hardwick and he won them a flag. Ferguson was almost pushed out of Man United a couple of time and kept winning silverware.

The masses seem to be anti-Ros now, so the brave decision would be to keep him on?
Forget about Furgason, that is not relevant. Hardwick got propped up by first class assistants, as did Buckley. There is little point doing that at Freo. If you want to keep Ross, then we will get more of the same, unless he admits that some of his philosophies are wrong.

This might be hard to swallow. But right now, Ross is crap too.

Yep just a coincidence that Rosco has been at 2 clubs who have taken massive nosedives and struggled to recover

So you're saying Ross extracts every ounce of talent from his players then when he leaves their output diminishes significantly? Then we better sign him up longterm ASAP!! ;)

I find it very strange that Pavlich, Riewoldt, Hayes, Dal Santo, Barlow, Bell, etc are full of praise for Lyon and a bunch of keyboard warriors want him sacked after a disappointing month in a 300 game career.

So you're saying Ross extracts every ounce of talent from his players then when he leaves their output diminishes significantly? Then we better sign him up longterm ASAP!! ;)

I find it very strange that Pavlich, Riewoldt, Hayes, Dal Santo, Barlow, Bell, etc are full of praise for Lyon and a bunch of keyboard warriors want him sacked after a disappointing month in a 300 game career.

I must of missed the recent articles by those guys supporting Ross's current coaching.

If anything Barlow last week was suggesting maybe Freo and and Ross are better off parting ways.

List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked