List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked

Is Ross still the man for the job?

At training, I certainly heard him tell Tabs to centre the ball, after Tabs kicked a dribble kick goal from the pocket. Also, in the AFLX this year, when Fyfe was captain, he definitely said that while it was not the right thing to do in AFL, he was going to tell his team to shoot from 50 in AFLX.
Typical Ross just sucks the talent out of everyone

that sums him up really about coaching the instinct out of players
I think it's more that in a game where a critically bad turnover results in a goal against, taking the better percentage option every time should lead to success.

Creating extra contests or events complicates that and if you're defending against Freo the highest percentage options are the default defensive structures anyway.

You protect against the long kick by keeping a tall 45m up from the ball, you clog the corridor and let them switch it then try and man up the guy on the outside wing to force a spillage.

That's why we need to dominate the stoppages. We need our set plays.

I think it's more that in a game where a critically bad turnover results in a goal against, taking the better percentage option every time should lead to success.

Creating extra contests or events complicates that and if you're defending against Freo the highest percentage options are the default defensive structures anyway.

You protect against the long kick by keeping a tall 45m up from the ball, you clog the corridor and let them switch it then try and man up the guy on the outside wing to force a spillage.

That's why we need to dominate the stoppages. We need our set plays.

Come on. It's a shot on goal. As far away from the opposition goals as you can get. If you miss, it's a behind or out on the full - which is a stop play allowing you to structure up. If it's a total shank that lands in the hands of the opposition, they are still 150m away from a goal scoring opportunity at the other end. I accept the need to play the percentages, but sometimes you just need to take the shot on goal.

You're kidding me right?
My post referred to what I've heard from Lyon this year and you link to an article over 4 years old and it doesn't even state that Lyon was the one who criticised Barlow and doesn't even quote what Barlow said ... it just says he was criticised for not centering a banana kick goal.

And that's your evidence?

Meanwhile in the real world;
( https://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/2019-05-18/lyon-postmatch-q-a-round-9-v-essendon )
So you think the issue is the time not the choice of kick?
Yes, I’ll reiterate. If you get a mark inside 50 and you’re within distance go back, compose yourself, go through your routine and your process and commit to it and it gives you the best opportunity for a positive outcome.

Hawthorn was a brilliant team.
They won their 3peat in 2015.
They absolutely thrashed West Coast in the GF.
Yet I am supposed to believe that Freo, with Fyfe running around with a broken leg in the Prelim, were playing bad Lyon football to be within 9 points of Hawthorn in the last quarter. Whether Freo were or were not terrible at managing injuries is not Lyon's fault, and it certainly is a valid reason for Freo not performing as well as they could have been.
Freo also had a 100+ score and 9 goal win in their 2nd last H&A game of 2015.
History simply does not support your narrative ... the same ridiculous narrative that was being pushed by many at the time.
Funny how you choose to excuse Sydney because of injuries, you admit Fyfe had injuries, yet you choose to blame Lyon for us ultimately finishing minor premiers and only being knocked out in a Prelim by a mighty Hawthorn side.

I remember the year very well. The narrative was about the inability to score. And tackles before goals. A lot of negativity surrounded the way we were playing late in games (shutting up shop) in the first half of the year, after getting a big lead. Then in the 2nd half of the year we were grinding out wins, nowhere near as convincing as the first half. There was a narrative that Lyon had some tactics saved for finals. Which ended up bullshit. We were in a rut which continued into 2016 and beyond.

Our dour style was criticized endlessly. But apparently it became ok not to score 2017 Bulldogs, and just tackle like maniacs 2018 Richmond when the teams were from Victoria.

2015 Lyon lost his identity, he gave the preseason training to some assistants, tried to copy Hawthorn. Ever since that point he’s trying to find himself again. Now he’s cuddly Ross, I’m not sold. He seems to have peaked in his coaching prowess and now is declining. The Clarkson protege’s all sit atop the ladder. Only Collingwood are not in the Clarkson mould. Maybe Richmond with its unique ball movement. We don’t have an identity at the moment.

You're kidding me right?
My post referred to what I've heard from Lyon this year and you link to an article over 4 years old and it doesn't even state that Lyon was the one who criticised Barlow and doesn't even quote what Barlow said ... it just says he was criticised for not centering a banana kick goal.

And that's your evidence?

Meanwhile in the real world;
( https://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/2019-05-18/lyon-postmatch-q-a-round-9-v-essendon )
So you think the issue is the time not the choice of kick?
Yes, I’ll reiterate. If you get a mark inside 50 and you’re within distance go back, compose yourself, go through your routine and your process and commit to it and it gives you the best opportunity for a positive outcome.
Fair enough. I'm not one for arguing back and forth on the internet so I'll leave it there. I've just never forgotten that a match winning goal was criticised because it wasn't the precentage play. I reckon Bombers fans will be pleased Tippa didn't centre the ball.

I remember the year very well. The narrative was about the inability to score. And tackles before goals. A lot of negativity surrounded the way we were playing late in games (shutting up shop) in the first half of the year, after getting a big lead. Then in the 2nd half of the year we were grinding out wins, nowhere near as convincing as the first half. There was a narrative that Lyon had some tactics saved for finals. Which ended up bulls**t. We were in a rut which continued into 2016 and beyond.

Our dour style was criticized endlessly. But apparently it became ok not to score 2017 Bulldogs, and just tackle like maniacs 2018 Richmond when the teams were from Victoria.

2015 Lyon lost his identity, he gave the preseason training to some assistants, tried to copy Hawthorn. Ever since that point he’s trying to find himself again. Now he’s cuddly Ross, I’m not sold. He seems to have peaked in his coaching prowess and now is declining. The Clarkson protege’s all sit atop the ladder. Only Collingwood are not in the Clarkson mould. Maybe Richmond with its unique ball movement. We don’t have an identity at the moment.
Geelong play like Clarkson teams?

I remember the year very well. The narrative was about the inability to score. And tackles before goals. A lot of negativity surrounded the way we were playing late in games (shutting up shop) in the first half of the year, after getting a big lead. Then in the 2nd half of the year we were grinding out wins, nowhere near as convincing as the first half. There was a narrative that Lyon had some tactics saved for finals. Which ended up bulls**t. We were in a rut which continued into 2016 and beyond.

I wish I could like this many, many times

And this is their right....But then they have no right to whinge if things are going badly.
If you cant support a team thru the bad times, dont support them in the good.

Sounds like some of you lot enjoy the bad so it can be worn like some kind of Freo supporter badge?

I really love the way that some people think they're have some entitlement to impose their standards on the rest of us as to whether we can support or not based on some arbitrary standard they make up. Apparently, if you dare criticise the club / coach / admin / whatever then you're not a good supporter and should go and follow the slime. Or if you don't support what is happening and ant change to allow the club to succeed then you're not a good supporter and can't support the club when times are good.

How about just **** off and support the club the way you want and accept that others have the EXACT same rights to support the club how they want.

Personally I'm of the view that those opposing change are doing the club a disservice by maintaining a failed process and I won't be supporting any other club just because narrow minded knobber wants to decide what I can or cannot do.

In Rounds 12 to 17 of 2019 (under Teague), they have had 11 or 12 x 50+ club game players, average 11.4.
In Rounds 1 to 11 of 2019, Carlton had between 7 and 10 x 50+ club game players, average 9.
In Rounds 1-23 of 2018, they had between 6 and 9, average 7.3.

Under Teague, they have played;
Round 12: CA(11x50+ club game players) vs BL(11) Won by 15points.
R13: CA(11) vs WB(12) L -3
R15: FR(7) vs CA(12) W 4
R16: CA(11) vs ME(12) L -5
R17: SY(13) vs CA(12) W 7

And Out of those games, they have played WB & SY previously in the year;
R3 CA(8) vs SY(14) L -19
R5 WB(11) vs CA(10) W +44
Mate, it’s time to give up this stat. It’s a correlation stat that you’re using as a causation stat.

Tim Kelly and Lachie Neale could come first and second in the Brownlow this year, and neither count towards your stat. A midfield of Neale/Kelly/Shiel might be one of the best trios in the league, and yet none of them are counted in the 50 club game stat. Tom Lynch isn’t helping Richmond get closer to a flag apparently, as he’s only played 17 or so games for the Tigers, yes?

Seven out of the last eight Grand Finals have featured a Rioli. The last five clubs to draft a Rioli have all won a flag within three years. That has as much bearing on a club’s success as your specific parameter stat does.

How many clubs didn’t have double digit 50 club gamers on the weekend? Melbourne surely did and they’re a joke this year, Carlton did and they’re bloody Carlton. It’s correlation, it’s not a catch all deflection.

Put it this way: it’s incredibly likely that the Premier will have double digit 50+ players, but it’s incredibly unlikely that a club with double digit 50+ players will win Premiership.

People can’t cry poor about missing Lobb and Hogan during this losing streak but then also turn around and say well look at how few 50 club gamers we have.

I really love the way that some people think they're have some entitlement to impose their standards on the rest of us as to whether we can support or not based on some arbitrary standard they make up. Apparently, if you dare criticise the club / coach / admin / whatever then you're not a good supporter and should go and follow the slime. Or if you don't support what is happening and ant change to allow the club to succeed then you're not a good supporter and can't support the club when times are good.

How about just **** off and support the club the way you want and accept that others have the EXACT same rights to support the club how they want.

Personally I'm of the view that those opposing change are doing the club a disservice by maintaining a failed process and I won't be supporting any other club just because narrow minded knobber wants to decide what I can or cannot do.

Criticise some for making arbitrary standards and then criticise based on an arbitrary standard...

Yeah no, comprehension not really your strong point is it?

The only criticism in my post was aimed at those who think they can tell people when or where or how they can support a club. Clearly you didn't read the bit that said support the club the way you want and accept others have exactly the same rights. Where is the arbitrary standard that you claim I am using to criticise supporters. Oh thats right, there isn't one.

and yet here you are on this thread seemingly on a daily basis doing just that.

Yeah no, comprehension not really your strong point is it?

The only criticism in my post was aimed at those who think they can tell people when or where or how they can support a club. Clearly you didn't read the bit that said support the club the way you want and accept others have exactly the same rights. Where is the arbitrary standard that you claim I am using to criticise supporters. Oh thats right, there isn't one.

Hilarious - your last sentence (Personally I'm of the view that those opposing change are doing the club a disservice by maintaining a failed process and I won't be supporting any other club just because narrow minded knobber wants to decide what I can or cannot do) not a criticism of those who dont agree with you?

Comprehension - not your strong point is it? Genius!

I studied our 2015 season in great detail. I mean ridiculous waste of time detail.
I would record each game, then watch the replays closely, with a special focus on goals scored for and against and how the goal came about.
By about half way through the season, I had become aware of a dramatic swing in umpiring against us. On review, I could see it happened after Round 6 with Freo 6 wins & 0 Losses on top of the ladder.

Fyfe also had 9 BOGs (3 Brownlow votes) in the first 14 games. His contested possession, clearances and i50s let Freo dominate the midfield contests, which gave us good scoring opportunities.
But that all changed after the Mitchell corkie in Round 15.

So in the first 8 rounds of 2015, with Freo having played 5 games at home, mostly in good conditions, with favourable umpiring and Fyfe firing, Freo were scoring well and winning well.
We then had some tougher games, like a wet night win in Adelaide, a short 6 day break back home found us slow out of the gate and Richmond getting the jump on us in the first quarter, Johnson got injured. That game was followed up by very poor goal conversion against Gold Coast (6.17) but still a win, followed by wins against Collingwood and Brisbane Lions.

Around then, with Freo 2 games clear on top of the ladder with 13 wins and just 1 loss to Richmond (who simply had a brilliant 1st qtr, assisted by the umpires 5 Frees vs our 2), we started hearing more noise about Freo not able to kick a big enough score to beat the likes of Hawthorn.
We then travel to Tassie (arguably the worst road trip going), and get totally stitched up in every sense of the word. 1 Free For vs 8 Against in the opening quarter. Fyfe gets intentionally corked by Mitchell.
We then return and comfortably beat Carlton at home, beat Richmond away in Round 17 (not sure how that happens if we we're struggling in the 2nd half of the season), then very comfortable wins against GWS and SK.
Then once again, in Round 20 vs West Coast we get properly stitched up by the umpires 4 Frees For vs 11 Frees Against in the opening term.

The Free Kicks for 2015 ends up;
Rounds 1-6, 126 Frees For vs 102 Frees Against. Freo won the Free Kick tally in 4 of those first 6 games.
Rounds 7-PF, 286 FF vs 363 FA. Freo won the Free Kicks in 2 of those 18 games.
I even documented the Free Kicks in the 1st qtr's from Round 1 to Round 20 (using the AFL match replay app that was available which allowed you to go to bookmarks, like Free Kicks, to watch highlights).
For first quarters, in Rounds 1-6 we had 7 Frees For vs 17 Frees Against. For Rounds 7-20 it swapped to 27 FF vs 61 FA.

Prior to the start of the 2015 Prelim Final, I posted how the umpires selected were some of the worst to Freo in 2015.
After round 6, Dalgleish, Rosebury & Stevic had umpired a combined total of 10 Freo games. We had lost the Free Kicks in all of them.
The Free Kick tally of those games was 116 Frees For vs 167 Frees Against.

And no surprises to me, Freo once again got stitched up in the Prelim against the Hawks.

So, it's all well and good recalling your memory of what the narratives were at the time, but I also have many details that weren't part of that narrative being told.
Whether anybody believes my account or not ... becomes somewhat irrelevant when you look at the history books and see Fremantle ended up minor premiers and were thrown out of the finals by the eventual premiers in a Prelim. That alone tells my logical mind that Lyon had Freo going pretty good in 2015.

List Mgmt. Ross Lyon - Sacked