AFL Autopsy Round 1, 2019: Flogging from GWS

33wxymu.png

Welcome back James Hird, our god and saviour. PLEASE .
It took 2 years to get Francis on the field, [not ready yet] Yet 20 odd blokes ahead of him with no football brains keep getting games, but wait there's more, we have others that aren't ready yet.
Pre match write up said have patience, I did til half time.
Baguley, a captain who plays for possessions, a coach who has no plan b and I'm thinking no idea, supporters who bag the tippas and stringers who at least had a dip, **** me, yep I'm positive.

Our season changed last year once we started playing some kids.
Too many players are comfortable and know they are safe. They played like that in the JLT but we wrote it off as self preservation as it's only practice match.

I reckon Essendon really need to move on guys like Zaharakhis and Myers...senior players who are only 'OK' and too often don't have much of an impact.
Given their output it wouldn't be that hard to replace them with kids who have a higher ceiling.

Probably erred in playing underdone players like Merrett as well...we know he's a gun, but he was clearly not fit enough to run out the game and have any kind of meaningful impact...better off playing someone fit like Parish imo.

I just feel so sad, the players just don't care anymore. There's just no passion- was it the ASADA thing? Look at collingwood they play for "bucks" - the tigers, etc all.
There just doesn't seem to be cohesive passion amongst the group. Have we brought in too many players from other clubs? God imagine how Jobe or Fletch would feel after todays result. I miss those guys.

Bring back HIRD. It's time we make Essendon great again.

1553427995738.png

Hesitation. Hesitation. Hesitation.

So. Much. Hesitation.

We play best when we move the ball quickly. Any time (on the rare occasion) we took a mark, there was just nothing.
I saw Brown give multiple leads to good spots as a first option which went ignored and then there'd just be a big punt up the line where a Giant would take possession and send it right back.

Ridiculously poor game. So embarrassing.

To add insult to injury, currently sitting on a jetstar flight in Sydney that has been delayed for over an hour and a very real chance of being cancelled due to the sydney airport night time flight restrictions.

Winning all round here.

Not sure what's more depressing, how shit we are or that there are people who still scream HIRD!!! after every shit loss. Let it go people. It's not happening.
We may well have our next coach sitting next to Woosha.
Rutten is a good chance to take over....a few more performances like that, and it may be sooner rather than later.

Sitting back and enjoying the replay. Any particular play anyone wants a gif of?

Any one of those bizarre moments when two Essendon players are wrapped around a giants player attempting to tackling him and he just holds his ground long enough to dish out a really good handpass to a mate who runs away without getting a finger laid on him.

Must be in a heavy training load period

thats usually what the past 5 months are for

Dont make excuses

We were shit. We were early last year and weve been horrible over preseason and that translated into round 1.

A good loss was expected from me. The only thing that started changing that thought was all the good teams losing. That was false hope.

Things can change. Round 1 can be a funny round. Eagles proved that last year

Those GPS numbers seem entirely realistic to the game I watched. Never seen a side so outnumbered all over the ground. 8 players with less than ten possession 15 with 17 or less.

I think there been a massive error in the build up off the season. So many injuries to key players, so many today performing below the worst they showed last year.

I reckon Essendon really need to move on guys like Zaharakhis and Myers...senior players who are only 'OK' and too often don't have much of an impact.
Given their output it wouldn't be that hard to replace them with kids who have a higher ceiling.

Probably erred in playing underdone players like Merrett as well...we know he's a gun, but he was clearly not fit enough to run out the game and have any kind of meaningful impact...better off playing someone fit like Parish imo.

Merrett played plenty of game time in JLT. He did all the work up until the injury in late Jan and then missed a month but still wouldve been doing exercise in that time on the weightless treadmill/pool/boxing ect

Twitter saying an problem at the stadium meant our gps stats weren't recorded for a time.

Hopefully the players are using google maps to work out where to run then, as signal loss is the only explanation for the rubbish I watched.

I watch on Friday night , Geelong have an electronic board on the sideline, it changes colours to tell the players whst point of the quarter they are in, they are true pros.

I see us today, have a crappy board with slide in plastic numbers you buy from Bunnings.

It's not much but it's our entire problem in a nutshell, no wonder we haven't won a finsl in so long, we are no longer innovators, we are bog average stock standard followers, we follow other teams plans, we wait for others to do things then follow.

Teams like Geelong keep staying relevant because they innovative, little things like making the best of the new rules and thinking outside the square.

Maybe our one big attempt at innovation resulted in a 5 year saga and we will be gun shy for the next generation, who knows.

Thank god we have STK next, a chance to redeem. Quick go to dick Smith and get an electronic board ;p

Geelong also adapt and change things up - 3 debutants to our none, we go with the same lot that led us to 11th last year.

Boggles the mind

AFL Autopsy Round 1, 2019: Flogging from GWS