AFL Autopsy Round 1, 2019: Flogging from GWS

This is what happens when you have a captain and coach that are just placid. Heppel is always a “she’l be right mate” kind of person and it shows as a player. Woosha is all process and “let’s work towards next week”, I want to see him get a bit angry and show us that he is filthy like we are.

We missed Goddard today, he would have been no worse as a player than anyone else on the field but at least he would have demanded some effort. I said it when he was delisted that he offers far more than just his playing ability and the whole team will suffer without him, I’m seriously worried about it.

Our leadership is soft and uninspiring.

Might have to face the fact that we are just shit another mid table ladder finish coming up.

Correct

Ever since Lloyd left we have zero game plan going into attacking 50. Just dump kick it in.

Its just shithouse.

I've slept on that game before posting in the hope that hindsight rather than raw emotion would have me in a more positive frame of mind.

Nope.

That was awful in pretty much every aspect, every single player should be on notice after that.

Piss poor effort but if we put things in perspective ;-

1. Its round one
2. We played a top 4 team on their home turf
3. We have 2 of our better key position players out in Hooker and Daniher.

Not a great performance - and a big let down, but its not the end of the world and I reckon we will bounce back with vengeance against the Saints this week and all will be forgiven. We just need to eek out a few wins until we get Hooker and Daniher back

That was a chelsea like performance. Big yikes

fancy following both Essendon and Chelsea... its funny you say that, ive gone through great highs with both clubs, trophies, success.. but now im seeing the other side, something stinks at Chelsea, everyone knows it, they can come out and hold their own for 75 minute's then just stop playing and concede 4.. its the same with us, we started ok yesterday, even up until the half time siren we were ok, then just stopped.

the same stench around our club too at the minute, I wouldn't be so worried about it in isolation but the fact i'm seeing the same thing over there, like almost exactly is worrying me a bit, they are not playing for the manager, his game plan is too complex, they are trying to wedge plaers into wrong positions ect.. the parellells are frightening

I've slept on that game before posting in the hope that hindsight rather than raw emotion would have me in a more positive frame of mind.

Nope.

That was awful in pretty much every aspect, every single player should be on notice after that.

Theres always a saying around the workplace that you find out about the true person when you put them under pressure, some lash out, some go into their shell, some panic, some come into their own and lead...

I reckon the same applies to big footy posters after a shocking loss, you learn about the true poster after a smashing. this thread was interesting viewing ;)

Theres always a saying around the workplace that you find out about the true person when you put them under pressure, some lash out, some go into their shell, some panic, some come into their own and lead...

I reckon the same applies to big footy posters after a shocking loss, you learn about the true poster after a smashing. this thread was interesting viewing ;)

Well there was 1 positive. Ambrose came off better when he and (I think) Perryman had that big hit going for a ground ball in the GWS forward 50. I'll take that as a win.

was brilliant

see there was alsmost the carbon copy brewing up the other end, Langford going one way, their bloke the other, Langford hesitated slightly and thier bloke grabbed possession and span in one movement and they got a goal.

the little differences...

Piss poor effort but if we put things in perspective ;-

1. Its round one
2. We played a top 4 team on their home turf
3. We have 2 of our better key position players out in Hooker and Daniher.

Not a great performance - and a big let down, but its not the end of the world and I reckon we will bounce back with vengeance against the Saints this week and all will be forgiven. We just need to eek out a few wins until we get Hooker and Daniher back

Cal Ward, Josh Kelly are two of the best mids in the game.

Nick Hyanes (not actually sure what his name is - that gun third talk defender) and Corr, historically a best 22 player didn't play.

This is what happens when you have a captain and coach that are just placid. Heppel is always a “she’l be right mate” kind of person and it shows as a player. Woosha is all process and “let’s work towards next week”, I want to see him get a bit angry and show us that he is filthy like we are.

We missed Goddard today, he would have been no worse as a player than anyone else on the field but at least he would have demanded some effort. I said it when he was delisted that he offers far more than just his playing ability and the whole team will suffer without him, I’m seriously worried about it.

Our leadership is soft and uninspiring.
Fantasia is in our leadership group and his game yesterday showed zero leadership at all.

Cal Ward, Josh Kelly are two of the best mids in the game.

Nick Hyanes (not actually sure what his name is - that gun third talk defender) and Corr, historically a best 22 player didn't play.

Hooker, Daniher would have made a fair difference, not sure if it counters Kelly and ward but we really missed that defensive anchor and the forward get out option.

Fantasia is in our leadership group and his game yesterday showed zero leadership at all.

don't you reckon leadership groups are only that by name anyway?

outside of the captain I reckon the leadership group these days is just a place to put your promising kids to give them a bit of fake responsibility and status and try to stop them being poached away...

in the real world the leadership group would all have been in the system 5 + years and have actual leadership skills, they might not be in the best 15 players at the club also

don't you reckon leadership groups are only that by name anyway?

outside of the captain I reckon the leadership group these days is just a place to put your promising kids to give them a bit of fake responsibility and status and try to stop them being poached away...

in the real world the leadership group would all have been in the system 5 + years and have actual leadership skills, they might not be in the best 15 players at the club also
Like Myers :p

Resigned to the fact that we won't have much of a finals impact this year.
Yea, we will play some terrific games and look amazing. There will be some games where we McKenna Saad etc and our run will look great. But the reality is our big hole in the midfield, our lack of leadership, our inconsistent intensity and lack of tackle pressure won't be resolved.

One does not lose their ability overnight. It is all down to mental toughness (leadership). We have no natural leaders who have a touch of natural physicality in their game. In other words we are all to nice. What we would give to have a Hodge, Sellwood, Cotchin type....god forbid we ever found another T.Daniher. You are either born with Tish in you or your not...we sadly are not. Free flowing shoot outs we will win all the time....low scoring grinds, not in the race.

I'm really trying hard not to overreact to a round 1 game but wow what a kick to the guts yesterday was.
  • We didn't looked like we'd trained skills in the off-season (kicks not hitting targets/putting people into space, handballs at feet, couldn't mark)
  • We didn't look well conditioned (whether or not the GPS data is true, visually we looked awful)
  • We didn't look like we had a good game plan, and our forward line is still lost
What did we do in our off-season? My hope is that we're trying a new way to 'peak' our team and that will kick in over the next few rounds and will help us play out the year - the more likely scenario is that we're just bad.

Most interesting thing I noticed in game plan is that we were good around stoppages - leading to the ball and winning it, but then the first handball would be to the wall of ~3-6 giants that would be circled around that player creating an instant turnover or putting it back into contest.

Around the ground GWS then lead us to EVERY ball, didn't matter who's possession it was they were leading hard while we waited back. They took their balls cleanly and we couldn't stick tackles. It was so hard to watch.

Rough player thoughts - very few can hold their heads high.

Excellent/Potential BOG:
  • No one
Above Average:
  • McGrath, Saad

Average/Servicable:
  • Shiel, Stringer, Langford, Guelfi, Francis, Ridley

Below Average:
  • Ambrose, Merrett, McKenna, Hurley, Bellchambers, Smith, Heppell, Zaka

Dropable:
  • Baguley, Brown, McKernan, Fantasia, Walla, Myers

Bold = Leadership group

Next week isn't just about the W/L its about coming to the table with players who are aggressive, want to win the ball and put in the effort.

Last week I got two phone calls and a number of emails from the club contacting me to renew my membership. I’m glad I did not.
If I had there would be no doubt in my mind that I would be thinking I was literally sold a dud. Thankfully I’ve only been metaphorically sold one.

The JLT series left me with a very bad taste in my mouth. I was unsure if it was either rust or not taking it too seriously as the reasons for playing so poorly. Now I know it’s gameplan.

There’s simply no way this style of football (if you can call it that) has any place on the field. What the coaching staff have been doing these past few months is beyond discouraging as a fan. It very much seems they have no idea what to do with this squad and to go from getting it so wrong last year to getting it so right only to getting it even more wrong this year speaks volumes of their inability to plan, prepare and coach these players.

I realise it’s only round one, but it’s going to be a long year if this is the standard we are setting.

Last week I got two phone calls and a number of emails from the club contacting me to renew my membership. I’m glad I did not.
If I had there would be no doubt in my mind that I would be thinking I was literally sold a dud. Thankfully I’ve only been metaphorically sold one.

The JLT series left me with a very bad taste in my mouth. I was unsure if it was either rust or not taking it too seriously as the reasons for playing so poorly. Now I know it’s gameplan.

There’s simply no way this style of football (if you can call it that) has any place on the field. What the coaching staff have been doing these past few months is beyond discouraging as a fan. It very much seems they have no idea what to do with this squad and to go from getting it so wrong last year to getting it so right only to getting it even more wrong this year speaks volumes of their inability to plan, prepare and coach these players.

I realise it’s only round one, but it’s going to be a long year if this is the standard we are setting.

I wouldn't worry about it, i hear they are in a heavy training load

think they are trying to get us to peak a bit later, some time around 2028

AFL Autopsy Round 1, 2019: Flogging from GWS