AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Unfortunately, I think that Canberra is being influenced by the same moronic ideas that you are. Oh, well, fingers crossed that more rational heads prevail.
I do think it could force a few clubs out which may not be a bad thing for the competition given the standard is at an all time low.I don't think the players are making the decision to play/not play on just short term salaries. Cancelling a season of AFL will have long term ramifications. Clubs will fold, players will lose long term contracts, TV right will be renegotiated down - potentially crippling the AFL as well as clubs.
I would imagine that they are trying to balance short term potential of getting sick (which, personally, as a fit mid 30 year old I'm not too stressed about), with the potential for escalating contagion more broadly (which I am concerned about) with short term monetary losses with long term career challenges.
It's a lot to think through. Plus, I think it'd probably lift a little morale seeing the boys go at it this weekend. AFL is a national icon, and to see it cancelled will surely either harm people's psyche (even subconsciously) or maybe make them more aware of the seriousness. Lots of things to consider from many different angles.
I expect empty stadiums will be the proviso.Yes yes yes it’s on! Hahaha brilliant! Pack the stadiums! F the world health organisation hahahahah.
What a hilarious move!
KOLOKOTRONIS
Yes yes yes it’s on! Hahaha brilliant! Pack the stadiums! F the world health organisation hahahahah.
What a hilarious move!
KOLOKOTRONIS
Counter argument - the prospect of a cancelled season was boosting the morale of a lot of Saints, Suns, Dees, North, Blues and Bomber supporters.Have you considered that a simple thing like a game of footy might just be that spark of positivity that keeps society from burning itself to the ground? With the amount of anxiety being generated even the one game is a massive boost to public moral.
No crowdsI expect empty stadiums will be the proviso.
TV right money maintained, by far the biggest piece of the revenue pie.
The AFL will probably be working behind the scenes with the MCC, and other stadium owners, about tenancy charges while this is ongoing...or more games at Docklands every week.
Minchington I reckon will play on Sunday. It’s now or never. I wonder with the VFL season being scrapped for this year if Maginness, Jones and Greaves will all come under consideration for selection?
Definatly over a long period! If they only play 3-4 games at the start.I think it will depend on what happens with the scheduling of games mate. If we end up having to play 3 games in 12 or 14 days etc the squad will get rolled through alot more (a-la soccer).
Definatly over a long period! If they only play 3-4 games at the start.
Just put the best team forward it's really only two and half full qtrs.
They are playing to empty stadiums aren't they?Yes yes yes it’s on! Hahaha brilliant! Pack the stadiums! F the world health organisation hahahahah.
What a hilarious move!
KOLOKOTRONIS
They are playing to empty stadiums aren't they?
I seriously doubt 44 players playing a game of football for (under) 2 hours in an empty stadium is going to make one iota of difference to covid-19 transmission rates in Australia.
And even if they do get infected surely a bunch of extremely fit 20 year olds would be a functionally zero risk of dying (or even getting seriously ill).
They are playing to empty stadiums aren't they?
I seriously doubt 44 players playing a game of football for (under) 2 hours in an empty stadium is going to make one iota of difference to covid-19 transmission rates in Australia.
And even if they do get infected surely a bunch of extremely fit 20 year olds would be a functionally zero risk of dying (or even getting seriously ill).
Hang on, Hang on, you lot.
Let's reverse the situation.
How about a situation where the Fans who attended a game were those who mattered. Isn't that why its played in the first place???
Now it's been turned on it's head and were playing footy for "Television" and NO Fans/supporters allowed,
The polo playing Despot can now SELL the game to the Broadcasters / Sponsors , I'm sorry but i see this as a very F**ked up situation.
We are continually fed the argument that it is the people's game, well, if I can't be part of that, it's clearly NOT.
I concede that were facing a grave socio/health situation at the present time, but FFS playing to empty stadiums purely for the $$$, it treating us as MUGS!
A compromised season is worse than none, our collective health is what will matter in the long run, I fear it won't end well if the $$$ is the defining out come.
The motives of the AFL depress me.
If Footy wasn't played this year, so be it, I for one would be heartbroken, but if we can't be all safe and healthy, why bother?
$$$