round 1 side

marcmurphy3

Aug 15, 2006
Brisbane
I know we do this thread every 2 weeks but I thought after seeing the last of the blues most of us will see till round 1 it would be a good time to re-analyse the possible round 1 side. Mine will be very long so bare with me. Would be interested to hear others thoughts.

B: B.Thornton M.Jamison S.Grigg
HB: H.Scotland J.Waite A.Walker
C: K.Simpson B.Gibbs N.Stevens
HF: M.Murphy A.Harteltt R.Houlihan
F: E.Betts B.Fevola M.Kreuzer
OB: S.Hampson C.Judd A.Carrazzo
I/C: R.Hadley C.Cloke R.Jackson P.Bower

Fullback line:
B.Thornton - A dependable defender. Should take the 3rd tall and can swing foward
M.Jamison - In my opinion, a 10 yr fullback. Has put on size and can match it with the monsters. Looked very comfortable on the much bigger cambell tonight and has great closing speed for the leading players.
S.Grigg - Was between Bower and Grigg for this position. Despite not having the best game 2night I've been really impressed with Griggs defensive skills and his far superior decision making and disposal (usually) to Bower gets him ahead for mine. Love the fact that he can kick

Half-back line:
H.Scotland - obvious. Great user of the ball and gets in the holes
J.Waite - Must play defense. We look much better with him there. Provides great rebound and is big enough to play on the monsters. Can see him being a gun CHB. Despite critism in Buddys half he only took 2 marks and kicked 1 goal so waite did ok.
A.Walker: could start midfield but I've named him here for team balance. Provides great run off half back and can negate. Should definately rotate alot in the middle and may end up there as the yr goes on.

Centre line:
K.Simpson - obvious. good pace and dispoal. Classical winger
B.Gibbs - Some may be surprized I've named here centre instead of Stevens but I've always really rated his clearance ability as demonstrated 2night and for that reason I'd rather him start in the centre. Also has the best skills ans decison making in the team. when he gets 30+ possesions he will destroy teams. Should also spend time foward.
N. Stevens -obvious. great skills and running abilty. have started him on the wing for reasons started above but will obviously spend alot of time in the guts. Our 2nd best mid and was great 2night.

Half foward line:
M.Murphy - obvious. will rotate through the guts. would like him to kick more goals
Adam Hartlett - Has shown the most of the CHF prospects. Kicked 4 today in a half of VFL and will play next week.
R.Houlihan - dangerous foward but will also spend time in the middle and down back.

Full foward line:
E.Betts - mostly foward with bursts in the centre. Great skills and goal sense and creates foward pressure. needs consistency though.
B.Fevola - obvious
Kreuzer - should spend time up foward and a little time in the ruck

On Ball:
Hampson - Our best ruckman. Was great last week and won the taps this week. Potential NAB rising star.
C.Judd - obvious. best player in the comp and a clearance machine.
A.Carrazzo - needs to improve footskills alot. Right now gets a start here because of great clerance ability but I feel will lose his starting spot if he deosn't improve disposal.

I/C:
R.Hadley - impressive today. clean hands and provides a strong body in the middle. Great in and under. if he doesn't perform though bentick should take his spot.
R.Jackson - his spot is definately questionable but right now i'd have him in because of his tagging abilty and solid skills. Quicker then bentick which helps.
P.Bower - I have big issues with his disposal but is a good defender so gets a bench gig.
C.Cloke - provides a big body to help out Hammer and can play foward.

Unlucky:
Santa - would have him in but is still having shoulder problems and i'd like him to get some form in the ants. if he comes up good in the next few weeks though i'd have no prob with him taking bowers spot.
Bentick - should probably be in the side. only misses out due to team balance and injuries. a real chance though.

setanta will make our team if fit. maybe rather than kreuzer. should we force him in just cos fisher is gone? big claim on harts mate hassnt done much yet really.

murphy is really worrying me. disposal has gone to shizen

First priority is to get the defence right. Sides that have won premierships over the last 5 years had a back line that didn't change (apart from swapping match ups), had good strength & running ability. Ours has been far from stable & therefore we must pick the right plares & leave them in the back line & only change their positions around depending on match ups.
I am not worried at all about the loss to the Hawks because we have won 2 of the last 3 years NAB cups & look where we ended up.

My team would be:

Scotland Jamieson Setanta
Thornton Waite Walker
Simpson Stevens Jackson
Fisher Hartlett Gibbs
Betts Fevola Cloke

Hampson Judd Murphy

I/C Kruezer, Carazzo, Gibbs, Hadley

Bower & Houlihan the unlucky two. Bower can't kick & can't hand ball. Has plenty of guts, can mark really well & has got good closing speed & re-bound. Needs to go back to basics for his kicking & hand ball. Houlihan I left out & put Jackson in simply because Jackson has better tagging ability & a bit of mongrel. Houliham has better skills but lacks the tagging & mongrel & when you look at the balance of the side with the likes of Judd, Stevens, Gibbs etc the need for Houlihan drops off & a tagger/mongrel type is needed.
Kruezer & Cloke would rotate between ruck & forward pocket. Carazzo rotates through the midfield. Gibbs gives options - back line for anybody injured, midfield or forwards with Gibbs going into the midfield

Can't have Jacko or Hartlett in my best 22. Hartlett may be a chance purely because we lacked leading targets up half forward. Jacko's a midfielder and simply needs to rely on injuries.

Maybe we should just have waite CHF cause he is awsome there, i reckon if Hartlett cant keep up, which i hope he does but theres still doubt their, and just have

Thornton Jamison Bower
Pffiefer/Walker O'hailpin Scotland as our set backman, cause i reckon Jamo can take FB

but on the other side of the bridge I like the idea of stacking up the forward with talls, but this also depends on how many small forwards the opposition have
Bower Jamo O'hailpin
Thornton Waite Scotland

We need to have Bentick! The past two games we have been smashed in clearences and he is our number one clearence player despite always getting limited gametime. Last year he averaged 4.2 then Carrazzo averaged 4.1 from there.....just don't talk about it.

PS. in the 3 games Stevens played he averaged 6.3 :)

B: Scotland Jamison Thornton
HB: O'hAilpin Waite Pfieffer
C: Simpson Gibbs Murphy
HF: Houlihan Hartlett Carrazzo
F: Betts Fevola Kreuzer
R: Hampson Judd Stevens
Int: Jackson Grigg Cloke Bentick - Armfield??

I've really changed my tune on Grigg. I think he's ready to go and is full of poise. I was a bit hesitant with him but i'd really like to see him in the side.

Gibbs needs to be in the centre more often after last night. We were getting smashed in the clearances during the Port game, and then against the Hawks until he was chucked in the middle. Fantastic stuff from him.

Pfieffer has to be a round 1 starter imo. Didn't think he'd start off, but he's been fantastic in the opening two NAB cup games. Deserves his place.

I've placed Armfield on the bench because i think we need some speed. Were a bit slow at times during the NAB cup. As soon as Armfield was around i felt confident that we could break through Hawthorns defences, take them down and put them under pressure.

Kreuzer gets a gig until Fish is fit.

Aisake will be pushing once he is fit, no doubt.

Bentick is essential to our team, and i have stated that many times before. Will play most, if not all 22 games this year.

B: Bret Thornton Michael Jamison Setanta O'hAilpin
HB: Heath Scotland Jarrad Waite Andrew Walker
C: Kade Simpson Nick Stevens Bryce Gibbs
HF: Matthew Kreuzer Adam Hartlett Andrew Carrazzo
F: Eddie Betts Brendan Fevola Ryan Houlihan
R: Shaun Hampson Chris Judd Marc Murphy
I/C: Darren Pfeiffer Richard Hadley Adam Bentick Cameron Cloke
Emer: Ryan Jackson Shaun Grigg Paul Bower

Full back line:
Bret Thornton - Has been our best defender for years and is still effective as a running defender
Michael Jamison - Continues to impress with every game. Makes it look like he's been out there for years and will be a long term defender for the Blues, I have no doubt.
Setanta O'hAilpin - Could really put him everywhere but for team balance have put him here. Can play on the tall and also medium defenders, as well as roaming through the middle and up forward. Hopefully he'll be fit.

Half back line:
Heath Scotland - Will resume his role as a rebounding half back flanker. With more options to fill his role I wouldn't mind seeing him spend more time in the middle where he can use his strength and skill to great effect.
Jarrad Waite - Not where I want to see him, but this is where he'll play. Is another big body to play down back, needs to learn how to be a close checking defender rather than one who just attacks.
Andrew Walker - Hopefully will be running off the other flank. Has played this role in previous years, and whilst many think he should be moved permanently into the middle, this is where I think he plays his best footy.

Centre line:
Kade Simpson - Simmo at full flight running down the wing is a treat to see. Pace, Skill and a touch of flair are essential, and he's got it all.
Nick Stevens - Has shown that he has no problem settling back into the rigours of AFL footy after nearly a year out. Is a leader of the club and will start in the middle.
Bryce Gibbs - Was tempted to put him on a forward flank, but I hope to see Bryce as an almost permanent midfielder this year, and it looks like he'll be able to make that transition pretty quickly. He can find a lot of the ball and is right up there with the best users of the footy at the club.

Half forward:
Matthew Kreuzer - Is only really in my team because of the injury to Fisher, otherwise he may have snuck onto the bench. Not sure he's ready just yet but it will be a good challenge for the kid. Might play out of the forward pocket instead, but certainly has the ability to play off a forward flank.
Adam Hartlett - Providing he is fit and ready to go, he should get first go at cementing his spot at CHF. Is big, strong, not afraid to use his body and is a huge kick. This is his spot and hopefully he can prove it.
Andrew Carrazzo - I could have easily put him in the midfield but I prefer him here. Is strong for his size and can deliver it to the forwards. He will play in the middle a fair bit but his disposal still worries me too much to consider him a permanent midfielder.

Full forward line:
Eddie Betts - Hasn't been the best this preseason, but we need a small, crumbing forward, and Eddie is still our best option by a long way. Will still be good enough to average a goal a game during the season. His challenge now is to become consistent and increase his goal input. Will also see some time through the middle of the ground where he can use his burst of pace to great effect.
Brendan Fevola - Fev will play at full forward obviously, and looks like he is set for a pretty good year.
Ryan Houlihan - I'd love to see him play here, although I don't know whether it will happen. Is at his best as a forward flanker or crumber. Will spend time in the middle, too.

Followers:
Shaun Hampson - Has done nothing but impress this preseason. His work ethic is spectacular and it is paying off for him. Is our number 1 ruckman heading into the season and will line up at the first centre bounce of the season unless his testicle is too much of a bother :eek:
Chris Judd - Do I really need to explain this one? He'll be fit and ready to go. I could have named him anywhere and everywhere but he'll be mainly in the middle. Captain Judd.
Marc Murphy - Has had an average start but I'm not worried about it, as I know he'll be a gun. Was great in the 2nd half last night, really lifted when he needed to. Finishing skills in front of goal are a concern but he'll improve, I have no doubt. Is a gun and will show it.

Interchange:
Darren Pfeiffer - Prior to the preseason I had others here instead of him, but Darren has impressed me and works his way into the 22 for round 1. Can play off half back or through the middle and is another running option.
Richard Hadley - I can't really find a great position for him in the starting 18, but is too good a player not to be in our 22 if fit. Was pretty impressive last night and looks to be a strong body who can help out the kids.
Adam Bentick - A common theme throughout the preseason is us being belted in the clearances. Wasn't originally in my 22 for round 1 but I have had to reconsider, and for mine, MUST be in the team as he is a very good strong midfielder who can get the ball in the middle of the ground.
Cameron Cloke - 2nd ruckman capable of going forward and causing some damage. Has also impressed me after injury.

Emergencies:
Ryan Jackson - I really like Jacko and am excited by him this year, but had to move him out of the 22 in favour of Bentick. Will get plenty of opportunities this year though, and will be a very good player.
Shaun Grigg - I'm not as sold as many seem to be on Grigga. I don't really like him down back so haven't put him there, and the midfielders I have named in the team are all ahead of him. Will get plenty of games though.
Paul Bower - I continue to be impressed by Bower, although sometimes his skills and decision making/awareness worry me. Is right in the mix for a spot come round 1 but IMO might just miss out.

B: Thornton Jamison Walker
HB: Scotland O'hAilpin Hadley
C: Simpson Carrazzo Stevens
HF: Gibbs Waite Houlihan
F: Betts Fevola Kreuzer (Fisher if his wasn't injured)
R: Cloke Judd Murphy
I/C: Grigg Hampson Pfeiffer Bower

Looking at our best 22-24, despite our age, we seem to have far fewer skinny kids than last year. The above backline is definitely not undersized.

Houlihan and Gibbs where they can do the most damage.

Think Cloke deserves 1st ruck. He breaks even and provides grunt and versatility around the ground.

Pfieffer and Hadley are a good injection of skill and hard bodies and are a versatile. I think we actually look a LOT more competitive all around the ground now... both in terms of skills and in terms of being able to compete with men.

B: Thornton Jamison Walker
HB: Scotland O'hAilpin Hadley
C: Simpson Carrazzo Stevens
HF: Gibbs Waite Houlihan
F: Betts Fevola Kreuzer (Fisher if his wasn't injured)
R: Cloke Judd Murphy
I/C: Grigg Hampson Pfeiffer Bower

Looking at our best 22-24, despite our age, we seem to have far fewer skinny kids than last year. The above backline is definitely not undersized.

Houlihan and Gibbs where they can do the most damage.

Think Cloke deserves 1st ruck. He breaks even and provides grunt and versatility around the ground.

Pfieffer and Hadley are a good injection of skill and hard bodies and are a versatile. I think we actually look a LOT more competitive all around the ground now... both in terms of skills and in terms of being able to compete with men.

cloke number 1 ruck ahead of hampson ???? :confused:
clokes not worth being ahead of hampson even if his only got one testicle left

B: Scotland Jamison Thornton
HB: O'hAilpin Waite Pfieffer
C: Simpson Gibbs Murphy
HF: Houlihan Hartlett Carrazzo
F: Betts Fevola Kreuzer
R: Hampson Judd Stevens
Int: Jackson Grigg Cloke Bentick - Armfield??

I've really changed my tune on Grigg. I think he's ready to go and is full of poise. I was a bit hesitant with him but i'd really like to see him in the side.

Gibbs needs to be in the centre more often after last night. We were getting smashed in the clearances during the Port game, and then against the Hawks until he was chucked in the middle. Fantastic stuff from him.

Pfieffer has to be a round 1 starter imo. Didn't think he'd start off, but he's been fantastic in the opening two NAB cup games. Deserves his place.

I've placed Armfield on the bench because i think we need some speed. Were a bit slow at times during the NAB cup. As soon as Armfield was around i felt confident that we could break through Hawthorns defences, take them down and put them under pressure.

Kreuzer gets a gig until Fish is fit.

Aisake will be pushing once he is fit, no doubt.

Bentick is essential to our team, and i have stated that many times before. Will play most, if not all 22 games this year.

No Walker's an oversight - right?

round 1 side