Should have been straight in for HanrahanMorris stiff.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Should have been straight in for HanrahanMorris stiff.
Think it might have been personal. Should be right to go.Mixed messages on Brockman last week - did he miss with injury or illness or was he a no show ?
Shiels was our best player last week according to the coaches votes. No chance he gets dropped.Hanrahan to take all the blame this week while Shiels and worpel stink it up again
Pleased for Reeves and Greaves.
Pleased TOB was dropped. Pleased Hartley was dropped. Pleased Howe isn't coming in.
Disappointed that Brockman has somehow missed out again.
I understand your point, but why are we playing the same way every week?
If the game plan isn’t working, then surely you change it up
We are a side that shouldn’t over-posses the footy, and go straight down the corridor to goal, but we don’t
Forwards are all in a cluster at the top of the goalsquare, no one leading, because we bomb it long there
You know it, I know it, so you can bet opposition coaches/players do too
Posters who have played a lot of footy or are close to the club try to explain this every week.I understand your point, but why are we playing the same way every week?
If the game plan isn’t working, then surely you change it up
We are a side that shouldn’t over-posses the footy, and go straight down the corridor to goal, but we don’t
Forwards are all in a cluster at the top of the goalsquare, no one leading, because we bomb it long there
You know it, I know it, so you can bet opposition coaches/players do too
I mentioned in a post the week before last that my mates son saw Clarko at Metricon watching the Suns vs Saints game and I wouldn’t be surprised if he was scouting that game to see if the next stretch run of games would be good to give Ned a run. He’ll get to test himself against Pittonet / DeKoning this week a more than likely Zac Smith who’s back for GC this week. This is just classic Clarko thinking 2-3 steps ahead.There ain’t never going to be a better time to play Reeves. Plus McEvoy could do with a week off.
Round 10 vs Carlton: Pittonet
Round 11 vs Gold Coast: Burgess
The cleanest of hands for Scrimshaw plus his lateral step I am interested to see him play more midfield to see if he can, as taller, reasonable pace, good luck, a difference in our midfield.Excited to see what Reeves can offer. Big Boy has been a warrior but has been battered by some of the better rucks over the past few weeks.
Greaves did everything right last year so very happy to see him get a crack. Hopefully it means Impey and/or Scrim play more midfield minutes.
Thinks so. Only frost and hartigan down there and no TOB to chop outBB to play back?
Ollie damn lucky to keep his spot for mine.
The "game plan" got slammed back then too, and a lot of people had serious doubts about Clarko.In 2005 and 06 we played some horrible games as the team got used to a new style, Glenn Archer described us as the most unaccountable team he had ever played against the day that Clinton Young debuted against him on a wing at Docklands. Little did we all know that the style that won us a premiership in 2008 was a work in progress.
There are some fundamentals that aren’t working at present like a poor centre square set up so hopefully we use Reeves as the center bounce ruckman and BB for the around the ground work in which Reeves isn’t built for yet and Greaves being in frees up either Jars or Hardwick for some centre square run. I’d also like to see CJ on the wing because teams are trying to drag him back when he’s playing on the back flank.
The "game plan" got slammed back then too, and a lot of people had serious doubts about Clarko.
Reeves is the only player on our list with the abilty to turn our fortunes around (no pressure). We just need a circuit-breaker in the middle. I’m excited to see what he can do. His selection is a double whammy, as we’ll see McEvoy in the backline where he could really dominate Carlton’s forward line which is honestly not much chop outside of McKay.
Hanrahan is simply lucky that they obviously wanted to limit the changes at selection, otherwise the swap for Morris was obvious.
I was at the game where Robbie Campbell played full back on Fevola. Roughead kicked a bag (Buddy was missing through injury from recollection) and Fev missed a shot at goal to win it, as it grazed the post. It was an old fashioned shout-out between two full forwards. I'm not sure Lewis or Kosi could get the service to keep up with Harry.
Posters who have played a lot of footy or are close to the club try to explain this every week.
When you're young / low in confidence / down in form, or just ordinary compared to your opponents, you fall back on playing an ordinary brand of footy.
Defenders are copping 60+ forward entries from the opposition in recent games. Even if it's the game plan, their instinct is to avoid going straight down the guts, because they know it's just gonna come back in again. When you're getting slammed, your instinct is to turn to the slowest / high possession way of playing, which means hugging the boundary line, over possessing, etc. Survival instinct kicks in, and your main thought is, to avoid having the footy come straight back into defence.
We train for a fast pace, exciting brand of footy. You can head to Waverly and see this for yourself. And in bursts this year, we've pulled it off. But when momentum swings, we revert to a safe, awful brand of footy, and it's why Clarko goes nuts when you see it happening.
Truly believing that the club are blindly choosing to play this way is disingenuous at best.
Had 22 whipping boys last week. Heaps of options this year so far. No sure what games Mercy Seat has been watching.Hanrahan to take all the blame this week while Shiels and worpel stink it up again
LOL, yeah I'm sure the club are spending that soft cap on having employees try drum up TOB and our game plan to a bunch of Bigfooty posters...On record... We have 'pulled it off' when we are chasing tail and not playing our game plan. Again, listen to Brendan Bolton last week pre-game on this. This is not our desire.
As for the 'played a lot of footy'... ha. It doesn't make you sound good if honest mate. I'm sure people have played a lot of footy that have contradictory views. I played a lot of footy, but in the grand scheme of things? I'm another sh*t kicker with a view on here. No better. No worse.
As for the 'close to the club'... well, perhaps that's the issue. It does very much seem the posters that are at Waverly, as fans, do come in hard and fast on any negativity.... some, I would argue are paid employees also. I love in my work 180 feedback. I'm better because of it.
LOL, yeah I'm sure the club are spending that soft cap on having employees try drum up TOB and our game plan to a bunch of Bigfooty posters...