Autopsy Round 10, 2023: GWS v St.Kilda

I've been a fan of his for a while but Jesus Christ do we need a replacement for doogs.
He panics so often and *s things up.
And when he stuffs up, he deflates and makes more mistakes.
At least 2 goals per game come directly from his stuff ups I reckon.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
He played a very good game last night and I can only remember one genuine mistake in not attacking the ball hard enough which then bounced into GWS's arms.

This might amaze some people but you cannot stop key forwards from kicking goals all of the time and we shouldn't be potting players for not pulling off the impossible.

Every now and then he must think he is a Harlem Globetrotter and try to do something ridiculous that doesn't come off and it frustrates the hell out of me.

But he is such an important part of our team and is having a very solid season.
His banana kicks inside 50 trying to hit a target will be the death of me

Weird that we don't put Gresham into the middle more often. He does change up the pace. It's a shame Jones looks gone he adds that frenetic energy as well.

Byrnes, Hill and Wood are great runners and open options but some pace around the inside midfield would be nice.

I wonder if Billings could play Sincs role and free him up for close to full time midfield. Sincs could win a Brownlow if he was a full time mid IMO.
Was thinking that too. If he starts putting in games like that regularly. Great player 😍

A few musings if I may...

1) Hunter started well, faded and then finished well. He's changing my opinion each week. Just hope his luck has turned.
2) Caminiti is going to be a very handy footballer. I was particularly impressed with his competitiveness in the ruck. Give the boy 7 or 8kg, a bit of work on his tank and could he be the forward/ruck we've been looking for?
3) Sinclair needs to play more midfield minutes. Gresham too, but more centre bounce as opposed to around the ground.
4) Not that we have, but never underestimate the importance of King!
5) We need to treat Hawthorn with respect. They're coming off a massive win and will be up for it. They will think we are gettable.

Hunter seems to be in a weird position. To me he’s an almost player.
Almost does the incredible
Almost breaks a tackle
Almost gets enough of the ball
Almost fast enough defensively

Others have gone past him in defence and he doesn’t appear fully capable of playing a full game in the middle. He can’t play wing. Where does it leave him? I do think he adds something different to the midfield mix and he has a good scramble for a ground ball.

Were averaging a league worst 20 intercept marks allowed.

Down to 10 yesterday.

Averaging a below league average 10 marks inside 50.

Up to 16 yesterday.

The Max King Factor.

Almost breaks a tackle

Others have gone past him in defence and he doesn’t appear fully capable of playing a full game in the middle. He can’t play wing. Where does it leave him? I do think he adds something different to the midfield mix and he has a good scramble for a ground ball.
He is in and under at stoppages and easily our best at it.
Seriously I am at a loss that people can't see his role in the engine room, he is the reason we are holding our in in the mid while all of Steele, Crouch and Ross have been down.
He isn't a centre bounce mid, but around the ground he is excellent doing the inside grunt work.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Almost breaks a tackle

It leaves him in the role he is currently playing, moving between half back and on ball.

He’s clearly best 22 playing that role. He’s also missed a lot of footy and will probably take a bit more time before he is at his peak.

Seriously I am at a loss that people can't see his role in the engine room, he is the reason we are holding our in in the mid while all of Steele, Crouch and Ross have been down.
He isn't a centre bounce mid, but around the ground he is excellent doing the inside grunt work.

Part of our issue at centre bounces is Marshall himself, he doesn't guide his taps to advantage it's more of just get the tap it's not completely directed in any particular way or area or to advantage.

For what Rowan does & he's always named in our best we don't get enough bang for our bucks.

I think Gresham had the perfect balance as a fwd mid yesterday.

He attended the centre bounce 11 times and kicked 2 goals 2.

Perfect.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Most games he’s been going to about half the centre bounces which I think is the perfect mix.

Also worth noting that his numbers just haven’t been great for a guy that plays in there that much. If he was getting more footy he’d probably be playing in there even more than he is.

Great response from Butler. When he plays with that attitude there aren't many I'd rather in his specific role.

NWM can play.

First time I've had Marshall in the best this season.

Higgins is having a very good season.

Often when a bloke gets drafted late or not at all, you are looking to see that one "football" skill. Hard to believe Caminiti fell into our hands. Great competitiveness, but that isn't a "football" skill. Can properly clunk a mark, which most definitely is a football skill.

Good to see Wilkie back in form.

Good return from Gresham too.

Not sure how much longer we can go with Steele-Crouch-Ross. The start the match in there and we get dominated in the centre, Gresh goes in there (aka something different) and the tide turns. Same with Sinclair, that original mix cannot continue. It’s nice that those guys can do it but it’s a lot to ask of little blokes to be the reason things change in the middle.

Whenever Sinclair goes into the midfield he shows us everything we don’t have in there. Superstar.

Owens had 6 contested possessions in less than two quarters, he is looking more and more like our future every week. Hopefully all is good with his concussion because that looked nasty.

I think we’re undersized in defence and it’s about to be exposed week in week out. It looks like if our tall winger can’t get back in time to cover then the opposing forwards take easy marks simply because they’re just bigger and stronger.

Concerning that we’re now struggling to beat the bottom four teams. There’s upside in the group but there’s some pretty important things that aren’t working ATM.

Agree on Sinclair, superstar.

Richmond had three premierships with a set up that never won clearance and a ruckman who was more like Marshall than Gawn.

We just knocked off a side with half a dozen stars that regularly rack up 30 plus possessions and a better tap ruckman.

The backline was probably oversized for GWS who's best forward player is Greene who is Snags size. Himmelberg was back before injured and Ricciardi was struggling. Guys like Daniel can play small forward and cause damage as well.

Hawks, WCE and North are the only really shit sides this year and Hawks and Roos have actually been reasonable competitive at times. It's the type of season that you want to be on your toes because there aren't many shit sides. Richmond, Gold Coast, GWS, Sydney and Carlton all look better sides than their ladder position. Freo, Essendon, Adelaide and Geelong are one or two wins above all of them and most look like they could easily play finals this year.

I do like his in and under work but I don’t think he is our best and the sole reason for success in the middle. He does provide a point of different like gresh and sincs but again it’s just almost enough.
He needs to be doing a lot more or adding new strings to his bow or I can see him being pushed out.

try listening oon the radio . that was horrible. i was out for the first quarter and only SEN had it on, i had to turn it off it was that bad.

Me too, drove back from the Mornington peninsula with it on. When they hadn't accidentally turned off their mics, they were lost as to what was going on. Leon Cameron sounds like he's dosed up on Valium and the main guy sounded like he was a rugby caller trying to get his head around a new game. I thought it was Phil Davis at first but it was Phil something else. Absolutely dreadful. The best part was when their mics turned off and the muffled crowd noise went for 5 minutes like they'd dropped the microphone in a chip packet.

Part of our issue at centre bounces is Marshall himself, he doesn't guide his taps to advantage it's more of just get the tap it's not completely directed in any particular way or area or to advantage.

For what Rowan does & he's always named in our best we don't get enough bang for our bucks.
I'm with you. RoMa is a conundrum.

His centre bounce tap work is a massive problem. Either straight at his feet or even worse out in the open away from one of our players.
Around the ground it's not quite as bad because we have more bodies at the source to overcome it.

On the other hand he gives us another on ball player and a strong marking player all over the field and he is great at that so that's why he's in the best most weeks.

I think we will struggle to beat the top 4 whilst he's our centre bounce ruckman with the midfielders we have. It's probably starting a couple of goals down each game at the moment.

Autopsy Round 10, 2023: GWS v St.Kilda