Preview Round 10 GWS GIANTS vs Geelong

I read this morning (Telegraph maybe?) that Folau's hamstring may keep him out this week too; that'd give him 3 weeks off with the bye coming next week.

Hombsch could be back from a quad injury which has seen him on the sidelines for the last 3 weeks after playing the first 6. Having been out that long he might come back through the reserves though.

Greene should be back in after a one week forced layoff.

Not sure on other possible ins and outs...

I also just noticed a testing 4 weeks for the key defenders: they had Crameri (t-2nd in Coleman, 23 goals) this past week, now Hawkins (1st, 24), then J Riewoldt (t-2nd, 23) and Clark (8th, 20) after the bye.

I never ever thought that I'd ever support anybody playing against the blessed Hoops, but I will be this weekend.

Starting with making the banner this Thursday at Brekkie Point, I will be very much in the Giants' camp for this game.

It's a kind of discombobulating feeling when you come to that point, where you realise that you have truly crossed completely over, innitt?

:rolleyes:

Any chance Josh Bruce might come in with Folau getting injured?

Really think we can surprise Geelong. Don't think we can win, but sometimes they turn off for a bit.

Shiel on Selwood?

Going by the latest injury report from the club (last week, I think) Bruce still has 2-3 weeks out with a back injury.

Also, 9th venue in 10 weeks for the Giants!

Hi Guys, just wanted to wish you well for the Weekend do you know if there are many Giants fans making the trip to KP this weekend.

I have been seriously impressed by the way your club is going about there 1st season, you all should be very proud of them. Its appears that they have recruited very very well, love the look of Cameron, Bugg, Coniglio and your fullback whose name escapes me at the moment and the scary thing is that we haven't seen Patton yet, you have a lot to look forward to.

Its appears that they have recruited very very well, love the look of Cameron, Bugg, Coniglio and your fullback whose name escapes me at the moment.

Tim Mohr - ex Tassie boy who we picked up from Casey.

Thanks for the good thoughts - I think we'll try and turn it into a midfield slog, and we'll match you in center clearances and contested possessions ... but the kids (and Chad Cornes) commit too many turnovers, and you'll score goals on fast ball from the rebound.

But you'll know theres been a footy game by the end of it.

Im a fan. Just love the way Toby Greene goes about his business. I hope he really makes a stamp on the competition in the next few years.

I really like the fact the younger players are giving it their best shot at the contests, they are competitive for 50-60% of match time and improving every week. Ward, Davis and Scully are exceptional leaders on and off the field. The whole club seems to have focus and commitment well ahead of established clubs.

Recruiting has been excellent, not a lot of talk about who they are going after next year but you can gauge that a lot of the good players on the cusp at other clubs will be picked up.

I've watched every GWS game this season. So much to like about them. Keep up the good work. You cant rush greatness.

:thumbsu::thumbsu: Good luck

AussieMac82,

Thanks for the kind words.

I agree about the kids playing a committed brand of footy as well, and thats why we'll be very quiet in free agency - our $1.5m or so in cap room next year will be dedicated to re-signing them on extended contracts. We've already had the first wave of extensions, and Im expecting a second soon.

Therefore, we'll only be looking for replacements for Cornes, Power, MacDonald and Brogan, in my view, and that means older players wanting one last year before transitioning into coaching.

This is the game where I cannot lose (of course some will say I can't win but I'm a glass half full sort of guy) I shall be wearing my Geelong jumper and Giants hat with my membership cards in each pocket.

I suspect that even without Hawkins the Giants may not get the points but you just never know.

I reckon other teams will stop wishing good luck pretty soon!

I suspect that you are right. GWS are playing a very good brand of footy. With possible bad weather it could be hard to score. Cats need to come out and gain an early lead.

Everyone will be watching your boys with interest, exciting times.

I would just like to wish you luck for the rest of the season(just not this weekend) and hope you all see success sometime in the future.
I'll be honest and say i thought you guys would be a laughing stock, with record scores kicked against you each game. How wrong i was.
You have an excellent spread of future stars who'll be the envy of many a side fairly quickly and you've made inroads one would never of forcast so fast.(kudos to the coaching panel. You've easily surpassed the Suns at the same stage of development and rest assured you may even pinch a few more wins in season 12.
It's not only important you succeed for the good of the AFL, but to also rub it in the face of those arrogant NRL p***** that belittle our great game(apologies if offended anybody)
The way Western Sydney have taken to the AFL and surpassed some league sides from the rugby heartland(membership wise) is a credit to your organisation.

PS:I have done a match preview in the Geelong game day thread for anybody that's interested.

All the best for the future guys, enjoy the match and i'll continue to look on with interest in regards to your development.:thumbsu:

B: Matthew Scarlett, Tom Lonergan, Josh Hunt
HB: Corey Enright, Harry Taylor, Andrew Mackie
C: Cameron Guthrie, Joel Selwood, Paul Chapman
HF: Mathew Stokes, Trent West, James Kelly
F: Mitch Duncan, James Podsiadly, Steve Johnson
Foll: Orren Stephenson, Joel Corey, Jimmy Bartel
Int: Steven Motlop, Taylor Hunt, Jordan Schroder, Lincoln McCarthy

Emg: Tom Gillies, Jesse Stringer, Billie Smedts
In: James Kelly, Jordan Schroder, Lincoln McCarthy
Out: Tom Hawkins (Knee), Jonathan Simpkin, Jesse Stringer
New: Jordan Schroder (Calder U18), Lincoln McCarthy (Glenelg)
Milestones: Harry Taylor - 100 games

GWS GIANTS
B: Luke Power, Phil Davis, Sam Darley
HB: Sam Reid, Tim Mohr, Tomas Bugg
C: Tom Scully, Adam Treloar, Toby Greene
HF: Chad Cornes, Jeremy Cameron, Jacob Townsend
F: Devon Smith, Andrew Phillips, Nick Haynes
Foll: Jonathan Giles, Callan Ward, Dylan Shiel
Int: Stephen Coniglio, Taylor Adams, James McDonald, Dom Tyson

Emg: Jack Hombsch, Gerald Ugle, Nathan Wilson
In: Nick Haynes, Toby Greene
Out: Curtly Hampton, Adam Kennedy (Shoulder)
New: Nick Haynes (Dandenong U18)

Not surprised Hampton has been dropped. I just wanted to smack him upside the head with a lump of 4x2 after that effort on goal with the ridiculous dribble round the corner that lead directly to an Essendon goal. I know he's got a bag of tricks and I love that side of his game, but if the goal is wide open just straighten up and kick the bloody thing. Hopefully he'll learn.

Good luck to Nick Haynes. Talk about being thrown in at the deep end. Geelong in Geelong for your debut.

I never ever thought that I'd ever support anybody playing against the blessed Hoops, but I will be this weekend.

Starting with making the banner this Thursday at Brekkie Point, I will be very much in the Giants' camp for this game.

It's a kind of discombobulating feeling when you come to that point, where you realise that you have truly crossed completely over, innitt?

:rolleyes:

I'm surprised you support GWS now, I always thought you were a Cats diehard! (this isn't my first account).

Traitor :p;)

B: Matthew Scarlett, Tom Lonergan, Josh Hunt
HB: Corey Enright, Harry Taylor, Andrew Mackie
C: Cameron Guthrie, Joel Selwood, Paul Chapman
HF: Mathew Stokes, Trent West, James Kelly
F: Mitch Duncan, James Podsiadly, Steve Johnson
Foll: Orren Stephenson, Joel Corey, Jimmy Bartel
Int: Steven Motlop, Taylor Hunt, Jordan Schroder, Lincoln McCarthy

Emg: Tom Gillies, Jesse Stringer, Billie Smedts
In: James Kelly, Jordan Schroder, Lincoln McCarthy
Out: Tom Hawkins (Knee), Jonathan Simpkin, Jesse Stringer
New: Jordan Schroder (Calder U18), Lincoln McCarthy (Glenelg)
Milestones: Harry Taylor - 100 games

GWS GIANTS
B: Luke Power, Phil Davis, Sam Darley
HB: Sam Reid, Tim Mohr, Tomas Bugg
C: Tom Scully, Adam Treloar, Toby Greene
HF: Chad Cornes, Jeremy Cameron, Jacob Townsend
F: Devon Smith, Andrew Phillips, Nick Haynes
Foll: Jonathan Giles, Callan Ward, Dylan Shiel
Int: Stephen Coniglio, Taylor Adams, James McDonald, Dom Tyson

Emg: Jack Hombsch, Gerald Ugle, Nathan Wilson
In: Nick Haynes, Toby Greene
Out: Curtly Hampton, Adam Kennedy (Shoulder)
New: Nick Haynes (Dandenong U18)

I'm liking those line-ups. Good luck! I definitely like GWS better than GC. At first I thought GWS would only be a franchise that would be a rabble for years to come. I was wrong though. You've shown heart and talent and have done extremely well for a first-year club.

Good luck in the future, except when you ever play the Cats!:D

G'day Tomahawk,

Yeah, I was a very Cat's fan prior to this year and very active on the magnificent Geelong boards. If our community here evolves into anything even remotely resembling that forum, we'll very much be doing good things for our Giants.

Another member of the Cats' board asked me the same thing on another thread recently, so my reply can be found at:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=24368660#post24368660

Hope this helps you understand my far from unique journey, and here's hoping for a high quality contest on Saturday.

G'day Tomahawk,

Yeah, I was a very Cat's fan prior to this year and very active on the magnificent Geelong boards. If our community here evolves into anything even remotely resembling that forum, we'll very much be doing good things for our Giants.

Another member of the Cats' board asked me the same thing on another thread recently, so my reply can be found at:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=24368660#post24368660

Hope this helps you understand my far from unique journey, and here's hoping for a high quality contest on Saturday.

First Ablett, now oozeboss.:(

:D:D:D

Difference is that GWS don't pay me $1.9m per annum, nor would they miss me one iota if I didn't front on any given week.

But like GAJ, I'll always have a place in heart and hearth for the Cats. Hence my avatar and key info to the left of screen are basically as they were a year ago (with 1 significant difference), and there is a certain familar theme in my sig which screams the influence of the blessed hoops.

I'm personally hoping that I can inculcate some of the traditions and attitudes of the GFC into the still evolving traditions and attitudes of the GWSFC. If we can emulate the Cats in many ways, our colonisation of the AFL wilderness that is western Sydney will be more successful in a much shorter time frame.

The Geelong Football Club is a perfect model of how a footy club should run. And that is precisely what Greater Western Sydney aspires to become. And I am incredibly lucky to be linked to both.

Not surprised Hampton has been dropped. I just wanted to smack him upside the head with a lump of 4x2 after that effort on goal with the ridiculous dribble round the corner that lead directly to an Essendon goal. I know he's got a bag of tricks and I love that side of his game, but if the goal is wide open just straighten up and kick the bloody thing. Hopefully he'll learn.

Good luck to Nick Haynes. Talk about being thrown in at the deep end. Geelong in Geelong for your debut.

Couldn't agree more. The Hampton brain explosion hurt us! 12 point turn around when we were slugging it out! It was like popping a balloon with the air inside the stadium being sucked out.....I love the excitement he brings but YES kick the goal!!!!

Yeah that Hamption effort..
*facepalm*

I love the kid though, kinda sad to see him dropped, but you really can't make errors like that.. Still he's not the only bloke on the team to have made a mistake..

Hope he comes back in soon and redeems himself!