Preview Round 10: St Kilda vs Richmond

LordJimmy

Sep 15, 2007
Enormous match. Possibly the biggest game of the home and away season.

Richmond fans are stupidly confident (go have a look on their board) and the team probably has the right to go in favourites despite being a game below us on the ladder.

They're cited as having a stronger and deeper midfield... Cotch, Lids and Martin are quality, but surely that's not right? They definitely have the upper hand in the ruck, though.

Any thoughts? I hope Etihad pushes a full house on Friday night. I'll be there.

Saints should win, but they'll give us a scare on the way, methinks. I reckon we're on the way up and still have them covered, though.

If we went by what most of them seem to reckon on the Richmond board, we're just going to be there on Friday night to be the witches hats for them to get some practise around, on the way to another 4 points and a nice % boost, on the way to the finals, even though we've just convincingly won two games against teams that were 2nd and 4th on the ladder, are playing at our home and favourite ground, are steadily improving and haven't lost to them since the second last year of Danny Frawley's coaching tenure there. We're also of course far more accustomed to winning big games more consistently than they are, having made the finals in 7 of the last 8 years, during which time they have not made the finals once.

Having said that, I expect it will be on for young and old, especially early and we'll want to get off to a good start, as the "Tiger Army" will give them a huge lift if we let them get off to a good start. We need to keep their crowd out of it, like it's an interstate match and make sure we're in full voice ourselves. I expect it will be a much tougher contest than the Sydney game was, as Richmond are in better form and are a lot closer to full strength than Sydney were and they also beat up on Sydney just a couple of weeks ago. They'll also have a lot more support there than Sydney did on Saturday. Sydney was like a "warm-up match" for this one, if Richmond play like they did on the weekend.

We just need to make sure we bring the same intensity at the contest that we played with for most of the games against Carlton and Sydney and make the most of our opportunities more often, as we've been butchering some golden opportunities on a regular basis this year.

Not to mention that despite whatever impressive form they have, they're still 4-5.

Ah well. Just about anything you say that disputes their claims of an easy win is met with jeering that it will be entertaining reading when the inevitable "smashing" comes around. You'd think they would have learned not to get ahead of themselves after all these years...

For the record, our core midfield is Hayes, Armitage, Steven, Jones, Goddard, Montagna and Dal Santo. Theirs is Martin, Cotchin, Deledio, Jackson, Tuck and Foley. I think we have the upper hand, but Maric might tip that their way...

I hope Watters has the gonads to put Simpkin on Riewoldt though. Tell him to give as much lip as possible.

Ah well. Just about anything you say that disputes their claims of an easy win is met with jeering that it will be entertaining reading when the inevitable "smashing" comes around. You'd think they would have learned not to get ahead of themselves after all these years...
That assumes that they're either smart, or wise enough to learn from past mistakes.

I think it's actually better to not engage with them for the rest of the week, as it will probably be better to let them get all over-cocky and lulled into a false sense of security that it's just going to be the cakewalk they think it will be, then they won't know what's hit them on Friday night. They could easily get way ahead of themselves, just like Carlton did, earlier in the year. The more threads and media and hype about how good they are this week, the better and the less positive talk about us the better. We need our teams actions and results to do the talking.

Yeah I had a good chuckle at that one earlier. Clearly some of them have seen little or none of our games this year, (especially in recent weeks, when we've been significantly better than we were earlier in the year), and think we're the same as we were at the times we were poor last year, but they are just highly ignorant and they won't be the ones picking their team, or coaching against us on the weekend, so it means very little.

I've seen some pretty outrageous stuff by some of those who support us, as well, though, so every team is prolly the same in that regard. At the end of the day talk is cheap and all that will matter is who gets the job done best on the night.

Yeah Richmond supporters are getting way ahead of themselves as per usual. Looking forward to us giving them a reality check.

We just need Jones to tag Cotchin who is a gun and the key to their midfield, can't believe the Hawks didn't tag him and let him run amok, and we will beat them everywhere else.

Maric has been good lately but Blake and Kosi can at least break even with him.

Fisher and Schneider will be handy inclusions if they are fit but I'd be more than happy to just roll with the same side that did the business against Sydney.

I think it's fair to say we need to stop more than just Cotchin.

Riewoldt is a big one, as he will be very keen to do well on the big stage of Friday night and has had some good games against us. We don't have an obvious match-up for him and he will want to be jumping on some heads. Martin is another one we need to stop, although maybe he and Armitage ought to go head to head, like a couple of bulls and Delidio is another one that we might need to send someone to. Maybe Farren Ray, who did the job on Simpson for Carlton the other week, or if he isn't successful, maybe Gilbert, who has the speed to go with him and isn't much good for anything else at the moment.

I'm happy with Blake to go with Maric. He's been up against better than him over the years and it doesn't seem to matter if we get the hitouts or not, as we can still win the clearances, like we did against Carlton, when they smashed us in the hitouts, but we won the clearances easily.

Well it goes without saying we need to stop their forwards and in particular Jack Riewoldt who is really their only key forward of note.

We should be able to take care of him with a combination of Simpkin, Gwilt, Gilbert, Fisher etc.

Dustin Martin is another dangerman. I reckon we should chuck Farren Ray on him in a run with role, he can match him in both the midfield and if he goes forward but can also hurt him the other way as he doesn't work all that hard defensively.

I wouldn't want Ray to take up a spot in the centre bounces against Martin though, which is why I think Armo could be the better match up for him there, with Hayes and Tuck to also go head to head. Dempster to take Martin when he goes forward. Also need to keep an eye on Foley. Maybe he and Joey will go head to head. Lots of good match-ups in the midfield.

Goddard, Dal Santo and Montagna all need big games. Interesting RE: Ray. I suppose he can tag Deledio. I don't think he'd be good on Martin. Armitage seems a safe bet there, although he might get beaten badly.

But yeah, this:

We've got them covered. Better in the midfield, more depth, better ruckman, and better forwardline.

Was mightily entertaining.

If it's any consolation to you guys; I'm really worried about this game.

The only place we have a definite advantage is in the ruck. Everywhere else, it's hugely line-ball. Being at Etihad probably should tip the betting in your favour; it's ludicrous that we will go in favourites.

Good luck.

Friday night under the roof at Etihad, taking on the up & about Tigers. Footy doesn’t get any better then this. The Tiger Army will be out in force and think could go close to full house.

Richmond hasn’t beaten Saints since Round 4, 2003 although last year technically they didn’t lose as we drew with them! We all remember that game as day Lenny went down, but he is back and in career best form.

It’s a real danger game this one, the Tigers have been in terrific form and if it wasn’t for getting dodgy fixture early in season they would be in better position. It was only a matter of time before they beat a top side and they did just that putting Hawthorn to sword. They’ll take a lot confidence from that and I think will win lot games from now on.

On other hand StKilda is proving that they aren’t in decline and no need to bottom out. They’ve injected some much needed youth and pace and they look a brand new team. Jack Steven & David Armitage are becoming A-Grade midfielders and really enjoy taking the game on. Ahmed Saad & Terry Milera have added much needed pace & excitement to what was a very stagnant forward line.

Richmond hold the upper hand in ruck department with surprise packet of season Ivan “The Mullet” Maric coming from nowhere to be probably the All Australian ruckman if team was selected today. He comes up against Jason Blake who had career high 31 hitouts against Sydney but it wont come that easy this weekend. Justin Koschitzke will really need to stand up and help out in ruck and needs to recapture form after a fortnight he’d probably rather forget.

St Kilda will have some tough selection decisions to make with Adam Schneider & Raph Clarke available, with later having two standout performances in VFL in past two games. Sam Fisher is also hopefully available, but in post match press conference Scott Watters wasn’t sounding very convinced he’d be available this week. Although that could mean he will play as he does like to try play mind games. Jarryn Geary is in some doubt after copping nasty knock to eye and being subbed off with concussion.

Richmond basically is at full strength with only Dylan Grimes looking like only player out of their best side, but he is still couple weeks away.

KEY MATCHUPS

Alex Rance vs Nick Riewoldt/Justin Koschitkze – Not sure if Rance will take Roo or Kosi as not convinced he has endurance to run with Riewoldt.

Trent Cotchin vs Clint Jones – This is possibly the key matchup of the game. Cotchin is their best midfielder and if you can stop him then it goes along way to winning game. Jones also could take Deledio.

Brett Deledio vs ?????? – Not really sure who takes Deledio if Jones takes Cotchin, he needs to be stopped as is in career best form. If Fisher is back id almost be inclined to run Dempster with him, although it might throw our structure out. Maybe Gram can run with him and try make him accountable other way.
Robin Nahas vs Jarryn Geary – If fit can assume Gears will take their small forward, if he doesn’t get up I think Dean Polo could come in to play the role on him.

CHANGES

OUT: Jarryn Geary (if not fit)
IN: Sam Fisher/Raph Clarke (depends if Fisher is fit or not)

If Geary is fit and Fisher is aswell then really have no idea who misses. Maybe Siposs is unlucky one. Otherwise few fans calling for Grams head, but not sure that will happen. With so many players pushing for selection and kids standing up once in side its refreshing to have these kind of selection issues!

Saints by 24 points.

For the record, our core midfield is Hayes, Armitage, Steven, Jones, Goddard, Montagna and Dal Santo. Theirs is Martin, Cotchin, Deledio, Jackson, Tuck and Foley. I think we have the upper hand, but Maric might tip that their way...

I hope Watters has the gonads to put Simpkin on Riewoldt though. Tell him to give as much lip as possible.

That midfield match up will be a killer. I hope Maric can make the difference here.

We just need Jones to tag Cotchin who is a gun and the key to their midfield, can't believe the Hawks didn't tag him and let him run amok, and we will beat them everywhere else.

The tagging Cotch thing is a real pickle for oppositions now. Plenty of teams have tried only for him to get his ball in and under and have an effect anyway. Lids as some have said is also a problem - in career best form but with Cotch's emergence is flying under the radar somewhat. So which do you tag? In the meantime Foley is back to his best and Martin is a (currently inconsistent) threat.

Going to be a great midfield battle.

Yeah Richmond supporters are getting way ahead of themselves as per usual. Looking forward to us giving them a reality check.

Maric has been good lately but Blake and Kosi can at least break even with him.

Fisher and Schneider will be handy inclusions if they are fit but I'd be more than happy to just roll with the same side that did the business against Sydney.

Looking fwd to Friday night, massive massive game. Think it will be a cracker as both teams go in with very good form. Midfield very even and that's were the game will be won or lost as per usual. Jack found form on sat with king chipping in as well however ur fwd line always plays well against where Milne always terrorises us. Morris will pick him up and he has been nothing short of fantastic this year and did the job on Cyril last week. I *will pull u up on maric breaking even with kosi and Blake, that should be a massive advantage for us. Maric broke even with cox and natuinui, beat Ryder and bellchambers and destroyed hale. Anyway looking forward to the game, good to have a Friday night game that actually means something, winner plays finals I reckon.*

Enormous match. Possibly the biggest game of the home and away season.

Richmond fans are stupidly confident (go have a look on their board) and the team probably has the right to go in favourites despite being a game below us on the ladder.

They're cited as having a stronger and deeper midfield... Cotch, Lids and Martin are quality, but surely that's not right? They definitely have the upper hand in the ruck, though.

Any thoughts? I hope Etihad pushes a full house on Friday night. I'll be there.

Saints should win, but they'll give us a scare on the way, methinks. I reckon we're on the way up and still have them covered, though.
Agree with your OP here mate apart from we SHOULD go in as favourites. You guys are a good team and I think an even better team at Etihad. **** it was awesome watching you smack the Blues. :D

In regards to our midfield, I think everyone cites there own midfield as deeper than other teams because they only really see there own team play every week. To go with our obvious 3, we also have Foley, Tuck and Grigg all in career best form and then we have Conca and Ellis who are getting better by the week and then even our spuds are playing good footy. It has the potential to be a deep midfield but personally wouldn't be bragging about it to everyone just yet.

Should be a ripper game.

I'm happy if saints fans want to think they will easily beat us, after all a lot of hawks supporters were saying the same thing last week.

For the record, our core midfield is Hayes, Armitage, Steven, Jones, Goddard, Montagna and Dal Santo. Theirs is Martin, Cotchin, Deledio, Jackson, Tuck and Foley. I think we have the upper hand

Seems to remember Deledio playing on BJ, and giving him a horrid time.

Jackson has got under Montagna's skin big time in a number of games, although surely he'd go to Dal? (Monty would have to step up)

Foley is the big one for mine. The 3 guns have been good players for quite a while, but his return (remembering how good he was on the spread) is a huge factor.

Don't think we can claim as many in-form mids (with BJ not getting it in dangerous positions this year, Dal being tagged out of games, Monty not getting much space these days, and CJ often spoiling good work when it goes near his foot).

I have no idea what to expect.

For whatever reason, under Ross we always played open exciting games v Richmond.

Agree Foley is working into some ripper form, plenty of clearances and inside 50's, however Cotchins always seem to end up in the GA column.

Could Farren play on Deledio?

Hopefully Geary is OK as we'll need him v a forward line consisting of bursts from Nahas, King and Edwards.

I reckon Jake king's influence is underestimated.

I thought he was very good when the game was on and he reguarly kicks multiple goals.

Milne has a great record against the tigers!

I reckon Jake king's influence is underestimated.

I thought he was very good when the game was on and he reguarly kicks multiple goals.

Milne has a great record against the tigers!

Milne is the danger man for me, if he gets off the leash and kicks 4+ the saints will win. We've never had Morris previously so if he can lock him down it will go a long way to deciding the result.

Preview Round 10: St Kilda vs Richmond