Review Round 11, 2018 - North Melbourne vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against North?

Out: Cameron, McCluggage, Lester
In: Cox, Mayes, CBeams
Agreed but I think Bell needs to be in mix. Can’t work out why Robertson seems to be first pick each week. He’s small bodied, slow, makes poor decisions and in most cases his disposals result in turnovers to the opposition. I’d have Eagles or Mayes any day.

I left at 3Q time of the Collingwood game in 2016. My pies supporting mate was there, drunk and heckling to no end. My partner was on her way home and offered me a lift. It was a dark day indeed.

I have never left a game before the final siren no matter how much of a flogging we were getting, I'll stay and clap them off if they win and if I'm happy with the performance after a loss.
Good for you. I have sat through more thrashings than some people have had hot dinners, but sometimes when there are better things I could be doing, I will leave. I also have no problem walking out on a film, band or play that is proving to be disappointing. I get the sense that some are trying to abracadabra a game that was over at 1/4 time and which we lost by 54 points as some noble loss. We got handed our arses today, pure and simple. People will vote with their feet when this sort of stuff gets dished up.

Fair enough, I have more than enough spare time on my hands (retired) to get stuff done that I need to get done. The Lions and their fortunes are a very big part of my life, behind the kids and grand kids of course.

Are we all on the same page with regards to Lester? No more wasting development time that could be used on another young player? I was a Lester defender up until late last year but his apprenticeship was over a long time ago and he offers absolutely nothing.
If the club values his leadership. Use it to teach the young kids in the 2's.

I understand the criticism of Robertson’s disposals and skills generally, but I thought he was very good in the last half (he was poor in the first half but wasn’t Robinson Crusoe). Gave him a vote (which might be my first for him) - it was hard to find 5 players deserving...

Robbo’s report looked maybe fine-worthy but not much else from what I saw and Higgins got straight back up.
Happened right in front of us, Robbo hit him on the arm/shoulder and Higgins stayed down like he had been shot. Robbo even had a go at him for faking before Higgins miraculous jumped up to remonstrate. Shouldn't even be a fine.

A bit of talk about how bad NRobbo was today and how he doesn’t offer anything to our team. Watching the game live and not posting on big footy, meaning I was watching the game, I thought he was ok.

On the train ride home, I open Big Footy to read the game day thread ( I find it hard to watch a game and post at the same time, you miss a lot) I think to myself, was I at this game? I then head to the AFL website to see NRobbo stats to confirm my initial thoughts.

22 possessions @ 77% DE
5 Turnovers, 4 Intercept possessions, negate each other? Maybe not, maybe so. 5 turnovers can result in opposition goals, to negate this he had 5 score involvements.

My initial feelings about his game was spot on, He was ok maybe even a little better than ok considering the Kangaroos ball movement.

As an experienced player Daniel Rich needs to do more. Can’t remember the last time he kicked one of those 40-50 metre bullets. It used to be his trademark and made up for his lack of disposals. Now he struggles to avoid a turnover when kicking out. His pressure and tackiling are below what he is capable of. Doesn’t seem to have a leadership presence on the ground. Reckon he’s cruising....or am I being harsh?

Poor Bobinson. Broke his toe in the first quarter. Added another concussion to the tally.

How’s Higgins the little bitch. Mitch said he couldn’t believe it. Higgins apparently said to him ‘enjoy your 3 weeks off’

What a sack.

Shit, how long does the toe put him out for? We need him.

A bit of talk about how bad NRobbo was today and how he doesn’t offer anything to our team. Watching the game live and not posting on big footy, meaning I was watching the game, I thought he was ok.

On the train ride home, I open Big Footy to read the game day thread ( I find it hard to watch a game and post at the same time, you miss a lot) I think to myself, was I at this game? I then head to the AFL website to see NRobbo stats to confirm my initial thoughts.

22 possessions @ 77% DE
5 Turnovers, 4 Intercept possessions, negate each other? Maybe not, maybe so. 5 turnovers can result in opposition goals, to negate this he had 5 score involvements.

My initial feelings about his game was spot on, He was ok maybe even a little better than ok considering the Kangaroos ball movement.

Turnovers generally came under a bit of pressure. A couple of intercepts were important to stop North marking inside 50. I thought NRobbo was OK, not his best game, not his worst. It was pretty tough as a defender for much of the time today. The midfield was being caned and the ball was coming in very quickly. I actually thought our defence could hold their heads high because there was a lot coming at them from centre clearances and turnovers further up the field. That quick F50 entry is the worst to have to deal with.

It seems with regard to some players, people just see what they want to see and it is pretty hard to convince them otherwise. Everyone entitled to their opinion.

Sure second half was good,they fought it out with one on the bench - credit for that but I can assure you North were in second gear in the last qtr. The problem is we don't run hard enough when it counts. Teams kick away from us and then have the luxury of watching us bust a gut to get back into the game and then they just up the ante again.

Our defensive running was appalling again today - I lost count the amount of times we lost a clearance and North had any where from 3-6 players streaming through the middle or the wings waiting for the ball and we had not one player go with them. Not one!

North were exceptional today at having players in the right position for every loose ball or 50-50 contest - they're well coached. People on here scoffed at Brad Scott when he got thrown up as potential coach after Leppa but the guy has done an exceptional job with the list he has. Fagan will be good for us I'm bullish on that but if he should take a good look at how North set up today - every player knew where to be and what was the next link in the chain.

Zac Bailey and Cam Rayner were the obvious positives today. Both never stopped trying - Bailey was on the few in the first half who cracked in every contest.

Andrews and Gardiner were excellent again and it's a scary thought what North could have scored today if not for those two.

Lester on Wood was a terrible decision that lasted 5-10 mins. Rich I don't know what to say about him - he just makes bad decisions to often and shirks far to many important contests.

The Essendon game is very winnable but I don't like the fact we had 3 players injured today and our reserves have lost two on the trot, we are limping to the bye and I fear we might have been better served playing the Bombers after the bye.

Last of all the report of Mitch Robinson should be thrown out first thing Monday - in fact Higgins should be fined for staging - holds his jaw like he copped a big whack and then as soon as Robbo is reported he bounces up and chases him and wants to engage in a fight. Knowing our luck he will get 3 weeks.

22 possessions @ 77% DE

He had 8-9 poossies to half way through the third I believe? I think or at least it felt like all his turn overs just about led to goals. He was terrible today, he just got cheap connecting kicks once the game opened up. We will never be a good team if he is best 22. But like Lester - we will make excuse after excuse for him, about his toughness and running capacity until he gets to 90 odd games and he can't be excused anymore and he drops off the list. Sorry, I know I'm being tough on him but he played 2 good games last year, everyone lost their mind and he has been living off those games ever since.

As an experienced player Daniel Rich needs to do more. Can’t remember the last time he kicked one of those 40-50 metre bullets. It used to be his trademark and made up for his lack of disposals. Now he struggles to avoid a turnover when kicking out. His pressure and tackiling are below what he is capable of. Doesn’t seem to have a leadership presence on the ground. Reckon he’s cruising....or am I being harsh?

Looked like he was in one of his signature malaises today.

Poor Bobinson. Broke his toe in the first quarter. Added another concussion to the tally.

How’s Higgins the little bitch. Mitch said he couldn’t believe it. Higgins apparently said to him ‘enjoy your 3 weeks off’

What a sack.

Higgins is a moron. Feel for Mitch. He's a tough bastard.

I agree......
He had 8-9 poossies to half way through the third I believe? I think or at least it felt like all his turn overs just about led to goals. He was terrible today, he just got cheap connecting kicks once the game opened up. We will never be a good team if he is best 22. But like Lester - we will make excuse after excuse for him, about his toughness and running capacity until he gets to 90 odd games and he can't be excused anymore and he drops off the list. Sorry, I know I'm being tough on him but he played 2 good games last year, everyone lost their mind and he has been living off those games ever since.
I agree completely....Rohan Bewick being a case in point.

Our defensive running was appalling again today - I lost count the amount of times we lost a clearance and North had any where from 3-6 players streaming through the middle or the wings waiting for the ball and we had not one player go with them. Not one!
I wonder how much of this is stoppage setup though. First time I've seen a game live for years, and the number of times that North got a clearance and with one handball had a player loose and no pressure on them, especially in the first half, was insane. It was already too late for defensive running to be effective, the defenders up the field had to come up to make a play which just perpetuated the loose man.

Review Round 11, 2018 - North Melbourne vs. Brisbane Lions