- Oct 18, 2011
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- St Kilda, Ocean Grove Collendina Cobras
Player wise they are not really short on anything. Board and coaching wise - maybe not so hot!!!They are not really short on tall forwards.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Player wise they are not really short on anything. Board and coaching wise - maybe not so hot!!!They are not really short on tall forwards.
Impressive analysisSo because I am crazy I just rewatched every centre bounce in the game that Seb Ross was part of. Theres this concept in football of designated attackers and defenders in a contest. A1, A2 etc... the point of that is to have designated attackers of the ball in contests so that you dont get 3+ mids piling on the ball and losing easy possession if the opposition gets a handball to an outside player.
The ball in almost every bounce is tapped away from Ross, this means that his role is to not contest the ball now but to "roam" and check his opponent.
The couple of times it actually comes his way he himself makes the clearance and one other time he fumbles a hot handpass. There was only two times I saw his direct opponent who was much faster come off him, one was a run through clearance and the other simply become part of the next stoppage.
I didnt watch all the general play he was in as thats near impossible and im not claiming he had a genuinely good game with only 12 disposals but he was very far from being a liability as you claim and I question how closely you paid attention to what was going on considering you said he had zero centre influence when he irrefutably had two clean clearances personally.
He plays more like a tall than a medium forward. Marking and leading a strength but I wouldn’t suggest his defensive pressure is close to high enough, his ground level work is okay but much better aerially.Yes Membrey is an absolute giant at 188cm.
I am actually looking forward to his game this week as with two true key position forwards at last in the same 22 as him, he can just revert to playing as a flanker, rather than having to try an fill in as a key forward which he is not just because we have lacked more than one key forward.
So because I am crazy I just rewatched every centre bounce in the game that Seb Ross was part of. Theres this concept in football of designated attackers and defenders in a contest. A1, A2 etc... the point of that is to have designated attackers of the ball in contests so that you dont get 3+ mids piling on the ball and losing easy possession if the opposition gets a handball to an outside player.
The ball in almost every bounce is tapped away from Ross, this means that his role is to not contest the ball now but to "roam" and check his opponent.
The couple of times it actually comes his way he himself makes the clearance and one other time he fumbles a hot handpass. There was only two times I saw his direct opponent who was much faster come off him, one was a run through clearance and the other simply become part of the next stoppage.
I didnt watch all the general play he was in as thats near impossible and im not claiming he had a genuinely good game with only 12 disposals but he was very far from being a liability as you claim and I question how closely you paid attention to what was going on considering you said he had zero centre influence when he irrefutably had two clean clearances personally.
A lot of it was genuinely 3- 4 meter taps away from his direct position. I would presume that his specific role within the centre bounces was the outside sweeper rather then direct contesting like Steele and Crouch usually do.That's what I was probably imagining. If he was just standing there doing nothing I doubt he would have been anywhere near the midfield. Cuddly Ross isn't Idiot Ross. A lot of their midfielders had lower than average stats which means we must have held our own somehow.
So because I am crazy I just rewatched every centre bounce in the game that Seb Ross was part of. Theres this concept in football of designated attackers and defenders in a contest. A1, A2 etc... the point of that is to have designated attackers of the ball in contests so that you dont get 3+ mids piling on the ball and losing easy possession if the opposition gets a handball to an outside player.
A lot of it was genuinely 3- 4 meter taps away from his direct position. I would presume that his specific role within the centre bounces was the outside sweeper rather then direct contesting like Steele and Crouch usually do.
Again, I dont think he had a good game at all really but he was more "ineffective" in the majority of the game rather then detrimental.
Ergggh gonna have to re re watch to form a proper rebuttal good on you for re watching haha
But if his role as you say was to be a defensive mid… it was a huge fail. He had two tackles (both pile ons) so don’t really count.
He was beaten by his man (who he was supposed to be ‘checking’) 90+ % of the time (his opponent was also generally the worst/least exp of the three oppo mids)
He also did nothing to help his attackers at any point except stand off the contest and roam around, he did not participate in ANY link up play- (aside from the 1 effective chip pass I mentioned)
Two centre clearances (which I did miss) is zero influence if that’s the only thing you can hang your hat on as 200+ game duel b n f winner playing pure mid with 17 cbas..
He also did not get a single stat in the last quarter when the game needed to be won. Only 1 CBA in the last and we got on top..
I think I will stand by my view that he was a liability.
But my major point was that if this is what is acceptable, what can’t we get games into a younger mid who would comfortably be able to outperform seb? Bytel could do the defensive mid role surely. Windhager we know can be a really effective defensive midfielder if that’s what we want with Steele and crouch our attackers.
Cordy goes all right against the gorillas, doesn't he? I thought that's why we picked him up?Both pretty underrated players for us.
Surprised a Hampton Rover is this educated!So because I am crazy I just rewatched every centre bounce in the game that Seb Ross was part of. Theres this concept in football of designated attackers and defenders in a contest. A1, A2 etc... the point of that is to have designated attackers of the ball in contests so that you dont get 3+ mids piling on the ball and losing easy possession if the opposition gets a handball to an outside player.
Players and coaches I reckon..................(I'll see myself out!!)Anyone get to open training today?
Nah, didn't you hear, everyone is so confident they didn't bother training today. Save it for after the bye.Players and coaches I reckon..................(I'll see myself out!!)
EnsconcedHi all. Not sure where to post so apologies if there's somewhere more appropriate.
Just after your thoughts on Caminiti - is he likely to hold his spot through the rest of the year, or are there players coming back from injury that will overtake him?
Will send you a DM, thanks legend!
Hey Bro - If you are still looking I have a couple of AFL members tix -level one bay 9.All good thanks anyway
Hoping that we plunk Membrey at full forward, we need his hands and his set shot kicking but not his disposal / decision making when ~70m from home.
Would love to see him keep a defender deep, do some blocking and jostling and let King and Hammer get on leads right near the edge of the 50, King has the distance covered no probs.
Just listened to RTB's presser, damn he's such a gem. He's right up there for my top dinner party guests, along with Gandhi and gringo2011
Just make sure you’re well prepared in case gringo2011 brings along his entire family and all of his opposition supporting mates
I'm feeling sorry for you if you think that having family and friends is hard to fathom. I guess I'm on an internet forum so probably pretty fair. Most of us are 50 year old virgins living in a caravan behind our mum's house, beating-off in-between posts about footy and trips to Centrelink.
Just make sure you’re well prepared in case gringo2011 brings along his entire family and all of his opposition supporting mates
Don’t worryIt's BYO everything, though. Times are tough