Autopsy Round 12, 2024: West Coast v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium - Saturday 1st June, 4.35pm AEST

Sincs off HB combines really well with Nas. We seem to get better entries when that happens.
Result would have been closer if Waterman and Kelly played.
Reid will work through his tag all young talented players have to get used to the attention. His tackle on Wilson and free on Windy are what sort of reaction you would expect....he will learn and grow. Watch out next time.

Wood to full forward was too mobile for McGovern and broke up their backline structure.

We have made Barrass Sicily and a few others stars by our awful forward entries and them looking like Glen Jakovich and Bruce Doull combined.

Impressed with Dow ability to get the ball in a contest and go POD. Clarke adds polish at the contest which we have sorely missed.

We look so much slicker in fwd half with Henry. All of a sudden these guys give us speed on the ball....which surprise surprise see us kick 12 goals in a slugfest.

Not sure how much more we can get from Ross and Membrey that Garcia and Camaniti cannot provide maybe thats a decision for end of year.

Crouch Sharman and maybe Garcia in the team next week should strengthen us rather than diminish us.

GCS will be a good test back on our deck.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Like the North game I try not to take too much out of a win against a team like that when they’re missing key players, but I guess a win over there is always a good effort.

I’m staggered that Windy as a mid was one of the few shining lights this season and Ross tried to take that away too. Second half plays where he should and plays well, shock horror.

Sinclair at HB is our whole offense. His combination with Nas is the only thing that gives us any chance of scoring. Our poor patch in the middle of last season coincided with Sinclair in the middle. He’s a good mid but with this poor offensive system he’s too important at HB. Nas could be freakish but we need both of them there.

Any more Liam Henry’s out there? We need another two of him. How in gods name did we luck into him.

Its not like its a negative on a kid playing his 10th game.
He will be better for it needs to get mentally stronger
Windy destroyed him

his last 2 years of junior footy he was such a huge unit he could shove kids out of his way. I think he's frustrated that what used to be a huge advantage doesn't always work now. He's still one of the strongest one on one kids I've ever seen but he's playing against men now.

He's going to have to learn to work through tags with effort rather than strength if he wants to be the best in the AFL type that is his ceiling.

Sincs off HB combines really well with Nas. We seem to get better entries when that happens.
Result would have been closer if Waterman and Kelly played.
Reid will work through his tag all young talented players have to get used to the attention. His tackle on Wilson and free on Windy are what sort of reaction you would expect....he will learn and grow. Watch out next time.

Wood to full forward was too mobile for McGovern and broke up their backline structure.

We have made Barrass Sicily and a few others stars by our awful forward entries and them looking like Glen Jakovich and Bruce Doull combined.

Impressed with Dow ability to get the ball in a contest and go POD. Clarke adds polish at the contest which we have sorely missed.

We look so much slicker in fwd half with Henry. All of a sudden these guys give us speed on the ball....which surprise surprise see us kick 12 goals in a slugfest.

Not sure how much more we can get from Ross and Membrey that Garcia and Camaniti cannot provide maybe thats a decision for end of year.

Crouch Sharman and maybe Garcia in the team next week should strengthen us rather than diminish us.

GCS will be a good test back on our deck.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Dow getting up to speed and Clark’s inclusion made us look a lot better through the midfield. Hopefully Crouch will be added soon.
It looked like NAS was getting the ball further up the ground. Not sure if it was a positional move but it looked good having him kick the ball inside 50.

Windy as a mid is our future. I say leave him there.

It worked out okay for Jack Steele. He was shit early on. He'd always seem to be where the ball wasn't when let off tagging duties. Learnt heaps from chasing the best players around.

Dunno, I reckon smashing them by 50 would have been papering over cracks.

I think this win gives us a pretty realistic indication of where we are at - a small step above the absolute bottom rung, but a fair way off the rest.

This is a better win than it looks. They beat Melbourne over there recently, ran Essendon close etc. Champion data said that they are a top 4 side at home and uncompetitive away. Their core of best players won a flag not that long ago and the crowd and umpiring over there add a huge impediment.

That said is there any better Saints supporter group for pure sound and energy than the WA Saints fans. There might not be a huge amount of them but every telecast they sound like there are 30,000 there.

Send Windy to the oppo best mid every single effing week from here on. Just gets it done.

Our skill errors (albeit on a choppy looking surface today?) are eye-gouge worthy but there was some better looking footy in there today

Windy taking out their best clearance player gave ours a chance. Steele and Dow both improved massively once Reid was locked out.

It worked out okay for Jack Steele. He was shit early on. He'd always seem to be where the ball wasn't when let off tagging duties. Learnt heaps from chasing the best players around.
He’s been averaging 20 touches and 10 contested without tagging though. Massive head scratcher to mess with one of the few things that was working.

This is a better win than it looks. They beat Melbourne over there recently, ran Essendon close etc. Champion data said that they are a top 4 side at home and uncompetitive away. Their core of best players won a flag not that long ago and the crowd and umpiring over there add a huge impediment.

That said is there any better Saints supporter group for pure sound and energy than the WA Saints fans. There might not be a huge amount of them but every telecast they sound like there are 30,000 there.
I agree with the 2nd paragraph - really impressed with the WA Saints fans who made it sound like it was our home game. Much respect!

As I said, a solid win against a bottom 3 team, and indicative of where we are at right now without papering over cracks.

Ok lets try this again.

You want facts?

Beat Melbourne by 6 goals
Lost to Essendon by 1 goal
Beat Freo by 6 goals
Beat Richmond by 7 goals

My opinion is that WCE is much tougher at their home than away. In my opinion they are not a "bottom 3" team if you play them on their home deck.

Clark was very good.

The forgotten man. Like a new recruit.

He's absolutely unique. He's going to be a frustrating player always IMO but he's got something intangible. He's as fashionable as his hairstyle but good stuff happens when he touches it.

He looks like he's stuffing things up but somehow the ball dribbles through traffic out the back or rolls along instead of bouncing. It looks like he's a slow, poorly skilled half arsed footballer but good stuff seems to happen around him that works.

If he can stay on the park he's got the cult hero role sewn up. Especially if he goes bald on top and keeps the long back and sides. That would be sweet. The sex offender science teacher look is vastly underrated.

Clark just has some tangibles you cant teach.

His ability to weave through traffic and get contested ball.

If it wasn't already evident he clearly made our midfield better
It wasn't just his clearance work, but the contest he made at stoppages. The ball wasn't easily getting popped out the back like against Freo to the oppo mids setup behind the ruck contest.
Freo destroyed us last week because we couldn't keep the ball inside.
Apart from his actual clearances, Clark kept the ball a contest resulting in repeated stoppages.
This is why it became a stoppage game in the first half. Reid was getting multiple clearances, Clark was contesting it hard to stop him
Not a coincidence once Windy shut down Reid and he didn't get another clearance the game opened up.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

It wasn't just his clearance work, but the contest he made at stoppages. The ball wasn't easily getting popped out the back like against Freo to the oppo mids setup behind the ruck contest.
Freo destroyed us last week because we couldn't keep the ball inside.
Apart from his actual clearances, Clark kept the ball a contest resulting in repeated stoppages.
This is why it became a stoppage game in the first half. Reid was getting multiple clearances, Clark was contesting it hard to stop him
Not a coincidence once Windy shut down Reid and he didn't get another clearance the game opened up.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
This is what I found hard to convey.
Its like hand fighting in the contest keeping the ball in to stop other teams from getting clearances he is elite at that

Well if I knew we were going to play like they did in the 2nd half I wouldn't have been so p***ed off by the 1st half.

Inside 50 was appalling and I simply can't get my head around how and why they persist with the long kick to a contest.

Anyhow great performances from Windhager, Dow and Henry. Wood was superb.

PS - nothing against Reid but if the AFL is actually serious about head injury/concussions it is a perfect example of where "the potential to cause injury" must be taken into account.

It was pure luck that Wilson didn't end up out cold and facing a lengthy stint on the side lines - must be 2 weeks min.

He’s been averaging 20 touches and 10 contested without tagging though. Massive head scratcher to mess with one of the few things that was working.

Which are good numbers but not outstanding. He's still a developing player and he won us the match yesterday. Think he's going okay either way.

I genuinely don’t understand what you are arguing with.

That WCE are a tougher opponent at home than away and so you rate how we went against that and not a 100 point loss away.
Everything I said was factual other than my belief that it is indicative of where we are at right now - a 12-16 team.

Perhaps re-read your post that I replied to? Rather than posts that you wrote that I did not reply to.

What’s your opinion? Was it a great win? Has it shown that we’re a top 8 quality side again?
Well none of that was in the post I replied too.

However there were some positive signs.

Ball movement improved as the game went on. Disposed improved which to me is a sign of confidence returning.
Dow started to show why we gave hi another chance.
Clark after so long out was impressive.
Sincs should be able to return to HBF fulltime which is where IMO he plays his best football, and where he delivers maximum advantage to us.

Perhaps it can be a catalyst for more improvement, but it’s going to take more than a 14 point win over the Eagles (yes, even at home) to convince me that we have turned things around.

Last we over-achieved. This year we are under-achieving for a number of reasons. Our list needs to improvement and they stated last year we would bring in a lot of youth. That takes time.

Sorry if you thought we were a lock for the finals this year. I personally thought that we may sneak in again if everything went right (It hasn't), and that we would not if it did not.

He's absolutely unique. He's going to be a frustrating player always IMO but he's got something intangible. He's as fashionable as his hairstyle but good stuff happens when he touches it.

He looks like he's stuffing things up but somehow the ball dribbles through traffic out the back or rolls along instead of bouncing. It looks like he's a slow, poorly skilled half arsed footballer but good stuff seems to happen around him that works.

If he can stay on the park he's got the cult hero role sewn up. Especially if he goes bald on top and keeps the long back and sides. That would be sweet. The sex offender science teacher look is vastly underrated.
Too much to nickname him Chester? 😀

I'm not talking about him tagging mate. I'm saying I'd rather see him in the midfield than playing across half back. More than happy to see him in the midfield doing a tagging role.

One thing I've noticed about Steele this year, particularly yesterday is he looks like s**t on game day. By that I mean his face in the closeups pre-game; last night it looked like he'd barely slept the last couple of days, it's that dark shading around the eyes that gives it away. It must be affecting performance.

Bit of a digression, but one player I really noticed this about is / was Weideman; he basically always has that same haven't-slept-a-wink look but much worse, and wonder how many players who don't make it (and get called spuds and whatnot) just get way too anxious the night before the same and can just never get themselves properly right.

I think the weight of the captaincy needs to come off him and tbh the only leadership group member suitable is Wilkie.

One thing I've noticed about Steele this year, particularly yesterday is he looks like s**t on game day. By that I mean his face in the closeups pre-game; last night it looked like he'd barely slept the last couple of days, it's that dark shading around the eyes that gives it away. It must be affecting performance.

Bit of a digression, but one player I really noticed this about is / was Weideman; he basically always has that same haven't-slept-a-wink look but much worse, and wonder how many players who don't make it (and get called spuds and whatnot) just get way too anxious the night before the same and can just never get themselves properly right.

I think the weight of the captaincy needs to come off him and tbh the only leadership group member suitable is Wilkie.
Steele was tagged by Sheed yesterday. Played well last half.

Steele looks like he isn't enjoying footy right now. He was playing brilliant footy early in the year. Seemed to hurt a knee and has been labouring since. I wouldn't be surprised if Lyon is riding him hard. He seems like his spirit is broken.

Hands down the funniest post here in months. Projectile-spat my dessert out laughing at the science teacher bit, spraying my kitchen in saliva and black forest gateau.

Co captaincy could be the way to go, Wilkie and Marshall. Either Steele and Sincs as VCs. I just worry about having a sole captain with the level of pressure our captain carries. That said, Wilkie keeps things pretty even keeled.

Always good to win. West Coast have been tough to beat over there this year so hopefully that builds some confidence in the group.

- Windy to Reid swung the game. Starting him at half back was questionable. He's clearly a mid and at this point in his career, seems to be better when we give him a job to focus on. I hope we make this a regularly thing rather than letting an opposition mid dominant us for a half before putting attention to them.

- Outstanding performance from Wood. Stood up when we needed someone to kick goals.

- Steele's response after his dismal first quarter was fantastic. 15 tackles in 3 quarter is incredible. His version of leadership and showing the way for the rest of the boys.

- Really happy with Clark's return - 12 tackles and 5 clearances. Will also be better for the run. Had a few very important touches in the last quarter that were vital in us winning. Also Dow seems to be getting better each week - 9 clearances is exactly why we recruited him. Another one who will only get better the more he plays with this group.

Plenty of work to do but good to see us fight it out and hopefully we can build on this for the rest of the season.

I think we saw how losing wood and Henry after the magpies game really impacted our run and dash.

What I really loved about Dow’s 2nd half was not only did he win the ball but he gave it off to a player that could then provide a more controlled f50 entry.

For the last 6 weeks we have largely just thrown it on the boot out of the centre which has become a turn over.

Autopsy Round 12, 2024: West Coast v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium - Saturday 1st June, 4.35pm AEST