2nds Round 12 - Collingwood vs Port Melbourne at Victoria Park(Saturday) 1pm

Thanks to all for these updates, as I couldn't make it to Vic Park today. Sounds like another great win for the Pies, and seriously, bringing Dale Tapping to the club was a master stroke. Hope we can hang onto him at Pie land. The kids we drafted this year are getting better and better, which is of course expected, but our upside is enormous. Can someone please give me an update on how Keeffe and Yags went?

Galea had the better of Keeffe, Keeffe hasn't got back his agility yet as before his knee injury he was easily able to keep up with the medium agile forwards

Umps are crucifying us.

If you don't think umpires have personal bias than think again. Number 5 paid some terrible decisions all against us especially in the 3rd. So, being at a VFL game and being able to walk onto the ground during quarters I walked past the umpire and said, 'some of those decisions on the wing were a disgrace number 5'. To be able to vent on a personal level at an umpire was a fantastic feeling i've got to say. So this umpire starts waving his hand, get this guy out security. But the reality was I was already walking over to the other end so why get security involved? I really should have passively, walked back to the umpire and asked him if there was a rule or law where supporters can't question disgraceful and now quite apparently bias umpiring.

Anyways, back to the game and thoughts on some players.

Grundy showed a bit.
Witts was very good in the ruck.
Broomhead was fantastic and has a bit of Jimmy Bartel about him.
Paine should get a gig in the seniors soon like the look of him.
Mooney was good from half forward runs chases and tackles hard.
Krak was good, competitive, didn't think he stood out though
Young didn't stand out for mine, but some of those raking left foot kicks will be damaging in the seniors.
Richmond OK but won't make it.
Gault doesn't look like he'll make it. Looks like he's been told that already.
Keefe was good in defence and it looks great having a 2 metre KPD with elite disposal, that's going to be real damaging in the future.

Can't think if anyone else, I didn't even know Ramsay was playing or which number he was but the reports are he did well too.

Once people at the game start getting home I'd love to hear their thoughts on Young's game.

Most effective player on the ground, his passing is sublime, like nothing I've seen at Collingwood in a long time. I'd give him BOG out of our listed players, considering he pulls up ok he will play against Carlton hopefully, I'd make him the sub first game back off 5 days.

Galea had the better of Keeffe, Keeffe hasn't got back his agility yet as before his knee injury he was easily able to keep up with the medium agile forwards

I disagree Keeffe (sp? people have spelt his name so many ways im confused and google is hard;):oops: ) has always had a very large turning circle i remember it being something I was critical of pre knee injury.

He is good at the straight line stuff but gets burnt when forwards double back on him.

Mooneys run down in the middle of the ground made me jiZz in my pants. Made up about 35m after the bloke had run 10m. Was immense.

Most effective player on the ground, his passing is sublime, like nothing I've seen at Collingwood in a long time. I'd give him BOG out of our listed players, considering he pulls up ok he will play against Carlton hopefully, I'd make him the sub first game back off 5 days.
That's bloody good to hear.:)

A short report, obviously something else is happening soon;

7 - Krakouer; Had a non existent first half, but was one of, if not the best player on the ground in the second half, not enough to get a senior game though IMO.
14 - Young; Ready to play seniors, played all 4 quarters and his disposal was sublime. One piece of play off half back was great, marked in a contest, kicked it 60 to a player with 2 Port players on him ([in point) which lead to a goal. He's ready.
15 - Witts; Was good in the ruck but we got killed in the clearances, so don't know what that really means. Just an ok game from him.
23 - Keeffe; Still 1-2 games away from senior selection, good defensively but lacking touch a little.
29 - Broomhead; Went missing early but finished the game strongly, one great run down and tackle late saved the game, is developing well.
30 - Richmond; Looks a find this kid, led out well and took a few strong marks, and kicked a few goals. Is a long term project though
31 - Ramsay; First time I've seen him and I like him, quick (super), skillful (great short passing) and not afraid to throw his slight frame in, has a big future.
33 - Paine; Frustrating game, and a frustrating player, took some good marks on a lead outside 50 but failed to really impact the game. His defensive efforts were better I thought. Still a young player.
35 - Grundy; I shivered with delight at two moments today, one was a one on one inside 50 where he pushed his opponent over, grabbed the ball, ran 30 metres and goaled. The other was a tap tp Hellier inside 50 late to seal the game, this kid is worth every cent we spent to get him (trades)
38 - Yagmoor; Did ok, nothing great though.
43 - Oxley; Started on the wing, didn't do much but when moved down back got into the game.
44 - Gault; Looked so much better up forward, led well and did some nice things.
48 - Mooney; Used his pace well at times but is also frustrating at times, great goal over the back and a great run down late, is developing well still.

Might have missed a few, happy with the win, now for the Port double.

Id say Mooney would give him a run for that honour. Fair dinkum that boy has got talent. Watched him closely today and put on so much pressure, is so fast and rarely wastes a disposal. Wouldnt be against giving him a run with role off a half forward flank in the seniors against guys like Gibbs who use the ball well and like to get a free run.

Young was excellent though.. brilliant disposal by foot. Honestly thought going forward he tried to do the team thing and centre it once too often when in space. He has that big left cannon and id like to see him blast away at goal when hes on the run every time.

Krak was yet again a cut above.. so smart with the ball in hand. Wasted a few touches today but he's class in the middle of he ground and has no fitness issues than i can see. Will make it back into the side.

Grundy was solid again in te ruck and started to get his hand to the ball more often. You can see the massive differences in athleticism between Witts and Grundy.. where Witts seems to amble along and provide limited pressure, the G train just buzzs around the contest and looks to lay the tackle or get forward of the ball. Witts however looks great using the ball by hand, very composed and rarely misses a target. Good news for our ruck division all round.

The utility players im not too certain about however. Gault will get a pass from me as he played up forward for the first time that i can recall, but will seriously need to improve his work in the contest is he wants to keep his spot. Richmond on the other hand looks a little lost out there.. doesnt really provide a contest up front or in the air and isnt a threat up forward. He's still young but he'd need to show slight improvement over the season. Paine didnt do a lot to impress me this week either.. gotta get back to what he was doing about a month ago.

Ben Broomhead was pretty good i thought. Slightly built but boy does he like laying a tackle! uses the ball really well and shouldve slotted one or two i thought.. he's improving well.

First time i'd seen Ramsay in the flesh and i was really really impressed. He has a good footy brain, looks composed with the ball in hand and has a really nice little burst of speed. Great to see the Ram out there

Great win overall

Keeffe was beaten by Galea today, showed some good signs but his opponent (who to be fair is one of the best VFL players) beat him. Keeffe also spent tonnes of time on the bench, doesn't have great fitness yet.

Yagmoor was very poor, had virtually no damaging touches and his opponent got lots of the ball.

I didn't know krak was playing early until i saw him standing on the bench, pretty much was unsighted. Credit to him, in the 2nd half he was excellent and redeemed himself.

Paine... I just don't know what to think of Paine, i'm a bit worried about him as he is a very one dimensional player and he doesn't do that position to an exceptional level at the moment. His marking is good without being elite at the moment, he is fairly slow and doesn't offer much around the ground. Needs to lift

Young was really good, plenty of the ball and a few times did some excellent pin point passes to forwards. Used his speed well and had good awareness, ready for an AFL game IMO. Really happy with his game.

Witts was good without being excellent, didn't really stand out in the ruck, took some good marks around the ground.

Grundy had a really exciting game, took a lot of nice marks and was great around the ground. Anyone who doubted him THATSGOLD needs to eat their words because he is already the complete package. Only down side to his game was when he gave away an undisciplined free by just throwing someone to the ground after they got in his face. Needs to control his aggression better, but it's really pleasing he is improving and building every week. For a huge man he glides around the ground like a gazelle

Mooney was close to BoG for mine.. kicked a few goals, applied some terrific chases which resulted in holding the ball and turned the momentum around used the ball really well including a few assists. Developing really nicely, will 100% be a player.

Gault was okay... didn't get much of it but took a few good grabs. Don't think he will make it

Oxley was good without standing out, has great poise.

Richmond did nothing, got 1 goal which was a cheapie out the back. Has been VERY poor the last 2 months.

Ramsay was excellent, i'm surprised by how fast he is, has elite speed and ball use (which seems to be a theme for the 2012 draft). The most pleasing thing is for a skinny lad his attack on the ball carrier was ferocious and with excellent technique, doesn't give away frees and locks the opponent up really well then drives them into the ground fairly.

Broomhead was good all day without doing anything flashy, finds space well, kicked a goal, uses it well. Just a really good solid game, won't be far away from AFL footy.

Credit to that small VFL midfielder guy - furguson or hellier?? number 52 i think... tried really hard all game and was great for us.

Pretty good game to watch... but jeez do those port melbourne supporters ever shut up? Made themselves look like a bunch of flogs with the dumb things they kept shouting out.. to that guy in the sunglasses, no one wants to hear your stupid opinion so stop shouting it o_O.

All in all great day though

A short report, obviously something else is happening soon;

30 - Richmond; Looks a find this kid, led out well and took a few strong marks, and kicked a few goals. Is a long term project though

48 - Mooney; Used his pace well at times but is also frustrating at times, great goal over the back and a great run down late, is developing well still.

Might have missed a few, happy with the win, now for the Port double.

Agree with most of what you said but have to (with all due respect) completely disagree with those 2 you have.

Thought Mooney played a complete game, kicked goals, chased pressured and tackled excellently and got a few great assists.

Richmond on the other hand was just woeful, he only got the one goal where he snuck out the back and luckily we got the turnover and he was free. Did nothing around the ground as well, had 1 or 2 good moments in the ruck. I've jumped off the richmond bandwagon (if i was ever on it), really haven't liked what i've seen from him in the past 2 months

Went down and Watched the game and here are my Thoughts:

• We Won the Game but going by the Scoreboard Port Should of won
  • Grundy was very exciting today. Did well in the Ruck. Took some good Marks. Kicked the Goal of the Day by Pushing his Opponent and Went in to kick the Goal. Tap work to the Goal in last in Pocket was awsome
  • Paine and Yagmoor where Useless
  • Ramsey was very Exciting today. Looks like another Heater or Harry O with his Run and Carry. Has Good Speed and Takes them on, Also a Good Kick
  • Mooney was Very Exciting Kicking a Good Running Goal and Ran down a Few Port Players from Behind
  • Keeffe was very good at FB and Last Qtr was most important player

2nds Round 12 - Collingwood vs Port Melbourne at Victoria Park(Saturday) 1pm