Autopsy Round 13, 2023: Sydney v St.Kilda *PRIDE GAME*

Nice to see us control the centre corridor in the second half.

NWM - Yea we got an AA player of the future in this one.

Owens - He is the contested possession king. I still feel we are only seeing a glimpse of his future best.

Not our best game and Sydney have been disappointing this year yet we got the fundamentals right and etched out a solid win. Hopefully we can build on this and go to another level.

Jack Steele gives Dan Butler best on ground, they love his pressure.

I kept getting warnings from my watch telling me my 'stress levels' were abnormally high. I reckon my heart rate must have got to 240 bpm in that last quarter.

What a brilliant win and a season defining moment for the club. We still have issues in the middle but at least RTB threw the magnets around and addressed it.

Plenty of positives of players finishing off well - NMW, Sinclair, Butler, Crouch, Owens, King, Marshall, Battle, Byrnes, Windhager, Gresham & Wood.

Negatives is Steele although he ran the game out he is no where near fit. He ended up starting on the wing in the last. Seb Ross was poor again, thats a 5 poor games in a row, how much longer does he get? Hopefully Bytel has a big game on the weekend.

Ralph - "Blakey was in a vulnerable position"
Montagna - "How can Blakey be vulnerable, he had the footy in the middle of the football ground"
Exactly right that Cross eyed moron wouldn't have a clue, he is parroting his idiot mate Daisy.
So everyone is in a vulnerable position when in possession.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Ralphy reckons Butler get two weeks.
FMD. Surely not.

They should give 2 weeks straight back as compensation for the embarrassing tackle on Amartey where he had arms free and didn't touch his head on the ground.

Good to see the midfield finally awake from their recent slumbers. Steele willed himself into it in the last, and that's how he needs to play from now on. Crouch in everything, Byrnes still learning, but not afraid to have a go, in fact the young guys did a great job, but I think Caminiti is one tall too many now King is back, and Sharman is probably a better bet as he has more forward sense.
Sinclair was the general out there, and didn't waste a disposal.

Ralph - "Blakey was in a vulnerable position"
Montagna - "How can Blakey be vulnerable, he had the footy in the middle of the football ground"
He had just evaded two players, he couldn't be less vulnerable.

Ralph saying its because Blakey didn't know he was coming, like are players now expected to announce themselves before they arrive at the tackle? Give me a spell.

Mitch Owens.

Mitch Owens the 19 year old.

Mitch Owens the 19 year old who is only just settling into his best position.

Mitch Owens the 19 year old who is only just settling into his best position just had 21 possessions and 2.2, and was the most influential player on the ground. He kicked goals when we needed goals. He was sent back when we needed to settle. He was in the ruck when we needed spark. He was smashing contests when we needed contests smashed.

My god. This kid is going to be so, so amazing.

Regulation tackle by Butler and he’s been getting lots of support from the footy communiTy so I expect common sense will prevail and the stupid report to be overturned.

Congrats again on the gutsy win tonight
Was he actually reported?

All I heard was a free kick

No doubt the AFL will give him his week but I'd be confident in it getting over turned

He's only a good leader when he's playing at A grade level, the rest of the time not which is why I don't think he's the man for the job.

I thought late in that game he absolutely smashed in. If he plays like a leader he's fine. If he hits his shoulder too hard he'll be out for the season and has the same strain that has put Hunter Clark out for 6 weeks. He was out the front of the troops with a bullet wound and a broken arm and ran head first into enemy fire.

Sinclair

32 disposals (2nd in the team)
12 contested possessions (2nd in the team)
7 clearances (1st in the team)
607 metres gained (1st in the team)
4 inside 50s (4th in the team)
6 score involvements (1st in the team)
6 intercept possessions (5th in the team)

Absolute superstar this guy.
He came as a rookie and was best friends with our prized pick 3. If you told us then would would have been the AA in the future we’d be shocked.

Autopsy Round 13, 2023: Sydney v St.Kilda *PRIDE GAME*