Autopsy Round 13, 2024: St.Kilda v Gold Coast: #GrabGate2024

I’m not expecting Ross not to be dour.

But the lack of scoring isn’t because of his coaching.

And as you pointed out above. They are working on and coaching the issue.

We execute poorly. That’s our downfall from scoring more and entering the 8.

Midfield is what is stopping us from being an actual contender for a flag.

Has been for 15 years. When we finally gets mids the rest of the team will be in mobility scooters

I’m not proud of tonight, at all.

I might be the most embarrassed I’ve ever been to support this club at this point.

I actually see the vision and the draft and the path for the longer term but the short term pain, watching that shit, is as tough as I can remember.

Yep, can’t remember a sustained period of such utter unwatchable garbage ever dished up. It’s really bringing others down to our level stuff. Like throwing dirt in an opponents eyes and kicking him in the nads. It’s lacking honour and dignity

I might be the most embarrassed I’ve ever been to support this club at this point.

I actually see the vision and the draft and the path for the longer term but the short term pain, watching that shit, is as tough as I can remember.
Most embarrassed you have ever been supporting?

Get a ****ing grip. There has been many a worse season and time as a supporter.

2000-2002 was utterly ****ing horrific.

The Watters years.

Go to bed mate. You need a lie down.

At the risk of being murdered on this thread - I think our game plan is fine, we just struggle with execution - so many times we had acres of space and found a way to butcher the ball.
I agree. The amount of times we got out in space only to overuse/ make the wrong decision or just completely turn it over was disgraceful.

Were clearly trying to launch and 56 inside 50’s demonstrates that. But when you waste forward entries (partly forwards fault) then the game plan is always gonna look shit.

Tired Sam Puckett GIF
That looks an action replay of a few people in our row there PC.

Realistically should have kicked what, thirteen to fifteen goals tonight.

It really does feel like we are aiming for lower mid table. Defensive setup tonight was tip top.

Dunno. Take the win because it makes my weekend better.

Im no apologist for Max...but he is clearly hampered with shoulder and knee issues atm. Hope he has a good run of it from here on and a big 2025...with 10 extra kilos added.
Actually did some real gut running in the last quarter....can't remember seeing that before....maybe represents a lift in his fitness level finally

I'm frustrated by the low scores as well but all the critics just labelling tonight as 'sh*t Lyon football' are not really on the money.

We had 56 inside 50's. More than both Hawthorn and GWS had individually in what I thought was a great match down in Tassie.

Our issue is not that we are a bunch of defensive campaigners being stifled by Lyon.

Our issue is the we are a good defensive team who has no connection with their forward line. In terms of delivery in there but also how the forwards work together and their work rate.

I nearly fell off the couch when Higgo put a block on for King and he marked on the lead. Not a dig at Higgo but the forwards don't usually work for each other. And quite a few of them are out of form and not working hard enough.

Also, I hope Max King is injured because I showed more intensity watching the game on the couch with pneumonia than what he did during the match. Gold Coast defenders started baulking him when they had the ball because they knew he wouldn't really try to tackle them.

All I want to see is a bit of heart, passion, intensity and a couple of goals a game. Because at the moment it looks like a bloke who doesn't want to be out there.

Sharman in for Membrey. I don’t even know which Membrey we’re getting from match to match, quarter to quarter, contest to contest. The effort, focus and commitment just doesn’t seem there anymore and he’s a shell of himself.

Underrated games for Owens and Caminiti, did a lot right but couldn’t get on the scoresheet.

Defence toiled hard all night, undersized for large parts with King but worked hard. That’s as strong as we’ve looked for some time rebounding from half back in tight.

Not Henry’s best game, needed to be more assertive and harder in the coal face at times.

Quieter game for Wilson and interestingly was one where we really struggled to link and connect with the half forward line.

It won’t show it on the stat sheet, but thought Windy did some intangible and priceless stuff particularly when the game was up for grabs which got us over the line. Chuck Sincs and Nas in there too.

I see the argument for turning over a top 6 pick for Battle (likely or unlikely), but know we’ll struggle without his presence and drive from D50. Wilkie’s too undersized to impose himself like Battle does. If retention becomes an issue we are in for a world of hurt.

And, last but not least, the time is up, we need to start seeing improvement with our efficiency inside 50. Haven’t seen the press conference yet, but this can only remain an unresolved issue for so long.

Delivery too him is undeniably diabolical
I'm sick of this argument.

Yes the delivery is not brilliant at times in general but how often do you see King leading? He just stands deep and points to 20m away to kick it there. It's not like King is leading all over the place and we are kicking it at his feet or over his head.

We had 56 inside 50's. More than both Hawthorn and GWS had individually in what I thought was a great match down in Tassie.

Just because we had a lot of (terrible) entries doesn't mean it's good.

It's like a guy that can serve a tennis ball at 260km/h, but it's a fault 19/20 times.

Edit: I replied before I finished reading your post.

Very good post which I mostly agree with, but i needed to use my tennis analogy somewhere.

I'm frustrated by the low scores as well but all the critics just labelling tonight as 'sh*t Lyon football' are not really on the money.

Our issue is not that we are a bunch of defensive campaigners being stifled by Lyon.

Our issue is the we are a good defensive team who has no connection with their forward line. In terms of delivery in there but also how the forwards work together and their work rate.

I nearly fell off the couch when Higgo put a block on for King and he marked on the lead. Not a dig at Higgo but the forwards don't usually work for each other. And quite a few of them are out of form and not working hard enough.

Also, I hope Max King is injured because I showed more intensity watching the game on the couch with pneumonia than what he did during the match. Gold Coast defenders started baulking him when they had the ball because they knew he wouldn't really try to tackle them.

All I want to see is a bit of heart, passion, intensity and a couple of goals a game. Because at the moment it looks like a bloke who doesn't want to be out there.
Yeah, him watching McAndrew and Collins just walk by him, as he languidly just stood there was elite.
It's okay though...it's been explained to me that Max King doesn't need to make an effort...or try.
He is a "Superstar" no matter what he DOESN'T do.
Jump Running GIF

you know what champ, i took a 3 hour coach ride to melbourne and am on a 3 hour coach ride home.

i loved tonight, the boys won, they got behind each other and played as a team to topple another team that has far more natural skill.

if you're embarrassed by that, im embarrassed about you...

what a horrible bloody outlook you have

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'm sick of this argument.

Yes the delivery is not brilliant at times in general but how often do you see King leading? He just stands deep and points to 20m away to kick it there. It's not like King is leading all over the place and we are kicking it at his feet or over his head.
watched him lead heaps tonight, in the flesh. there was a point in the 3rd quarter where he went on FOUR 50 meter hard leads in a row, and when the ball was turned over he got on his bike to affect a spillage that led to a saints goal.

but lazy, yeah.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Autopsy Round 13, 2024: St.Kilda v Gold Coast: #GrabGate2024