AFL Autopsy Round 14: Essendon defeated by Sydney (1 point)

Was listening to MMM midday rub today. BT mentioned that the ground was watered pre game and there was also a NEAFL curtain raiser on beforehand. Suggested that Sydney being a contested team wanted to nullify our running game.

MMM was also suggesting that the grass was a longer length compared to other grounds.

If the watering of the ground pre-game is true, I wonder if it's normal or acceptable practice. If it's not normal and without good reason, I'd consider it serious interference in the integrity of the match.

Brendan Goddard is going to be a panelist on Footy Classified this Monday night. Chose a good week to go on.

Was listening to MMM midday rub today. BT mentioned that the ground was watered pre game and there was also a NEAFL curtain raiser on beforehand. Suggested that Sydney being a contested team wanted to nullify our running game.

MMM was also suggesting that the grass was a longer length compared to other grounds.

Dew is dew, not much can be done about it.

After watching the last two minutes of last nights game again on afl website it was pretty clear the boys were just not desperate enough. So many crucial situations we just seemed to wanna sit back and wait. I hope this loss doesn't come back to bite us come finals.

They'll learn a lot from it I think. They just have too keep backing the game plan. It's what got them into a winning position in the first place. Going away from the cost them the game.

If the watering of the ground ore-game is true, I wonder if it's normal or acceptable practice. If it's not normal and without good reason, I'd consider it serious interference in the integrity of the match.
We lost the game. Sprinkler or not, that's gamesmanship. We all love the windsock story because it makes Sheeds clever. We simply lost what we should have won.

Well ffs if you're that concerned you give him another week off. Do you think Dees play Oliver in VFL after after two weeks off? He's a clear beat 22.

Who cares what Melbourne do. We pay our high performance team a shitload to micro manage this shit. If they say yes to giving him an extra day recovery and monitoring him through an easier hit out via the VFL then that's the prudent choice to make.

We lost the game. Sprinkler or not, that's gamesmanship. We all love the windsock story because it makes Sheeds clever. We simply lost what we should have won.

Sorry, I don't know the windsock story. If you're trying to say that the alleged sprinklering of water on the ground to manipulate the surface to Essendon's detriment is okay (that is, "gamesmanship"), I'll disagree with you.

I'm not making excuses for the loss; I'm simply remarking on the morality of a hypothetical.

I am hurting over this loss. The fact it was my yearly interstate trip with a lot of my good Essendon mates and to lose like that is like a nightmare. The opposition fans had already left in droves. Despite the lack of significance it even hurts more than the 96 prelim (which we saw the replay of that day at a pub in Sydney), probably because in 96 I wasn't in Sydney on a trip with all my Essendon mates. Bizarre how similar the last quarter was. I guess the problem is we are still stuck in Sydney This loss will always haunt me.

I'm kind of okay with the loss tonight. The young players need an experience like that so they know the effort that's required next time.

I see what you mean. Obviously, winning is preferable, but if we have to lose, perhaps a brutal one like that is the best possible lesson.

It's got me excited for the rest of the season. Definitely building something.

I wanted to give it a day or so, given the high emotions of the evening and the drama of the outcome.

Firstly, I want to say it was a ripper of a contest. We missed a lot of chances, but you took plenty of yours, so that's footy.

Secondly, you played an aggressive, corridor led game and it was damaging. Fantasia is a good up and coming player, to compliment guys like Daniher and Hooker up forward.

I must admit the guy who on his own makes me want to tune in and watch a Bombers game is Tippungwuti (sp?). He's a gun in the making. Great core strength, speed, guts and vision with ball in hand. I hope you've got him signed up, because clubs will come knocking on his door.

Anyway, it was a great night. Your side is back in the game, which is good for you, the fans. Maybe we'll get to play again come finals time:thumbsu:

Congrats on the game. Yeah it was daylight robbery in the end, but in context of your season it wont be long before you see it as a positive game.
When the dust settles even more you'll recognise how well your mob went.

No idea why a few want to put it all on Goddard. Sitting in the stands he was one of the blokes who was instrumental getting you 19 pts up in the first place. Bloke has been truly amazing for you lot and must sometimes wonder why he cops so much heat everytime he makes an error.
In the first 15 mins of the game i saw Merrett kick out of defence straight to us which cost u a goal. Lloyd did the same for us about 5 mins later. It adds up.
For a bloke who has contributed so much since you got him, he sure does seem to cop a lot of stick from within. Dean Towers was on the ground last night and i'm sure you can remember the EIGHT prem pts he simply gave away last yr from brain farts.

Good night for KPD's Grundy and Hurley were both top 10 on the ground. Hartley was good on Franklin but Reid definitely had Hurley;s number early but couldnt kick straight. Was a good matchup to watch but they moved off each other as the game progressed. Was a similar result at the other end as Grundy and co were managing Daniher etc. Was the defences that kept the game within reach of both.

Merrett played HBF all night and Heppell deep in defence which seemed weird from the outset and maybe a mistake coz needed more class upfield i reckon...certainly more muscle. Parker also seemed able to out muscle your mids in close...wasnt just Kennedy that caused damage at the contest when it mattered. Get aggro at the trade table this year. McGrath is an obvious jet in the making. Gleeson was v good...Rohan is pound for pound one of the strongest at the club these days after his rehab from that horrible injury...he out muscles a lot of big units. Who the hell knows if that final mark was a free kick or not...the game was NOT decided then though. Hundreds of other moments decided it.
Forget the what ifs from a close game....shit happens. Play the last 5 minutes again and you might win 9 out of 10 times. Check out your next 6 weeks draw, and realise how good your mob is going. On top of that u had that unstoppable 6-7 goal stretch that got u back into it...momentum is everything now, but look at WHEN you produced it. You were gone i reckon....4 goals down when it happened. You didnt produce it when UP on the scoreboard.

Its about time this game went to the MCG. Great to have it up here consistently over recent seasons, but if we cant get 2 for the season its probably time this one was swapped to the MCG. Even as a one off, more than happy to play it at Etihad coz thats our favorite ground in the country by an absolute mile with something like 13 of 14 wins recently. MCG better though.
Sunday morning waffle over. Cheers. You guys can look forward to finals. Long Long way to go and there's a lot of v average mobs above us on the ladder.

Credit to Sydney posters - there's been a fair bit of niggling behaviour from opposition posters in here since the game, but Sydney posters have been all class in here.

Agree, which is funny as their used to be quite a bit of niggle with swans supporters. Although it might be due to the robbery that occurred.

Richmond supporters in particular seem to have a chip - they either agree Hurley is better than Rance or have trolling efforts as weak as their team's efforts to win a last quarter

It's always easier to be sporting when you're the winner. I'm sure our supporters on here do it on other clubs sites when we've won... you know the old "gees you guys are really good and have some great talent etc.."

Rarely see that when team has had a painful loss. Not saying it's a bad thing but it is a little cringey.

It's always easier to be sporting when you're the winner. I'm sure our supporters on here do it on other clubs sites when we've won... you know the old "gees you guys are really good and have some great talent etc.."

Rarely see that when team has had a painful loss. Not saying it's a bad thing but it is a little cringey.

Nothing wrong with a bit of analysis to go with it. Plus it's always good to get insight into Essendon games from people without Essendon blinkers on. And we all have them, to varying degrees

Can't speak for others, but I often go to other boards after a loss, except maybe Norf. Take it for what it is.

Im a mad Bombers fan of 20+ years and that was the first time id ever felt so disappointed with the loss. I didnt say anything or do anything i just sat there silently not knowing what happened. It was the funniest feeling ive ever had. It was more disappointment for the players then us as fans cause of the past 5 years. Even my 8 yo son who normally cracks the shits just got up and went to bed and muttered i dont wanna talk about it. But like all good teams we will bounce back next week and smash the lions. Go boys

Agreed. It's only a game of football and once the game is finished I'm over the result fairly quickly; there's no point taking it too seriously. But this game still stings. I've grown up watching Essendon over the past 15 years which has made me the ultimate pessimist; I'm never confident even if we're 7 goals up. Yet on Friday night, when Hurley put us 4 kicks up, I said to my wife, 'We can't lose now'. I won't make that mistake again!

AFL Autopsy Round 14: Essendon defeated by Sydney (1 point)