Nutsngum

Mar 14, 2013
Hampton Rovers FC
Lets get this review thread started shall we.

The good: Really solid 2nd and 3rd quarter and could see the team start to gel.

Excluding the veterans like Dempster, Rhys and Savage both played great games.
Minchington was excellent, good work kid!

The bad: Our skills are still just awful and its just turnover central.
Webster's foot. Lets hope its okay.

Like:
Darren Minchington when he came on
Cameron Shenton again was pretty well
Clinton Jones second half on Trent Cotchin
Billy Longer probably a "break out" game, rising star nomination chance??
Shane Savage finally showing why we traded for him
Luke Delaney did a reasonable job on Riewoldt considering he usually loves a bag of 8 against us

Dislike:
Turn over after turn over after turn over after turn over and repeat over and over..

So yeah skills suck!
Luke Dunstan needs a spell in the VFL.

Just... Urgh.

Tough one to complain about because the effort was there. Jones was awful. We should consider resting guys like Lenny and Rooey for the Tassie game in 2 weeks, send a young team over to see what happens.

Dunstan probably needs a rest. Not quite right ATM. Longer probably does too. Would like to see Minchington Start again.

Just... Urgh.

Tough one to complain about because the effort was there. Jones was awful. We should consider resting guys like Lenny and Rooey for the Tassie game in 2 weeks, send a young team over to see what happens.

Dunstan probably needs a rest. Not quite right ATM. Longer probably does too. Would like to see Minchington Start again.
Disagree on Longer his game today was fantastic, time to try him + Hickey together.

Forgot to mention Longer. Great game from him. Can see him becoming a fantastic ruckman in 4 years. Watchout Hickey :D

I really want to see them play in the same team though and see how that ruck setup works. Having either one rest in the fwd or back lines could create a very different setup for us.

Just... Urgh.

Longer I thought he was Fantastic 2nd week in row

Same old story.

Our effort was there but our shit disposal skills and shit umpiring cost us.

Some positives though like Savage, Minchington, Longer and the Stanley Knife.

We can work on our disposal skills but I'm not sure what we can do about the umpiring, bribe them more than the opposition?

Why do the maggots hate us so much? Do they realise Grant Thomas isn't coaching us anymore?

Was really good, but I thought he was tiring towards the end. I'll be happy to concede, just felt that the Tigers got the edge at Ruck time in that last quarter, where beforehand it was even, if not in our favour.
Tiring towards the end no wonder played a huge game in the ruck by himself in his 17th game of AFL Lion hearted effort

Same old story.

Our effort was there but our shit disposal skills and shit umpiring cost us.

Some positives though like Savage, Minchington, Longer and the Stanley Knife.

We can work on our disposal skills but I'm not sure what we can do about the umpiring, bribe them more than the opposition?

Why do the maggots hate us so much? Do they realise Grant Thomas isn't coaching us anymore?
I'll never forgive Schneider for clapping in that umpires face in 2008.... We've been crucified ever since :(

Longer had a ripping game. Starting to get his hands on the ball (11 touches, 23 hit outs, 1 goal, 7 tackles) around the ground & have an impact on the contest. Getting better & better every week :thumbsu:
If Hickeys comeback game is good tomorrow I would play Longer, Stanley and Hickey next week with a plan to sub out Hickey after half time.
Rest a ruckman forward and play Roo loose across halfback, Roo mat be to brave for his own good down there.

Hi all

Unfortunately (or fortunately, depends on how you see it!) I don't live in oz anymore, so I haven't been able to follow the boys as closely as I'd like.

A reoccurring theme I see in the post-mortem threads is our lack of skills:
  • Kicks sailing over the head/bouncing at the feet/2 steps to the side of the target player.
  • Handballs missing their mark.
  • Poor decision making
What is being done to address these problems?

Umpiring was ****ing terrible, but aside from that and our terrible first quarter, there were some good individual games from a few saints.

Savage was our best player by far, imo. Has a really long boot and set up some attacks from HB. I think working with Geary has done him wonders. Finally getting two good games in consecutively, so hopefully he can continue that form.

Longer had a much bigger presence around the ground, which was good to see. Made a contest in the packs, but better than that, managed to clunk a few himself as well. Been saying this for a while, but i'd love to see a Hickey/Longer combo when Tom's ready to play for a few weeks.

The milestone man, Stanley, had a decent game. Two contested marks resulted in two good goals. I'd love for that to turn into 3 or 4 goals soon, but it's not easy being a Saints forward at the moment.

Minch is a beautiful kick. Hopefully he can get a full game next week. I still think he has a while to go to prove himself but he's started well.

Aside from that, really just the usual crap let us down. Poor kicking and ball movement, resulting in turnovers and then being too stuffed to run the other way and apply pressure defensively.

I agree re Joey today.

Looking for lots of cheapies round the back.

Demands the footy running past when its to the detriment of our play.

Would be happy for him to be traded EOY in the right circumstances.

He's not a huge asset as a player and youngsters need to be exposed to leadership roles - currently all filled by our veterans (Armo excluded) IMO.

Like the way Shenton is settling in down back - he's playing about as well as Gwilt atm IMO.

Delaney would be in the top half dozen full backs IMO.

Minchington looks a player. Maybe the penny's dropped for him. Worthy of a senior spot IMO.

Savage very good.

Get frustrated when the Veterans ignore the youngsters running past, presenting. And instead go long down the line or chip backwards.

I agree re Joey today.

Looking for lots of cheapies round the back.

Demands the footy running past when its to the detriment of our play.

Would be happy for him to be traded EOY in the right circumstances.

He's not a huge asset as a player and youngsters need to be exposed to leadership roles - currently all filled by our veterans (Armo excluded) IMO.
That's what I was thinking lots and lots of cheapies all day

I'll never forgive Schneider for clapping in that umpires face in 2008.... We've been crucified ever since :(

Schneids and Milney aren't playing anymore either.

The umpires hated both of them, they'd have to be decapitated to get a free.

I get labelled as an umpire sook here but we get screwed over more than any other team, I can't remember the last time we got a good ride from the umpires, at best we break even but more often than not we cop the wrong end of the stick.

Not saying trade all the senior players, but watching today, too often possession is given to Joey, Roo out of deference.

Balancing act, I would respectfully try and get good picks for Joey, Gilbert, let Gwilt go as a FA.

Lenny, Roo, Dempster all very valuable.

Jones, Chips, Schneids told "if you play on, you need to be prepared to play a lot of footy at Sandy ."

Review Round 15: St Kilda Vs Richmond in review