AFL Autopsy Round 16 08/07/2018: 16 Point loss to Collingwood

Great game of footy. A lot to like about where this team is going when you replace mckernan with Joe and get Raz in there.

There was some horrendous umpiring in that game, alot of it went against us but there were some woeful calls against pies too.

Just a bad day for the umps and probably shows that the issues of good umpires coming through and the rules just not being enforcable consistently.

Good time to release Francis now that the season is over.....

Also guy went missing heaps after the first half

technically it was there, however, the fact they picked that one from multiple similar incidents this year is very unfair
Advantage play on at best...

In the context of the game in the balance, that is not AFL football.

You guys deserved better than that the way you were playing.

Great game of footy. A lot to like about where this team is going when you replace mckernan with Joe and get Raz in there.

There was some horrendous umpiring in that game, alot of it went against us but there were some woeful calls against pies too.

Just a bad day for the umps and probably shows that the issues of good umpires coming through and the rules just not being enforcable consistently.
The woeful calls against them didn't have much bearing on the game. It's not the number of calls its how they impact the game and each team's confidence.

They kicked five of the last six goals, overran us. Just lacked that bit of class up forward and we couldn’t reward our earlier hard work. Long dropped off badly second half but thought he did well first half.

Umpires were horrible but not the reason we lost. Won't make finals now but our horrendous start to the year is the reason.
Thought our pressure was great. Just lacked a bit of polish.
Goodard seems to unfortunately be in self preservation mode.

We might need to realise why we cop so many free kicks? Possibly, just possibly we are undisciplined.

Season was lost months ago, not today either.

Man down early, and we ran with 2nd on the ladder until the last 10mins of the match. Take the positives, our forwardline is pretty much our VFL line up, no Gleeson, Zaharakis, Young gun potentials in Redman, Parish and Begley all out injured. Our All Australian CHF out for the season and we still ran with 2nd on the ladder until the last 10mins of the match.

Everyone prefers a win, but we also need to be realistic where we are at. Such a poor start put a line through us in May, we have fought well but it was always an impossible climb.

Colyer, Myers, Goddard can all go back to VFL. Francis, Ridley and Mutch back in. It's all about blooding for 2019

The umpires were absolute bullshit. Absolute bullshit. There was a consistent double standard in how the rules were applied the entire game. We were straight up robbed. Playing West Coast at Subi, North then Collingwood is like the free kick Mt Everest. Have we even got half the free kicks of our opposition the last 3 weeks?

I thought our forward line battled hard but we are missing just way too many forwards, so we couldn't field enough talent in that section of the ground. Fantasia was the difference. Keeping in mind we were already missing Daniher, Begley, Green, Laverde so were pushing too far down our talent already in that area of the ground.

Sucks that once again we got an early game injury. It always seems to be in the first quarter as well. Shame for Ambrose, never could get any continuity this year.

Our midfield did a good job I thought, yes maybe we got shaded in the last but the umpires gave them the ball from the centre so much that I reckon we didn't do too bad.

Anyway we won't make finals from here, but I reckon we've grown a hell of a lot as a side and next year with a fit Daniher, this season could still be a launching pad for us for future success. Our defensive actions are a work in progress but they are improving as is our centre clearance work.

Woosha needs to take a little responsibility for his selections. Colyer, Ambrose, Long. Yes the umpires sausaged us and we missed our chances but the coach continues to make a couple of dumb selections a week.

There were some positives to take from the game; I might save them for tomorrow.

the umps didnt let Pendles walk all over us in the last, or De Goey. We were beaten by a better team
They were better because they took their chances and they took their chances because they had confidence in their play and they had conficence in their play because the umps backed up their decsion-making

More than happy to see the team finish the season losing a few and polishing our fast game game for next season, if we can get it together we can be great next year, some moments of brilliance today that is becomming our trade mark. Oh boy what a trade mark to have.

AFL Autopsy Round 16 08/07/2018: 16 Point loss to Collingwood