Review Round 16 = Gold Coast 101-90 Collingwood

Frampton be 1 of the Worst Players with a Premiership Medallion

Players outside of Nick thought they still on Holiday
Oh stop sinking in the boot after a loss. It was very disappointing across the board but I reckon this team has been "up" and playing at an intensely competitive level for two and a half seasons now.

They weren't up for it today. We can forgive this one but expect a fierce response next week.

But the nasty digs the moment things don't go our way after all these blokes have given us is very fair weather behaviour.

Now we reset.
We have no more byes and our travelling is all but over.
Of our eight games remaining, seven are at the MCG.
We’ve only played at the G twice in past eight weeks. It feels like we’ve been playing all over the place, copping injuries and generally just hanging onto our form.
Now the run to finish begins and we can get some continuity going.
Seven of the eight left are at the G. That gives me some positive vibes.
Well said. Your post has cheered me up immensely.

I think we’ll beat the pretenders - Essendon - next week. At the G, our happy hunting ground, against a cocky bunch.

But my confidence in us being genuine flag contenders is waning. Gotta be realistic and sensible - for a change. This may not be our year.☹️

Didn’t deserve to win, and we didn’t 🤣

Richard’s seems best 23, Sullivan has cooled.

Markov seems out of touch, would like to see Reef have a crack at that spot - he has pace and height.

Seems like unless N Daicos plays a blinder we can’t get it done.

Moore hasn’t had a big game in what feels like a year. You know, intercept marking and rebounding with those long bounding runs.

We need some players back and some tough calls at the selection table, a few favourites getting an easier ride than they should.
I think Sullivan may be first out and is depth now. So ice cold.

Harrison while poor today has AFL qualities and athletic strengths, with some standout impact games.

Sullivan doesn't seem to add anything as an inside mid and is a step too slow at this level. The 35 metre shot at goal late that was rushed but didn't make the distance, made that stark.

Markov is poor below his knees and making bad decisions at the moment. His strength os leg speed but those flaws are mitigating that strength.

We might have escaped with the 4pts last week but tonight showed we're in the midst of mini form slump.

We need to pull the finger out because Essendon will make light work of us if we can only get ourselves up physically and mentally for a quarter or half per game.

I think Sullivan has served his purpose. He’s playing as a forward and attended only 7 Center bounces. He also had no tackles in 70% TOG.

Richards can play his role 100%.
Wouldn’t mind flipping their roles with Sullivan starting as sub. Suspect one will make way for Schultz if McCreery gets up for next week though

The loss of Murphy is still hurting. I know that sounds like a poor excuse, but he was the perfect complement to Moore and our defence structure. Footballers come and go, but we spent years developing him and when he finally held down his position midway through 2022, the best of Collingwood under Fly emerged.

Sad sooky rant over.

😂at these fools that think Moore and frampton played well
Quality post.

I am eagerly awaiting you to quote where any poster said that they played “well”.

Whilst you’re at it, explain in the same post how it was our defence that was the reason we lost this game.

Thought Bobby Hill had an absolute shocker. Was fumbly all night and made some really poor decisions.
True, but many of our players mis-kicked or were fumbly and Bobby is always looking to do something with the ball before he secures it or he sometimes tries to be a little too cute and it backfires sometimes. But I wouldn't want him any other way. On another day at the MCG in a big game against a contender he'll deliver. As a team we just didn't handle the greasy Gold Coast evening conditions this time around.

The old aging stars plus the Daicos were good, rest of the team struggled.

Markov needs to go.

Mcreery on extremely thin ice

Richards needs to play a full game

Sullivan needs to go

Moore needs to get his shit together
Moore had a poor grand final and has been below par all year. I'm not sure what the issue is but he really needs to lift.

😂at these fools that think Moore and frampton played well

I’m not sure they’re saying they played well. I don’t think anyone is.

They’re just choosing not to lay the blame for this loss on them

Which is mostly fair enough

But I also believe Moore sorely needs to develop the “lock down defender” part of his game. He’s over 200cm tall, can run like the wind and is highly intelligent. He doesn’t have much of an excuse for not being able to play a more genuinely negating role should it be required

I’m happy to give Frampton a mulligan with how good he’s been this season. But Dean really shouldn’t have been dropped. I found it odd when it was announced and it looks even more odd in hindsight.

Moore had a poor grand final and has been below par all year. I'm not sure what the issue is but he really needs to lift.
“Oh stop sinking in the boot after a loss.”

Domus- ten posts ago

We might have escaped with the 4pts last week but tonight showed we're in the midst of mini form slump.

We need to pull the finger out because Essendon will make light work of us if we can only get ourselves up physically and mentally for a quarter or half per game.
Nah mate, just in a solid training block. Just like last year. 👍

This was one of those games where our intensity wasn’t up to standard, especially in the first half, and it was evident in our missed tackles. They made us pay.

When we needed a lifting goal in the third quarter, we kicked behinds.

The better team won on the night.

Inexcusable to have such a lack of effort and run for three quarters coming off the bye.

We should have been fresher

Our Achilles heel is our lack of consistent effort.

It has cost us a number of times this year.

It is incredibly frustrating when effort, not skill or ability, is our main issue.

I'd love to hear the coaches and leaders address the issue, or see a consistent onfield response

I’m not sure they’re saying they played well. I don’t think anyone is.

They’re just choosing not to lay the blame for this loss on them

Which is mostly fair enough

But I also believe Moore sorely needs to develop the “lock down defender” part of his game. He’s over 200cm tall, can run like the wind and is highly intelligent. He doesn’t have much of an excuse for not being able to play a more genuinely negating role should it be required

I’m happy to give Frampton a mulligan with how good he’s been this season. But Dean really shouldn’t have been dropped. I found it odd when it was announced and it looks even more odd in hindsight.
Moore has been terrible all year, leaving his man and not affecting the contest, shit kicks and worse handballs, os it too much to ask your captain act like a captain?

Well said. Your post has cheered me up immensely.

I think we’ll beat the pretenders - Essendon - next week. At the G, our happy hunting ground, against a cocky bunch.

But my confidence in us being genuine flag contenders is waning. Gotta be realistic and sensible - for a change. This may not be our year.☹️
You're having a big week Vicky. First you join the testers and now you've become quit curious l.

“Oh stop sinking in the boot after a loss.”

Domus- ten posts ago
Jesus wept. Criticising a player's output on game day is fine. Calling a player who just played a big role in a premiership win the previous season "the worst premiership player in history " is uncalled for and simply bitter.

I've criticised player's on this forum for years but never with vindictive malice. Words like dud and spud are examples of the kind of nasty bs you read on this forum.

Another attempted GOTCHA moment. No surprise.

Yep, the tall/marking forwards are getting too many looks against us. While the Moore defenders are also right in that the pressure from the mids is not good enough it still feels like our tall defenders are getting well beaten rather than halving contests like the normally do.

We've looked disorganized down back and lacking the 3rd man up to spoil.

GC - 9 scoring shots
King 4.0
Lukosious 2.3

NM 8
Larkey 4.0
Zurhar 3.1

Dees 9
van Rooyen 3.1
Fritch 1.4

WB 8
Darcy 3.1
Ugle-Hagan 2.2

I think you’ll find we were similar for much of last year for the most part. A couple of opposition forwards get off the chain. Not always KP types either.

Play Russian Roulette often enough, you’re gonna end up dead.

We can’t keep giving up big leads and expecting to be able to click our fingers and reel them in.

We are especially poor in the games when we go in as favourites. We need to become ruthless in burying the sides below us on the ladder but instead we give everyone a chance.

Just a thought on Moore. Yes he’s AA backman and a great captain. If we get a AA quality defender in a trade or whatever I’d definitely look at Moore up forward. It’s easier to get a defender than a tall forward. We know he can play there, it’s just a thought bubble but it would solve the forward problem by getting a defender.

It’s getting quite tiresome all these comebacks, just wish the boys could put a first half of footy together for once and then for once be able to put cue in the rack in the 4th.

De Goey played well and looked like he desperately needed the hit out, Richards has to play, he is clean and a good user.

Schultz out dare I say it hurt. He’s forward pressure was missed a bit today.

Pendles still looked almost as if he is in a bit of pain and reluctant to get hit on that arm, I feel he played only for the prospect of the fairytale 400th against Carlton.

We are missing Elliott a lot, and Mitchell’s clearance work is being missed

Dust off and we go again

Moore has been terrible all year, leaving his man and not affecting the contest, shit kicks and worse handballs, os it too much to ask your captain act like a captain?

I dont disagree that he’s been poor

The funny part is, when you watch on TV it actually hids a lot of how bad he can actually be

At the ground you see it all. You see him in no man’s land, you see him jogging back into defence rather than run

But again, as poor as he’s been this season, even I’ll admit he wasn’t to blame for tonight

Review Round 16 = Gold Coast 101-90 Collingwood