Autopsy Round 16: It’s like kissing your sister

before Campbells goal it looked like we were going to get run over so guess we could have been here as a losing side today , they did well to not roll over in a close one again

The talk re Amartey McLean McDonald is very different if marks and goals were taken. The role they played took the defenders focus and created the loose men in fwd 50. There were so many good signs,Amartey was getting to good positions just not marking which he had done previously. I think they have a bright future and are something positive for us. We spread the 50 and i50 marks validated that, some closer chances would have helped….maybe!!??

Our goal kicking this season has fallen off the cliff. Right through the club Hickey and Fox arrgghh

The Geelong monkey is off the back

Heeney is in need of a sports psych

Geelong must be the most disciplined team in the league, I would have put money on the fact if we gave up only 4 frees in the half we would have received more the 1, which was early in the first. However it was known before the bounce that we would be on the wrong side of 50 50s Danger gets Mills high and no call, in the same passage they pick out a high the Blicavs which was very dubious…..it might be sometimes the umps see what they want to see.

McInerney as a link man in the middle worked a number of times Mids looked good and not at full strength.

We opened up Geelong time and time again with our best 50 entries work of the year and would have matched up well v any opposition tonight. As Buckley said, we had Geelong looking like witches hats.

The blueprint for the future looks good, however it is coming with a Shiite load of frustration.

Close will get off, he was tackling a Swan. Not much different to Parker’s tackle but you know…..against Sydney they are all OK.

We can say Buddy should've played, we missed Warner, we should've used the sub, etc. whatever we want. None of it's relevant. This is the story of the game:

Not to mention the type of misses, Fox should have kicked the last one, but Hickey and Heeney had shots that looked like they had never seen a football before, were woeful

Chris Scott criticizes the umpires for a specific moment and is able to go it's not against the umpire but the confusion around how the rule is interpreted. Makes some remark that they don't pay it when guys go a long way off the line (Complete lie) and tries to reduce Dangers indiscretion saying he moved 10cm. You were dominated in the game and still managed to win the free kick count.

The AFL allows this where he skates around blaming the umps whilst actually blaming the umps.

Frustrates the heck out of me that Longmire doesn't bring umpiring up after near always being on the wrong side of the ledger but do I then want a coach who is a sook like Scott is. It's frustrating in the height of passion but peeling it back I think it's better to present as Longmire does. Just wish we had Colless still behind the scenes taking those fights to the AFL out of the spotlight.

I don’t understand playing 1 of our best defenders from last year in Foxy as a forward, clearly doesn’t have the finishing skills needed and looks lost at times/makes poor decisions
Fox is one of the better finishers in the side.Blaming him for the loss without mentioning Heeney's horrendous kicking, Hickeys even more horrendous kicking and even McLean unable to kick a set shot within 25m of goal is missing the point. Fox was running at full pace, likely fatigued and barely missed a goal.Not his fault.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

The talk re Amartey McLean McDonald is very different if marks and goals were taken. The role they played took the defenders focus and created the loose men in fwd 50. There were so many good signs,Amartey was getting to good positions just not marking which he had done previously. I think they have a bright future and are something positive for us. We spread the 50 and i50 marks validated that, some closer chances would have helped….maybe!!??

Our goal kicking this season has fallen off the cliff. Right through the club Hickey and Fox arrgghh

The Geelong monkey is off the back

Heeney is in need of a sports psych

Geelong must be the most disciplined team in the league, I would have put money on the fact if we gave up only 4 frees in the half we would have received more the 1, which was early in the first. However it was known before the bounce that we would be on the wrong side of 50 50s Danger gets Mills high and no call, in the same passage they pick out a high the Blicavs which was very dubious…..it might be sometimes the umps see what they want to see.

McInerney as a link man in the middle worked a number of times Mids looked good and not at full strength.

We opened up Geelong time and time again with our best 50 entries work of the year and would have matched up well v any opposition tonight. As Buckley said, we had Geelong looking like witches hats.

The blueprint for the future looks good, however it is coming with a Shiite load of frustration.

I really struggle to feel this optimism. Amartey is useless. It wasn't a one off. Sure he takes some marks and occasionally chips in with a goal or two, but is very mediocre overall. Who kicks goals for us in this bright future? McDonald hasn't shown that he can kick bags and there's literally no one else. Are we really relying on McLean and Amartey to kick us winning scores? We certainly can't rely on Heeney or Papley or Hayward.

And generally, people are taking comfort that we put in such an effort and played so well, but even at our best we couldn't get a win against a team in 9th place on the ladder. We still haven't beaten anyone in the top 10. The fact that we seem unable to break through and get a major scalp even when playing out of our skins is very concerning rather than encouraging imo.

We can say Buddy should've played, we missed Warner, we should've used the sub, etc. whatever we want. None of it's relevant. This is the story of the game:

Agreed. We had the right team in with the right outcomes, except that. There is no argument re the team selections, pretty sure the game proved the team was fine, the plan excellent and the attitudes superb. The club infected goalkicking issues are all we can point to and positively 100 percent inour control. Each player has to take steps to correct this.

Chris Scott criticizes the umpires for a specific moment and is able to go it's not against the umpire but the confusion around how the rule is interpreted. Makes some remark that they don't pay it when guys go a long way off the line (Complete lie) and tries to reduce Dangers indiscretion saying he moved 10cm. You were dominated in the game and still managed to win the free kick count.

The AFL allows this where he skates around blaming the umps whilst actually blaming the umps.

Frustrates the heck out of me that Longmire doesn't bring umpiring up after near always being on the wrong side of the ledger but do I then want a coach who is a sook like Scott is. It's frustrating in the height of passion but peeling it back I think it's better to present as Longmire does. Just wish we had Colless still behind the scenes taking those fights to the AFL out of the spotlight.

Maybe its sooky, But I do want a coach who raises it like Scott did rightly or wrongly (maybe not every week like Scott 😂) But Horse should say something, felt like Roos was more likely too, or send a captain to the umpire

Fox is one of the better finishers in the side.Blaming him for the loss without mentioning Heeney's horrendous kicking, Hickeys even more horrendous kicking and even McLean unable to kick a set shot within 25m of goal is missing the point. Fox was running at full pace, likely fatigued and barely missed a goal.Not his fault.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
No. He should have hit that even if he was totally spent… and it becomes accountable because of the clock. The flow on from scoring there most likely sees a win. Whilst other shots missed were deplorable…the outcome of kicking those is not a clear because of the time left on the clock.

Should've won by 30+. If coaches don't want to practice at night then players should take the initiative and do it themselves for goal kicking at least. Replicate in game situation with person standing on the mark too & a count down.

No. He should have hit that even if he was totally spent… and it becomes accountable because of the clock. The flow on from scoring there most likely sees a win. Whilst other shots missed were deplorable…the outcome of kicking those is not a clear because of the time left on the clock.
Have to disagree. A miss is a miss whenever it happens. You can even argue earlier misses are worse because you don't have the added pressure of the clock.

I really struggle to feel this optimism. Amartey is useless. It wasn't a one off. Sure he takes some marks and occasionally chips in with a goal or two, but is very mediocre overall. Who kicks goals for us in this bright future? McDonald hasn't shown that he can kick bags and there's literally no one else. Are we really relying on McLean and Amartey to kick us winning scores? We certainly can't rely on Heeney or Papley or Hayward.

And generally, people are taking comfort that we put in such an effort and played so well, but even at our best we couldn't get a win against a team in 9th place on the ladder. We still haven't beaten anyone in the top 10. The fact that we seem unable to break through and get a major scalp even when playing out of our skins is very concerning rather than encouraging imo.

Amartey now has 3.7 in 6 games outside his two efforts v the rubbish 2 teams

Maybe its sooky, But I do want a coach who raises it like Scott did rightly or wrongly (maybe not every week like Scott 😂) But Horse should say something, felt like Roos was more likely too, or send a captain to the umpire

Longmire is stubborn but I kind of admire it where he is also protective of any player criticism by outsiders.

I don't know if I specifically want Longmire to be the one (Would have massive impact if he ever did) but definitely someone. Seems our only ally has been Gerard Healy for a while but he doesn't have a big enough voice in the game anymore.

James Hird criticised McLaren on the footy show. They copped the fine as a club but it paid dividends.

I'll contribute to a go fund me to cover the fine.

Longmire is stubborn but I kind of admire it where he is also protective of any player criticism by outsiders.

I don't know if I specifically want Longmire to be the one (Would have massive impact if he ever did) but definitely someone. Seems our only ally has been Gerard Healy for a while but he doesn't have a big enough voice in the game anymore.

James Hird criticised McLaren on the footy show. They copped the fine as a club but it paid dividends.

I'll contribute to a go fund me to cover the fine.

Yeah could be a Pridham or Harley, or even a gesture, send Parker out at 3/4 time to the ump, just some sort of message

Should've won by 30+. If coaches don't want to practice at night then players should take the initiative and do it themselves for goal kicking at least. Replicate in game situation with person standing on the mark too & a count down.

And thousands in the crowd yelling stuff and thousands on their mobile phones checking social media.

But seriously, training at night under those conditions is a must couldn't agree more. Leadership group need to demand it and find some advantage.

When you say people are taking comfort it is a fairly condescending comment. Some of us may be able to see past the actual result. Watching the game we totally outplayed last years premiers who also dismantled us thi s year.The win was missed no t to do with any real issues other than finishing.

To say we couldn’t put away the 9th placed team is overtly negative….by that logic Collingwood must be shit as they struggled to put away the Crows. We put Geelong away everywhere but the scoreboard…..chin up, we are having the year we need to have…there will continue to be improvement and will continue to be shite but I think games like last night are way more positive than negative.

I think we have the genesis of a forward line that can work together to create a spread of goal kickers, not a reliance on one or two.

Way different - One got a free kick the other didn't. I'm sure you can work out which.
Lol, getting that right is paying the same as a St kilda victory this weeken.

I reckon the goalkicking issues just speak to the overall confidence issues throughout the team. Most of them would know they're having pretty ordinary seasons by their standards and so they're not just feeling the pressure of "OK I have to kick this so we can even the score" but also the pressure of "OK I have to kick this or this'll be the fifth or six week in a row my output has sucked."

The team almost needs a big reset and unfortunately that can only come in the off-season and then the pre-season. So I hope in the meantime they just keep showing ticker every week for the rest of the season. It won't turn us back into a contender overnight but it will net us little rewards we can use to take into next year.

Yeah could be a Pridham or Harley, or even a gesture, send Parker out at 3/4 time to the ump, just some sort of message
I reckon the the Parker suggestion is a must..

Autopsy Round 16: It’s like kissing your sister