Game Day Round 16 - WCE v Frem - 14/7 @ PS

We are going to be a wilderness team for years.
Yeah we cant win at home, we cant beat anyone above us and we cant seem to resist any sort of momentum swings (thanks maggots).

God after days of listening to cricket commentary, which is bias against us, even that is a massive class above the shit they spewed into the mics today.

Pretty much anyone other than Brown - but it shows some poor decisions recruiting wise. When Glass goes we dont really have a strong defender to step up...

Names??? Brown was good earlier in the year has struggled the last few weeks.... but with injuries there isnt much to replace him with... with the exception of Wilson

as i predicted at half time, their midfield has gotten on top and our defense has folded like a house of cards. surprising we hung in there as long as we did with this midfield/back line really

Hahaha

Their midfield was on top before that you clown.

The difference is that our world record 60 tackles locked the ball in our forward line, limited any damage they could do and allowed us more scoring chances. As our tackling mayhem slowed and the pressure dropped they simply took greater advantage of their midfield dominance and quality. Our backline hasn't crumbled at all... they have simply dominated possession and with their elite mids with skill they have picked us apart....

The inability of our mids to defend and to pick up when the ball gets in space makes the job of our defenders almost impossible when the other team creates any space up field. The issue again, as always is the plodding nature of our midfield .... It's lack of pace and its inability to be as creative when we have some periods of dominance.... As I said at half time, if we had Mundy and Fyfe instead of blokes like Priddis or Dalziell or Hutchings then we'd have been 5 goals up at half time.... But instead people like you want to talk about how shit our backline is and no doubt you'll give votes to flogs like Priddis for being brave ... We had 2 decent mids today in Embley and Masten.... Hutchings tackling effort was immense but he doesn't strike as a lock down mid....

I mean when we have the ball for periods of any dominance which of our mids do you reckon damage the other team?

But yes, when the overall pressure drops off our mids get exposed going the other way and the elite kicking skills of a number of their players cuts us up ...

Rinse repeat ...

I'm happy to chat about footy with you but you need to get a basic grasp of the game and our team first, otherwise its just awkward

OUR SEASON IS OVER. IF YOU WANTED ME TO PRAISE I WOULD HAVE DONE THIS AT THE START OF THE YEAR. I HAD ENOUGH "GOOD" GAMES AND LOSES. IF WE GET OUR "BEST" BACK WE WILL STILL DO BAD. REMEMBER WHEN WE GOT ALL OUR GOOD PLAYERS BACK? WELL IT WAS A LOSE
To be honest mate our seasons been over for a while but seriously mate no need to shout !

No one is happy with losing. But with a team missing Scott Selwood, Shuey, Kerr, Hurn, Waters, Wellingham, McGinnity I think the first 3 quarters were pretty good, and the last has been total shite

We wouldn't have won with these players. Didn't help us in the first half of the year and wont in this half. Stop dreaming.

We are a middle of the road team and when the game is up for grabs we fell away. simple.

Sorry got so angry. But this is my only praise then I am fuming. Well done without our tops. Second is not an option. Now either
1. Have the worst game but bounce back in the last or
2. Have a good game all round.

Hahaha

Their midfield was on top before that you clown.

The difference is that our world record 60 tackles locked the ball in our forward line, limited any damage they could do and allowed us more scoring chances. As our tackling mayhem slowed and the pressure dropped they simply took greater advantage of their midfield dominance and quality. Our backline hasn't crumbled at all... they have simply dominated possession and with their elite mids with skill they have picked us apart....

The inability of our mids to defend and to pick up when the ball gets in space makes the job of our defenders almost impossible when the other team creates any space up field. The issue again, as always is the plodding nature of our midfield .... It's lack of pace and its inability to be as creative when we have some periods of dominance.... As I said at half time, if we had Mundy and Fyfe instead of blokes like Priddis or Dalziell or Hutchings then we'd have been 5 goals up at half time.... But instead people like you want to talk about how shit our backline is and no doubt you'll give votes to flogs like Priddis for being brave ... We had 2 decent mids today in Embley and Masten.... Hutchings tackling effort was immense but he doesn't strike as a lock down mid....

I mean when we have the ball for periods of any dominance which of our mids do you reckon damage the other team?

But yes, when the overall pressure drops off our mids get exposed going the other way and the elite kicking skills of a number of their players cuts us up ...

Rinse repeat ...

I'm happy to chat about footy with you but you need to get a basic grasp of the game and our team first, otherwise its just awkward

I completely agree with everything here, but I think our midfield was a bit undermanned today. It would have made a difference with Shuey, Wellingham and Scooter back in. We're still short on classy midfielders there though.

We wouldn't have won with these players. Didn't help us in the first half of the year and wont in this half. Stop dreaming.

We are a middle of the road team and when the game is up for grabs we fell away. simple.

Pretty sure I never said we would of won... dont know where you got that from.

Middle of the road team missing some players against a top 5 team, what did you expect?

Their spread was really good in tthe last quarter. We got hammered on the turnovers coming from the back line leaving so many free Fremantle players. We were a really good kicking team last year, I don't what happened this year.

I completely agree with everything here, but I think our midfield was a bit undermanned today. It would have made a difference with Shuey, Wellingham and Scooter back in. We're still short on classy midfielders there though.

I agree we were short, but when those players have been there it hasn't made huge difference. I mean today Embers played a lot on ball included starting in the middle and was one of our best, so you bring one of those back and Embers is back to a fringe role ....

Selwood adds little in terms of hurting the other team when we are on top. Wellingham might, we need to see it first. Fundamentally though we need to make some decisions on improving that area going forward. I got sick tonight of centre bounces with Cox/NN getting first hands only to see Mundy, Fyfe or a few others getting it going there way, our half back line is our center line in most games .....

Sorry to intrude but could I ask why there was no tag on Stephen Hill? He's usually tagged every single week for a reason. Thought he really put you guys to the sword tonight.

Who did we have that can tag? Hutchings is very accountable but not yet a lockdown mid.

Sorry to intrude but could I ask why there was no tag on Stephen Hill? He's usually tagged every single week for a reason. Thought he really put you guys to the sword tonight.

I suspect there is no one quick enough in our side to tag him :p

But seriously, Freo for several years have used the tactic of putting Hill in the middle at times and basically matching him up on Priddis. Because Priddis is an offensive mid who doesn't tag, it basically releases Hill to just attack ... It's been done since Harvey was coach at key stages in the game and it always ends up setting up a couple of goals ...

Question given what we just witnessed in the last quarter. Given that our pre-season was all about building bodies for speed and endurance, how did Freo players manage to run harder than us into spaces to create opportunities?

Game Day Round 16 - WCE v Frem - 14/7 @ PS