Preview Round 19: Geelong V Brisbane, Battle of the Cats - Sat 22nd July 4:35pm @ GABBA

Look this is my last post on it - i will just look forward to the game - and hopefully Gary Rohan is in the Cats team - because he is a very important player and he is exciting to watch in full flight

But i wonder how many posters would tip Geelong - if they were standing in front of the firing squad with their life riding on it
Well I definitely wouldn't tip Brisbane in the same scenario.

Look this is my last post on it - i will just look forward to the game - and hopefully Gary Rohan is in the Cats team - because he is a very important player and he is exciting to watch in full flight

But i wonder how many posters would tip Geelong - if they were standing in front of the firing squad with their life riding on it
Do not confuse tipping Geelong with refusing to accept that a 10 goal plus loss is a certainty. You are essentially taking issue with anyone that suggests a competitive football match may break out on Saturday.

All good, neither of us are nostradamus and i respect your choice, it doesn't change mine though.
I would expect Red Rohan to run down the firing squad for me though
;)

Mod note - this is for the preview post above

Like this post rather than the above as PzBlinky deserves the recognition the effort

post by cats_09 (with changed ownership)
Wow! Fantastic 😍
Bradley Cooper Applause GIF by The Academy Awards

I would be ecstatic if the Cats won - because then they are right back in flag calculations etc

However you only have to go back a couple of weeks to how Geel played against the Swans at SCG - That type of performance and it will be a very heavy defeat for Geel

Beating NTH Melb and Ess ( who were absolutely pathetic ) ok you take the wins and the 4 pts - but that proves nothing

Its horses for courses for me - its highly unlikely Geel will beat Bris in Qld - however when Geel play Pt Ade - i will be tipping the Cats - because the game is at KP - and i dont rate Port that highly

The Lions at the Gabba - they are like a one day cricket side - they are going to play and go for their shots from the word go - at top pace - and i dont think Geel can handle that - mind you 9 other visiting teams at the Gabba this year havent either
You make complete sense
There are always circumstances creating our performances (and our oppositions) and the Swans game is the weird one. ??No reason for us to have been so average.
I do know that a fit Stanley makes a huge difference, and that allows Blicavs to be the supreme weapon that he is.
This also helps our MF heaps, and no coincidence that Bruhn, Atkins, Holmes and Blicavs were in our best 5 last week.
Many players all around the comp are severely fatigued- you may not rate Port, but it's well described that their mids et al are very fatigued and sore at present; we also have seen tired and sore players- Smith in particular, but most of our sore players we would not even realise.
CS all season has been saying he wants us to be peaking later on, but admits now we are also fighting for a spot in the 8.
Anything could happen this week, no idea how it will go, but if JC is on, it'll help a lot.

He has been consistent all along… don’t finish top 4 can’t win it… I don’t think it’s again actually. He tipped us to win it last year and he was right.
Write us off at your own peril Kingy. We're building nicely for another tilt and it won't be at windmills. Go Cats!

Tanner Bruhn has been a revelation. I did not expect him to develop this quickly. Jack Bowes is also starting to show something.

I am appreciating Max Holmes more and more this season.
Truly a gun player already, and will push the brilliant Mick Turner for the best #9 /winger we've had.
Apologies James Kelly, who is right up there too.

Daily Max of 22 in July. I need to move to Brisbane
Record heat waves in USA, Europe, UK this summer.
Predictions are for monster heat waves in Adelaide and Melbourne etc for our summer.
For me, I LOVE the bracing cold air on my face going for a walk in Melbourne winter, truly love it.
Brisbane had its share of floods and issues in the last 2 years.
22 is ok, not sure how our boys handle that at this time of year.

Predictions are for monster heat waves in Adelaide and Melbourne etc for our summer.
For me, I LOVE the bracing cold air on my face going for a walk in Melbourne winter, truly love it.
Yeah I think bushfire will be bad this summer. Been a lot of rain this winter

What's the latest with Jhye Clark? Is his season over?
id say so - hot spot in foot several weeks ago and they go ultra conservative to get it right.
He had a knee issue in preseason too so not sure if hes working too hard or what it is, but IMO they have cottonblled him for next year - and im fine with that provided they correct his ills and make sure hes not overdoing it when he gets back.

Go Catters

Hi mate , just having a quick peek over here.
The temperature for 4pm is 20 , then it goes down to 15degrees at 7pm , down to 9 degrees but that's well after midnight, so umm brrrrr.
Should be good temperature for footy , should hopefully be a non dewy night while only a 5 km light wind , maybe an easterly.
You'll have to ask BT whether that's a left to right fade;).

I love the perennial optimist v pessimist debate...

especially as it makes no difference to the result.

Logically Brissy should be favourites as they've won 3 more games and are playing at home.
Nor does anything said by a supporter ever.

I hereby pass a notion to delete the forum and have every supporter remove their vocal cords immediately.

If we finish 5th - 8th we would need to win 4 finals that would likely include wins against Brisbane, port & woods… why not test it out over the next 4 weeks as we play 3 of the top 4 as a mini finals run?? Brisbane away, Freo home, port home and woods MCG. Let’s see if we can do it…. Would be a good audition for the real stuff… would give some credence to Scott and others who think we can win 4 finals on the trot…..

No-one here has argued with the point that we could very well lose this game - I myself think it might be a 20 point or so loss. It's more the insistence that we'll crumble completely and get obliterated, when we're playing our best footy of the year and they're starting to slow down themselves - and have not once looked like world beaters this season.

As others have said, huge difference between thinking we'll lose, and thinking we won't even be competitive - when our club hasn't had a game like that in the last 2 years or more.

We're not that sort of team, and there's nothing to suggest that would start now. Richmond got us at the right time, but I daresay if they played us now, it would be a far different result.

We are the reigning premiers after all, and teams like Brisbane who we destroyed by 73 points last year, should rightly be worried about us - not the other way around.

No-one here has argued with the point that we could very well lose this game - I myself think it might be a 20 point or so loss. It's more the insistence that we'll crumble completely and get obliterated, when we're playing our best footy of the year and they're starting to slow down themselves - and have not once looked like world beaters this season.

As others have said, huge difference between thinking we'll lose, and thinking we won't even be competitive - when our club hasn't had a game like that in the last 2 years or more.

We're not that sort of team, and there's nothing to suggest that would start now. Richmond got us at the right time, but I daresay if they played us now, it would be a far different result.

We are the reigning premiers after all, and teams like Brisbane who we destroyed by 73 points last year, should rightly be worried about us - not the other way around.
71 points. 😏