Game Day Round 2, 2025: West Coast v Brisbane

West Coast v Brisbane: Sunday, March 23 - 10.10am at the Gabba

IMG_6184.png

Unfortunately, the first page in our next chapter was depressingly familiar to many in our recent history

Almost an entire preseason build up of optimism and hope was washed away in a flood of midfield dominance from Gold Coast. The lopsided numbers in hitouts (77-19), centre clearances (16-8), stoppage clearances (34-25), contested possession (145-10 and inside 50’s (67-34) led to a disappointing 87 point loss - 7.7 (49) to 20.16 (136).

We won’t mention the lopsided 10-20 free kick count - the media certainly seem to have lost interest in them of late. Noise of affirmation is only a thing when we’re winning apparently

But I digress

There needs to be a response to a performance like that but that will be a challenge given we play the reigning premier on their home deck - a venue they rarely lose at. We’ve lost our last 5 games there by an average losing margin of 9 goals. Our last win was in our premiership year of 2018 when Brisbane were shit

IMG_6185.png

Team Selection

Those who were hoping for McQualter to make a statement at the selection table that there are consequences for substandard performance will no doubt be disappointed with the team named

A sole unforced change with Flynn being omitted after being outclassed by Witts and replaced by Bailey Williams who gets his turn to lead the ruck

Two forced changes with Waterman (back/calf) replaced by Liam Ryan who missed R1 with a hamstring complaint whilst Petruccelle swaps hammies with Hutchinson to make his first appearance in 2025 - ahead of Harvey Johnstone who would have been a more popular pick with the play the kids crew

IMG_6190.jpeg
IMG_6191.jpeg

Age profile of team selected (ages at 1/1/25) :
25-28 : 8
21-24 : 4
<20 : 7

And vastly less experienced than Brisbane

IMG_6187.jpeg

The Brisbane line up

IMG_6188.jpeg
IMG_6189.jpeg

Notable omissions for Brisbane are Charlie Cameron and Lohmann up forward whilst Brandon Starcevich is missing from their reliable back 6

Even with those outs they’re still a formidable team as you’d expect with 18 of their premiership 23 lining up

Midfield

After being embarrassed by Gold Coast, the task doesn’t get any easier for our midfield group against a Brisbane group boasting Neale, Dunkley and McLuggage supported by Berry, Fletcher and a pair of Ashcrofts. McInerney is also a more than capable ruck

It starts with the hitouts. I doubt Williams is going to win that contest but he needs to halve as many as he can to avoid the sort of silver service Rowell and co got from Witts

Neale was successfully tagged by James Jordon last week and will be keen to redeem himself this week. Jack Graham, or maybe Duggan, look the most promising to run with Neale but neither are genuine taggers

A lot will be needed from Kelly after a very lacklustre effort last weekend. Reid and Hewett will get their fair share of CBAs and hopefully both will be better for last weeks run

Expect that Dewar will move up onto the wing after playing HB against the Suns with Hunt (who was another disappointment last weekend) on the other wing

It’s an alarming mismatch and could easily tread a familiar path - McQualter sounded confident he’d identified what went wrong and was bullish about improving outcomes. I hope he’s right

Defence

In some ways, our backline held up reasonably well against the Suns given the frequency and quality of their inside 50 entries. But ultimately they still conceded 20 goals, due in part to their inability to clear the ball effectively- the Suns scored something like 10 goals from front half turnovers which is unacceptable

Hipwood shapes as a problem as he’s likely too athletic for Edwards but we have no one else that goes close to matching his height. Ginbey is a left field option after he had success v Mac Andrew last year and Hipwood isn’t a strong contested mark for his size

After being the sub last week, I think Maric who looked good in defence when he came on will start this week, most likely on Morris. Leaves McGovern (or Edwards) to stand Day

Brisbane also have in Rayner, Ah Chee and Bailey a trio of very good small/medium forwards even without Cameron and Lohmann. Hough, Cole and Baker will have their hands full

Forwards

Lack of supply was an issue but our front half looked dysfunctional against the Suns. Losing Waterman, who was arguably our most dangerous forward, won’t help

Big game for Oscar Allen who needs to stand up as a leader - likely opposed by Andrews who he’s struggled against in the past

Archer Reid is our only other tall target in attack so he’ll need to have his sticky mitts on if he’s to provide any sort of aerial support

That leaves us with a swarm of small forwards - Cripps, Owies, Petruccelle, Brockman, Ryan and Long - albeit one of them likely will be the sub

It suggests more erratic ball movement inside 50 with low kicks/groundballs in preference to high kicks that can be more easily intercepted. The sort of game plan sides deployed against us to nullify McGovern’s influence

Those small forwards will also likely be given some midfield bursts with Reid and Hewett in particular spending time inside F50

Someone will need to be accountable for Zorko to limit his drive out of defence

Conclusion

It’s hard to summon any optimism for this being anything other than yet another hiding but, collectively, they need to find a way to compete. Be hard to play against

We’re $13.00 outsiders to win this whilst Brisbane are an unbackable $1.02 favourites. The line is 60.5 points so the betting market is as you’d expect- if we cover the line that would be a welcome result

Better effort. More evidence of a functional game plan and a losing margin of less than 8 goals would be a win for where we are at

McQualter has by and large backed the team to respond. I’ll join him

Go Eagles

feeling realistically positive that we will have a better showing, than against the very under rated GC. But Bris are quality outfit and are playing at home.

The reigning premiers who are unfurling the flag at their first home game is less than ideal. Really hope we can show some guts.

We won’t mention the lopsided 10-20 free kick count - the media certainly seem to have lost interest in them of late. Noise of affirmation is only a thing when we’re winning apparently

Really good preview and write up as always, cheers. I will say with regards to free kick count that last nights one was questionable in a tight game, but for us last week the 10-20 actually made sense in a flogging where we were so rarely first to the ball, or in possession of the thing. Gotta get it and have it at all to get frees

IMG_0019.jpeg
IMG_0021.jpeg IMG_0020.jpeg

So interested to see how our set ups in the middle are actually envisaged to win more footy than what we saw against GC. I do wonder sometimes if Shuey can basically only see mid structures with Nic in them, but that’s reductive thinking as he was off the park a fair bit and Mini would have been busy implementing his own tweaks for sure.

When you get pulverised it’s very difficult to see what the end goal of the plan might look like. Hope there is a few more glimmers because there hasn’t been too much personnel changes this week to help with that. I actually really like that because Mini needs to build trust with the players, and I’m sure if they put in multiple stinkers they’ll be out in the coming weeks. Easier to explain the ‘why’ when it’s on repeat performance. Flynn straight swap for Bailey (who were close-ish over the pre-season) and after just one outing is a warning shot.

He’s not thrown the toys out yet but gee, hasn’t he has looked livid in pressers this week - looks as if he is going to chuck his weight around if senior players don’t lift. If we can’t get our hands on the pill at the coalface it’s going to be exposed again pretty badly the other way by a formidable Lions side.

The thing with what Mini is going for is that if we have a day where we execute close to plan - we can potentially offset conceding at least some of that time on the ball by being really high pressure and choking when off it. Causing turnover, being slick, quick and efficient going inside 50. Waterman our best contested grab out hurts a bit with that as he clunks everything and often deep - so the forwards will also need to be right ON for it to look any better at all

Something worth pointing out is that we are still middle of the pack in terms of age and experience.

Our average age is 25.4 is still older than Richmond, St Kilda, Fremantle, Essendon and even Hawthorn.

Something worth pointing out is that we are still middle of the pack in terms of age and experience.

Our average age is 25.4 is still older than Richmond, St Kilda, Fremantle, Essendon and even Hawthorn.

Do you mean on average for selected sides for this round or something, because we were looking pretty decent on that measure for overall list age coming into the season:

IMG_0022.jpeg

Do you mean on average for selected sides for this round or something, because we were looking pretty decent on that measure for overall list age coming into the season:

View attachment 2257210
Yeah, I mean based on the selected 23 for this round.

It should be a concern that we are not particularly young, and still performing poorly.

Danger Game 😉

Real talk - I reckon this has the potential to be that game where we fight, backs to the wall type stuff and say well why isn’t this effort given ever week. Another loss but not a smashing.

Danger Game 😉

Real talk - I reckon this has the potential to be that game where we fight, backs to the wall type stuff and say well why isn’t this effort given ever week. Another loss but not a smashing.

The frustrating thing is we might do that for a couple of weeks, then the Kellys of the team will decide they've done enough, and a 100 point arse pounding will result. Then we'll try for a couple of weeks, rinse and repeat.

Team selection and player placement was the second biggest mistake.
Playing Dewar, Hunt and Hutchinson out of their positions from when they performed highly in the North Melbourne game. Then he switched them back and forward so they couldnt find there footing. In my opinion Mini is doing too much and not enough.

Number 1 game plan against the suns should be to mitigate Wits utter domination. How he faced the challenge, let a 30 gamer with zero game conditioning under his belt to 1v1 him majority of the game and have the wirey 1st gamer pinch hit?!?!?

Now i was thinking here he will learn his lesson whilst we come up against a second man mountain Macinnerny...

What do you have it.. Hes doing too much and not enough again. Didnt learn his lesson and has dropped poor old mate Flynn, even though he had more influence than Kelly and Reid in the game... And is now leaving Bailey who isnt a ruck to 1v1 him. Let the players get a run at it

What i want to see. I want to see brockman get a look in the middle, the bloke cant find the footy to save his life but when he has it he makes shit happen. If we are getting dominated, give Reuben a go, or give baker a go and let Ginbey run it out of the back which he is more than capable of doing.

The frustrating thing is we might do that for a couple of weeks, then the Kellys of the team will decide they've done enough, and a 100 point arse pounding will result. Then we'll try for a couple of weeks, rinse and repeat.
Yeah for sure. I’d be more sure if we fought all season, I expect nothing from this team whatsoever.

If we get smashed again (likely) and our structure or shape gets dismantled again, with little evidence of Mini's gameplan in sight, basically a repeat of last week - then things will go south very quickly for the the coach and team. The media will be all over them like rabid dogs and confidence will be in tatters. The New Era mantra will look like fake news.

The team and Mini need to show something, not a win, but resolve and structure. Mini said the effort was there, but in desperation there were too many at the ball, trying to do too much and losing sight of shape and balance etc.

Just want to see some passages of play that connect, some accountability and see some individual performances that impress. The forward line without Snake is a concern, as is the ruck as always.

C'mon Eagles, backs to the wall, fly the flag!

Lions have their 2024 flag unfurling before the match as well, so I wouldn't be surprised if they come out pumped and get an early jump on the scoreboard.

The last match played at the Gabba was the Elimination Final against Carlton last year. Brisbane led 60-0 during the second quarter.

It shall be interesting to see how players respond this week - far too many heads lowered as soon as Gold Coast gained some momentum and were playing for the final siren rather than for the jersey.

At least with this rain predicted we finally have one good wet weather player in the side… Baker is just about the best wet weather player in the comp.