Autopsy Round 2, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Brisbane

With Yeo injured Harley being long way back from what he was its really hard to compete in the middle when only 1 or 2 blokes get over 20 touches in the guts. Praying Graham can get back next week and Harley/hewett can start to find their mojo soon

2 years ago the media was stepping in on behalf of Horne-Francis who was getting booed for changing teams. Kenny H even came out and told people to shut the f*ck up about him. It's about time someone at the clubs stands up for him publicly, just to send a message.
It won't stop until he's safely ensconced in the warm bosum of a big Vic side.

Hopefully the boys get up and about again for the derby next week like we did last year. Great opportunity to put the Dockers' season into some real jeopardy which should add some motivation. Mini seemed to hint at it in his presser.

My boy Bailey showing this board what he can do - and I honestly think he was operating at 65% of his true power.

Flynn is definitely better at being the boring option down the line - which I do think is important especially in a game like today where we really missed having a target Andrews actually had to compete against. But I think JWilliams is the man for that overall - disappointing hearing his fitness isn't up to scratch so glad we backed in Archer's better preseason, but think he comes in now for a more consistent target.

What Bailey offers is chaos, grunt and hustle at the contest - which I think we need the most given our midfield. I actually don't think it even really came off for him like it could have today, many on this board forget games especially 2023 where he was winning clearances at will. But just having him scrap around on the ground today threw off Brisbane's mids, and let players like Kelly who would have to be at the bottom of the heap with Flynn rucking be able to take that extra second or two to gather the ball in a more advantageous position. We really saw the momentum shift in there when he went off.

He also looks to have built a little bit more strength at the round-the-ground stoppages so as to not be thrown out completely, which was always going to happen. The guy's still 24 - Jarrod Witts at 24 was traded to Gold Coast from Collingwood as scraps for a third and fourth rounder. McInerney turned 26 in 2020, a season he averaged 19 hitouts, 8.7 disposals and 0.3 goals a game. We've undersold what Bailey could actually be in his late 20s.

Also side note: one positive was that, though we were a tall or two down which let Andrews get on top, I much prefer that to being 2-3 talls too many and having no run at ground level - I personally find it far more frustrating watching opposition runners waltz around an immobile WC forwardline than I do being beaten in the air. Probably our best balance compared to today's lineup is a Waterman coming in for a Long but wouldn't go any taller than that, 99 times out of 100 Bailey runs out the full game, Archer will get more and more competitive, JWilliams will hopefully get fitter. Back in our balance and if it happens again like today where we lose both our rucks and have to adapt - so be it.

It’s nice to enjoy footy again.

After last week I was all set for enduring the game.

Not bothered by losing after having a crack like that.
100% the first 3 quarters I was hopping all around the living room like it was 1994

That effort is what you want every week and today's effort would've probably beaten half the comp

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

It went way better than most of us hoped for. Hard to find any real negatives from a team point of view. We didn't get the 4 points but premiership points don't really matter at the stage of the cycle we are at. It is all about effort, organisation, positive mindset, clear improvement over time from the younger players and staying in the game.

I can't remember Simpson getting the squad to rebound from a loss like that at any stage in his last two years in charge. If they can keep going forward and improving from what they showed today then there is a light at the end of the tunnel finally.

I mean people talking like Harley didn't touch it

15 possies 7 tackles 6 clearances while getting belted around as a 19 year old is nothing to sneeze at.

We expect the world of this kid.

If Harley, just ignored the umpires, and the push me shove you bullshit and just had his focus 100% on winning the ball, I’m sure things will start to go his way.
Someone needs to have a chat with him.
Nup!!! Get stuck into those flogs down the road Harley!

Yeah that’s really working well for him, just win the ****ing ball!
Like I've said he looked way better running around getting the ball than fighting.

Some nice passes and 7 tackles.

Yeah we want bash n crash goals from 50 but that will come hopefully

I can't remember Simpson getting the squad to rebound from a loss like that at any stage in his last two years in charge. If they can keep going forward and improving from what they showed today then there is a light at the end of the tunnel finally.
IMG_8478.jpeg

IMG_8479.jpeg

I know, I know, Simmo’s the devil, but without Yeo against a full strength Melbourne midfield that was one of our best wins of the last decade.

Bounce back was great today. Long may it continue.

Was Oscar injured? For him to leave Gibney to be sacrificed on the altar of McInerney was just...bizarre.

With Ryan and Harley up forward we could have small balled it and possibly minimised Andrews influence - that grew in the second half.

A tough set of cards to play but it was off the back of a team buy in that saw some tickets spent. 1 millionty percent better than last week's limp.attempt.

Simmo atill managed to get a response from the group here and there. Our capacity and desire to back it up will be telling.

Clay Hall had me feeling things I have not felt for many a moon. Really, really impressive game from someone in his 4th or 5th start and asked to bring it at the coal face.

Dewar. I told you flogs he had it. Will be an out and out gun.

TK. I ripped on him hard all week. Showed his ability today. Consistency please m8 and i'll be your biggest, slobberiest fan.

Can't complain too much. Bailey and Archer going down sealed out date after letting Brissie off the hook to a certain degree in the second and third terms.

Let's go Eagles! Today's effort was.something all the fans can be proud of.

Autopsy Round 2, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Brisbane

Write your reply...