Review Round 20, 2022 - Richmond vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Richmond?

Yes, it is not good enough to get run down after holding a 42 point lead. A real premiership contender would not allow that to happen. Luckily, we get to live another day.

And there were some positives to take out of the performance. We can all talk about them once we've calmed down.

I almost used the game as an excuse to not do a training session on my Zwift trainer early this arvo (I'm way too soft to ride outdoors in Melb in winter). As depressing as this is, I would be soo down in the dumps if I skipped a training session for that result.

re: starc being out was the difference. There is some truth to that, but some of Boltons most damaging work was coming out from center clearances. I doubt we would have sent Starc up there to man him.

I see the point of if we had Dev as the sub the option would be to put him on Bolton, but why didn't we do it with berry either?

If we were desiring to play the fast ball into the corridor, why did we bring in the ruck medi-sub which suits our earlier plan of down the line contests where he could get some good marks there.
should of been someone picked before the game.. not a medi sub.
I thought Starc go to him when he could not player then you needed someone like Madden run with

We honestly need a run with player who picks up 15-20 touches
When Berry does it he might slow them down although picks up hardly any himself

Cost us the game against the Cats last year

Disagree.

If it's the 50 in the last quarter that ended in the Isaac Smith goal, that was one of the softest 50's of all time and a total overreaction by a trigger happy umpire who was just itching to get involved.

On top of that there was the Zac Bailey non HTB atrocity at the death that robbed us of a win.

“A tight AFL ladder means finals essentially start this weekend as far as Chris Fagan is concerned as Brisbane look to end an MCG hoodoo against Richmond”

Really was a rehearsal for the real thing haha

What does Roberston have to do? Seriously?

Will probably come in the team next week and be stuck on the forward flank or defensive wing. Needs to play midfield. Lyons has to go he's just not contributing across multiple facets of the game. His stoppage work is decent but outside of that... nothing.
YEp and if he's not BOG will be dropped again - again some players held to completely different standards and are pretty much set up to fail but then others have been getting away with inconsistency for years and their selection is never doubted.

I’m on a train where 98% on it are Richmond supporters. We didn’t lose it, they won it, according to all.

I considered getting off the train and just walking home. I’ve seen some bad losses - but this one takes the cake. Felt my footy heart break today.

Only saw the last quarter.

I can't believe they ran us down from a 7 goal lead

Our last 4 shots were behinds.. Clug, Robbo and Charlie all miss highly gettable shots

Freaky bounces, couldn't buy a free kick plus that bizarre decision for a score review on Linc's "goal: when he was going to give Richmond a free anyway

WTF?

Beginning to think the MCG curse is real:'(
Unfortunately it stems from the Fitzroy days :(

Bring back VFL Park.

Good luck for the rest of the season and I really hope you get in the top 4.

If Tigers don’t win it, I’ll be cheering hard for the Lions!

Fages first answer in the presser was >

Bailey going down cost us a lot of run. :think:

The question was- Where did it all go wrong?
I wish he'd go back up to the coaches box

Our players should be at the point now where they don't need him on the bench. Although if he still has a bung hammy then that probably explains it.

Terrible presser, Can any journalist ask ‘Where were your leaders while you gave up a 7 goal lead?’
Why does your midfield crumble when genuine pressure is put on it?
Why is your team mentally fragile in big games?
At least admitted Fort was a mistake.

The fact is that everything that everyone says about us; pretenders, mental fragility etc.

We prove it to be true time and time again.

That was just an absolute capitulation of a performance in the second half. Have never left a game feeling so flat. Feels like a bad dream.

Just do what I did, turn it off and go and spend time with the little man. He’s 2&1/2 and makes me smile. Lions give me anxiety so it’s an easy decision.

I did the exact same mate! My little one turned 2 a couple of months back and she is on the mend from covid/rsv…. It really puts things into perspective.

Things are never as good as they seem…. Things are never as bad as they seem…

Review Round 20, 2022 - Richmond vs. Brisbane Lions