Round 20 v Collingwood: votes

DaveW

Oct 2, 2002
BOG

5. Smart (Beat Tarrant easily, only time Tarrant got into the game was when he was on the end of pin point delivery*)
4. Burton (Say what you want about his football brain, I just wish every other player worked half as hard as he does)
3. Goodwin (was always around the ball and did some good things)
2. Torney (so hard at it, was in there all day)
1. McLeod (the only time we looked threatening was when this man had the ball in his hands)

* Speaking of which, our delivery - neh, our kicking in general - was just woeful

BTM

3. Smart (as above)
2. Shirley (had just about the toughest assignment in football, didn't do too badly)
1. Biglands (tried to innovate in the ruck, which was good as we were getting smashed in the clearances :()

Rookie

1. Schuback (good game, was hard at it, lead well, and that kick for goal was a beauty, I hope he never forgets how to kick like that)

BOG

5: Smart - Took out Tarrant.
4: Burton - Played well in a midfield that was easily beaten.
3: McLeod - Was clearly nowhere near 100% but tried hard and did some nice things.
2: Goodwin - Played OK but nowhere near his AA-best. Tradebait.
1: Bassett - Tried his very best to weather a storm that never let up.

BTM

3: Smart - Same goes.
2: Bassett - Like Breaker Morant facing the firing squad.
1: Biglands - Asked to fill a zillion roles, did OK.

Rookie

1: Skipworth - When he finally got a chance he did his best to stem the bleeding in midfield and had it a lot harder than Schubackka the Wookie. Deserves another chance next week.

Very difficult to differentiate between our best 5 players. not much between any of them.

Best Player

5. Jason Torney (courageous effort and back to his very best.)

4. Andrew McLeod (some really classy patches tonight)

3. Nigel Smart (loves a challenge and did a great job on Tarrant)

2. Tyson Edwards (dashing display in defence)

1. Brett Burton (great running effort fom the birdman)

Best Team Man

3. Jason Torney (as above)

2. Nigel Smart (as above)

1. Nathan Bassett (worked his arse off in defence.)

Rookie

1. Jason Schuback (the kid's got it alright)

Overall our mid-field got smashed and our attack was virtually non-existent.

Forget we went around.

BOG

5. Jason Torney
4. Nigel Smart
3. Brett Burton
2. McLeod
1. Begley (for playing after the way he looked on Thursday)

BTM

3. Jason Torney
2. Nigel Smart
1. Tyson Edwards

Rookie

1. Jacob Schuback

Not to disappointed as to be honest the loss was on the cards all week,
guess we were just hoping for the unexpected but the worst part of it all was our poor disposal when delivering the ball into our forward zone once again,

BoG

5 = J Torney, great game all night & capped it off with 2 goals
4 = A McLeod, tried his heart out but at times his disposal let him down
3 = T Edwards, plenty of rebound & backed his judgment against all odds
2 = N Smart, might play the odd bad one but "never drop him Kane"
1 = B Burton, never stopped running,

BTM

3 = N Smart, as above
2 = K McGregor, reliable & gave support when needed
1 = J Begley, pretty good game from James

Rookie
J Schuback, shows a bit of promise Stiffy with a bit more confidence could really develope next year

Carey, Goodwin, Bickley, Bode, Clarke, Doughty, Shirley, Skipworth, Johncock and Ricciuto have not earned their spot for the Kangaroos game.:mad:

OK I have calmed down a little but my coffee table has payed the price as has my hand.

Best on Ground

5 - Jason Tonrey (One of very few that can hold their head high. Was superb last night)
4 - Andrew McLeod (Was in and out of the game but when he was on he was magical)
3 - Nigel Smart (Did one mighty job last night. Kept Tarrant goalless which is a hell of a job considering how much the ball was in Collingwood forward line)
2 - Tyson Edwards (Even tho he was given a bit of a touch up by Didak, he still some good things)
1 - Brett Burton (He worked his arse off but fair dinkum did he butcher it. I counted about 6 of the stupidest decisions I have seen from him. he only jarred the knee and should play against Kangaroos)

Best Team Man

3 - Jason Torney (What can I say, he was an absolute rock)
2 - Nigel Smart (Great stopping job on Tarrant)
1 - Rhett Biglands (He tried hard all night and if he doesn't get to start against Roos then Ayers has got the rocks in his head)

Rookie

1 - Jacob Schuback (Don't you just love goers?!?!?! He worked his backside off to keep the ball in our forward line. Will be a very good player for us in years to come. DaveW, Shuey is a thumping kick. That goal was very much in his range)

One thing I found very interesting listening to Ayersy's press conference, He made a point that he felt that we went into the game one key defender short. Why the hell did he not select one of Stevens or Rutten??????

He said that we will need to adress this during the draft. Personally I feel that we are in much more need of a developing young key forward and a young ruckman.:confused:

Ive almost forgotten what this board looks like!

Some crows players broke into my house and passed on the 'deadly' flu to my computer. :( hahaha

It was very sick yesterday.:mad:

All up, I was pretty happy with the boys effort last night. Their commitment cannot be faulted. I still stand by my words and say that there were MANY players out there last night who were sick even though the coaching staff insisted they were 100%. (take a look at bicks and bodey) This contributed to our poor performance in the third quarter.

BoG

5- Jason Torney- probably one of the best games he has played for the AFC. Was a shining light in a backline that was missing Benny Hart.

4- Nigel Smart- Did the unimaginable and kept Chris Tarrant goaless, which is no mean feat.

3- James Begley- had a superb final term and was the spark that got us going out of the centre. Never gives up.

2- Andrew McLeod- Provided brilliance in the centre as he always does week in week out.

1- Michael Doughty- I might get a bit of sh*t for putting this bloke in my votes, but i thought he deserved it simply because of his performance in the first quarter. He managed to stitch up Scott Burns and really lowered his colours. Wouldve been higher in my votes if he was consistent over the four quarters.

BtM.

3- Tyson Edwards- played with guts. Was waiting for that square up with Jason Cloke, but it sadly never happened. :(

2- Rhett Biglands- did well enough in the ruck to get a vote. Really has that edge over Clarkey because he has so many dimensions to his game.

1- Brett Burton- Tried his heart out as he always does and provided some run. Dissapointing to see him get injured though. Could be a worry.

Rookie-
1- Jacob Schuback- This kid is the best thing since sliced bread! Was really impressed with his 'no fear' attitude and how he went at the ball with so much fury and speed (reminded me of Bicks). Will be the future of the ADelaide Crows footy club, IMO the best debutant this year.

Just one last question: What happened to Ronnie Burns? Did he have a tiff with the boss?

BOG

5 Smart
4 Torney
3 Burton
2 Edwards
1 Dogga - FIRST HALF, NOT QUARTER. 1st quarter played great on Burns, 2nd, got a goal, so still played well. If Scott Burns can get into the channel 9 votes for only playing 2 quarters, so can Dogga.

TTM

3 Biglands
2 Torney
1 Edwards

Rookie

1 Schuback

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy

1- Michael Doughty- I might get a bit of sh*t for putting this bloke in my votes, but i thought he deserved it simply because of his performance in the first quarter. He managed to stitch up Scott Burns and really lowered his colours. Wouldve been higher in my votes if he was consistent over the four quarters.

Radar, Radar, Radar!! The rest of your post was so good, how the hell did this part slip into it. Doughty got caned as the game went on, and won't be there next week.

As the game wore on, I was thinking that Doughty will definitely be offered as trade bait at the end of the year.

No way was he in our best 5.

Originally posted by macca23
Radar, Radar, Radar!! The rest of your post was so good, how the hell did this part slip into it. Doughty got caned as the game went on, and won't be there next week.

As the game wore on, I was thinking that Doughty will definitely be offered as trade bait at the end of the year.

ok, ok! its just MY OPINION. Scott Burns is a class act and i reckon he was great on him in the first quarter. but my vote will mean nothing anyway cos harldy anyone else has voted for him.

And Macca, u make my name sound like i'm giving speeding tickets to people!! hahaha :D

Originally posted by macca23
Doughty got caned as the game went on, and won't be there next week.

I hope your joking.

At half time, he would've been top 3. He did a number on Burns in the first half.
10 minutes of the Third Quarter, Collingwood delivered the ball into the 50 more...thanks to Buckley Woewodin, BTW: who the hell was on him? Thats when Burns broke loose from Dogga, going forward, and Dogga was brought to the bench.

Now if Burns can get so many votes for playing 2 quarters, why can't dogga?
And People voteing for Shirley, Shirley did nothing but played the first two quarters. He let Buckley go after that.

Originally posted by AngelEyes
I hope your joking.

At half time, he would've been top 3. He did a number on Burns in the first half.
10 minutes of the Third Quarter, Collingwood delivered the ball into the 50 more...thanks to Buckley Woewodin, BTW: who the hell was on him? Thats when Burns broke loose from Dogga, going forward, and Dogga was brought to the bench.

And People voteing for Shirley, Shirley did nothing but played the first two quarters. He let Buckley go after that.

No I'm not. I was hoping you were.

Particularly as you didn't have McLeod in your best 5.

I just judge them as footballers. Not by the colour of their eyes or the shape of their legs.

You're entitled to your opinion, but Doughty better than McLeod??

Have another think.

Me and my mates were calling him 'SANFL Doughty' last night. His decision-making and kicking were majority pathetic - and he was 2 or 3 seconds too slow with and without the ball.

Last night was proof-positive Doughts should stay with Jiminy Byrne, Dean Howard, Darryl Wintle, James Gallagher, Sudjai Cook and a host of other SANFL-level midfield types back where they belong.

While we're on the subject of second and third-rate chumps, I could not understand why Skippy got such little time last night - when he came on he burrowed in and tried to give us something. As I said in my rookie vote explanation, he did his best to try to stem the bleeding when he came on... in a midfield that was absolutely slaughtered.

I didn't realise how important Stenglein & Ladhams were! But particularly Stenglein, his clearances from the centre square are invaluable!

POTY
5 Smart - brilliant game on Tarrant! And there was patch in the last quarter (i think?) when he was simply on fire on the wing! Go Nige!
4 Torney - great game in defence, so reliable. That goal where he snatched the ball from the Collingwood player was excellent!
3 Begley - fantastic game, considering he had the flu. Got plenty of the ball and did ok on Woewodin, and his first goal for the club was an awesome one!
2 Burton - ran hard, as always. Will he be ok for next week?
1 Edwards - Like Torney, a great game in defence.

TTM

3 Smart
2 Edwards
1 McLeod

ROTY
2 Schuback - pretty decent first game, he looks really good!

Votes to Doughty??? He started OK but after his goal he was CRAP. Burns killed him.

POTY:
5 - Tyson Edwards - our best player by a mile
4 - Jason Torney
3 - Andrew McLeod
2 - Nigel Smart
1 - James Begley

BTM:
3 - Edwards tried all night
2 - Torney
1 - Bickley

ROOKIE:
1 - Schuback. A promising debut. Great goal

A disappointing 3rd quater and overall result....But could have been worse.

We lost because we had too many passengers. No one really put their hand up & got desperate in the middle when the Pies got their 3rd quarter run-on. Whether players were flat because of the WA 6 day break or struggling with the flu who knows. Can't say I'm surprised by the result, so perhaps not as upset as I should be. I wouldn't be too concerned, as I'm confident we can turn it around & give the finals a real shake.

5. Burton - Ran hard all night until injured & gave 100% unlike some of his team mates. Genuine matchwinner & gave the Pies the most problems.
4. Smart - Fought well on Tarrant all night & 2nd/3rd efforts. Has responded well since my harsh but fair criticism.
3. Torney - Again one of the few who gave 100% until the end. Deserved his 2 goals including the bomb from outside 50m.
2. Edwards - Another solid game from Tyson. Cool under pressure - what about that mark when Burton set him up. Good kicking in, in the absence of Benny.
1. McLeod - Good to see Macca get more time in the middle. His ability to get out of packs with the after-burners is amazing. Needs to work on disposal though.

BTM
3. Smart
2. Edwards
1. Biglands - Did well when Ayres put him on Rocca (instead of the obvious choice on McGregor), then turned things around in the centre square after we were getting hammered.

BR
1. Schuback - Saw enough to suggest he may make it later at this level. Has pace, a decent kick for goal (outside 50m) & chased hard/tackled well.

Originally posted by AngelEyes
I hope your joking.

He had a good first half, but there is no way in HELL he was in the top 5 best players. He was on the bench for most of the second half for gods sake.

Originally posted by Sezza_20
POTY:
5 - Tyson Edwards - our best player by a mile

Yeah, I thought so too. Interesting how differently the game is interpreted when you're there as opposed to watching it on TV.

He busted his arse all game, worked extremely hard, and was pretty solid in my opinion. I thought he was great.

Round 20 v Collingwood: votes