earthworms
- Jul 27, 2022
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
We have some of the best small forwards in the league. Ginni, watson, croc aren't even 22 yet. Moore is 24 and will be AA. We've got bruest as well. Bennets in the vfl.
Dimma can swing forward and be highly effective. And all these blokes will probably keep a multiple AA small forward out when he finally gets healthy…We have some of the best small forwards in the league. Ginni, watson, croc aren't even 22 yet. Moore is 24 and will be AA. We've got bruest as well. Bennets in the vfl.
And this is where the flexibility of the team is so damn amazing. We've got multiple people who can sub into so many positions across the ground to allow us to bring in the personnel we want:Wouldn’t be surprised to see Breust either rested or sub this week.
I am guessing the Club is trying to keep he and Gunston as fresh as possible and will rotate them for experience.
With two sub appearances in a row, Finn is likely to be playing a full game this week or being dropped to VFL.
My guess is
IN - Gunston, Morrison
OUT - Breust, Finn
How much of your hard earned are you going to put on that multi? Reckon it could make you a very rich man!If the Pies can find there mojo and do a number on the Blues (60-70 points), Demons beat the Dogs, Crows beat cats, Swans beat Port and we do a number on the Giants (60-70 points), then we could be top 4!
Stranger things have happened
Hahahaha might go put a 50 on itHow much of your hard earned are you going to put on that multi? Reckon it could make you a very rich man!
Giants aren’t going that well tbh.
Only thing is they’re at home and we’re travelling back to back.
Otherwise I’d have us at 70-80% faves to win this.
Right now I’m feeling 50:50.
The last time we travelled back to back weeks it was not pretty, but we’re a different team now.
View attachment 2063167
Splitting hairsThey are not at home Chad.
The game is in Canberra.
Not really, it's nowhere near the fortress Tassie is for us.Splitting hairs
Its their home away from home similar to Tassie for us
They have a losing record at Manuka Oval with 16w and 19l.Splitting hairs
Its their home away from home similar to Tassie for us
Giants are number 1 the comp for pressure over the last 6 weeks of footy.Giants aren’t going that well tbh.
Only thing is they’re at home and we’re travelling back to back.
Otherwise I’d have us at 70-80% faves to win this.
Right now I’m feeling 50:50.
The last time we travelled back to back weeks it was not pretty, but we’re a different team now.
View attachment 2063167
Don't disagree but they have won both their games there this yearThey have a losing record at Manuka Oval with 16w and 19l.
It's not a home ground advantage for us, for sure, but it's not exactly one for them either. We're a deadset certainty to have more supporters show up, much like last time we played them there.Don't disagree but they have won both their games there this year
I don't think playing at Manuka gives us any leg up, going to be a tough road trip
Giants are number 1 the comp for pressure over the last 6 weeks of footy.
They will hunt us.
Sometimes it shows the style of play Geelong and Collingwood rely on getting the ball back. We tend to get the ball firstAccording to Wheelo, GWS is third in pressure acts over the last five weeks behind Collingwood and Geelong. And Hawthorn is dead last.
Sometimes I don’t get these stats. I think I must be reading them wrong.
Pressure rating does not mean pressure acts.According to Wheelo, GWS is third in pressure acts over the last five weeks behind Collingwood and Geelong. And Hawthorn is dead last.
Sometimes I don’t get these stats. I think I must be reading them wrong.
1-0What's our record there?
Pressure rating does not mean pressure acts.
Pressure Points: Weighed sum of pressure acts. Physical pressure acts are worth 3.75 points, closing acts are worth 2.25 points, chasing acts are 1.5 points and corralling are 1.2, no pressure is 1.00.
Pressure Rating is the average of those points per 100 pressure acts. So if all you're doing is corralling you'll have a pressure rating of 120, where if you're always closing in on an opponent with pressure acts you'll be 225+.
Just always keep in mind that when the media are referring to stats, a lot of the time they're using the fancy shmancy stuff that us peons don't have access to. All we can see is "Pressure Acts" which can be anything from corralling to physical pressure, we don't get the weighting.
Our inexperience at the venue is not a good thing.
They do that, every player does have a "Pressure Points" tally (sum of all pressure acts x their pressure rating) it's just not widely provided. We only get Pressure Acts, and when a media outlet decides to provide something else, we get that too.So pressure rating actually measures the average quality of a side’s pressure act, not the amount of pressure actually being applied. But then all things being more or less equal in a game, pressure rating works well enough since the number of pressure acts is close enough from the two sides.
What they should really do is multiply pressure rating by pressure acts to get the actual pressure applied. You would think that a high applied pressure would be very disruptive to an opposition’s scoring chains and total score. And further, an applied pressure driven by pressure act quality rather than quantity should leave more players free to exploit the possible turnover a high quality act is more likely to generate.
Anyways, the stats nerds with access to the data would know if that intuition is correct or not. I’m sure it is fascinating to have access to the top secret room where the graphs and charts are on the big screen displaying the little actions that can lead to big outcomes.
Good. We need to know what it's like. It's another learning game albeit a very important one.Giants are number 1 the comp for pressure over the last 6 weeks of footy.
They will hunt us.
It’s a sellout. Biggest game ever in Canberra.It's not a home ground advantage for us, for sure, but it's not exactly one for them either. We're a deadset certainty to have more supporters show up, much like last time we played them there.