Review Round 23, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Melbourne

Who were your five best players against Melbourne?

Ok, just been on the scandal board....being mentioned on there what was supposedly said and why....wow if true.

Petty's sister was supposedly engaged to one of our players, but she allegedly got very friendly with several of our other players and got pregnant. Said players put money in for an abortion.....they are a very strong catholic family apparently.

Supposedly that came from Dees board.

:eek: Wowee as BT would say.... It will probably stay on the rumour board too if that's what it was. Neither club would want that to get out in the public arena I guess.

Zorko mate what is wrong with you

I thought it might appear too reactionary for some, but taking into account this season as a whole, I tend to agree. I don't think it'll happen though and he will get another year.

I also agree that it might be time for zorks. He has less and less good games and his behaviour, attitude and leadership actively hurts the team.

If he goes on for another year it might tarnish how he's remembered even more.

Zorko mate what is wrong with you

I'd be cautious believing that one, stepped over to the Dees board and the guy who claimed to know what it was about had a massive meltdown. Was geniunely weird. Not saying it isn't it, but how the hell would that guy know literally 5 minutes after the game?

I also agree that it might be time for zorks. He has less and less good games and his behaviour, attitude and leadership actively hurts the team.

Fewer and fewer good games, he has lost pace, persistent injuries and letting the team down through ill-discipline and poor leadership. I think Fages is going to have to embrace feeling a little uncomfortable next season and actually drop and promote players based on form and contribution. Sydney has a legend of the club is Josh Kennedy playing in the 2s.

Thing is too, he's been getting in oppo players faces for a long time now and they have worked out how they can set him off, that in turn rattles the rest of our team...great leadership!

I'd be cautious believing that one, stepped over to the Dees board and the guy who claimed to know what it was about had a massive meltdown. Was geniunely weird. Not saying it isn't it, but how the hell would that guy know literally 5 minutes after the game?

Lol super weird. But the other Melb posters seemed to indicate he is one of their inside word guys.

Been a concern how little we are getting out of Zorko, Lyons and Rich this year. You don't really want to play those guys in the VFL, but on recent form they might/ should all be there next year. Perhaps a big call gets made on Zorko as he is the only one out of contract I think.

When he first started out, Petracca seemed like the most arrogant flog and didn't have the game to back it up. I would have him as one of the best on-field leaders in the AFL right now. So classy all round. Wish we had someone like that.

Yes, I did consider that which is why I put in a few supposedly's and allegedly's because we don't know if its true. I was just repeating what I saw... Perhaps the meltdown guy was another family member or close friend.

Its going to be a looong week for us fans I fear.....it will be in every newspaper/tv news bulletins/social forum/media outlets, on top of hearing about how bad we played...

Lol super weird. But the other Melb posters seemed to indicate he is one of their inside word guys.
The more I think about it, the more likely I think this one could be on the money. I doubt there is actually much truth in the details, but if the sister was involved with a former player and it didn't work out, I can see Zorko bringing it up with Petty. Something along the lines of 'Hey buddy we all remember your sister, great girl we all had a crack, etc, etc. May have been said as a general troll, but considering there was a relationship it would cut pretty deep.

When he first started out, Petracca seemed like the most arrogant flog and didn't have the game to back it up. I would have him as one of the best on-field leaders in the AFL right now. So classy all round. Wish we had someone like that.

Max Gawn as well, making him captain was a genius move..........oh, I've had an idea...

...lets make Matho captain!:grinv1:

(hopefully someone gets a smile out of that, god knows we need it!) I think its time for bed.

I'm not watching Fages presser tonight but if he says one more time this year we've won all the key stats that we pride ourselves on so it was a good effort I'll....

You pride yourself on scoring more than the opposition. That's it.

I bought the footy Record tonight before the game

On EVERY metric shown in the "HOW YOUR TEAM RATES" page, we had Melbourne covered (season to date)

Kicking Efficiency

BL(10) 66.6%, Melb(12) 65.37%

Centre Clearances Differential

BL(9) +0.4, Melb (11) +0.3

Shot- AT-Goal Accuracy

BL(2) 52.8%, Melb(15) 46.5%

Stoppage Clearances Differential

BL(6)+0.6 , Melb(8) +0.3

Scores Per Inside 50

BL(3) 45.4%, Melb (8) 43.2%

Pressure Factor Differential

BL(13) -2.4, Melb(16) -5.2

In tonight's game we won the I50 count by 58-50 lost the contested possessions "only" by 10 (130-14)

Stats do serve some useful analytical purpose but every time we play Melbourne they flip them almost at will. They take away our one wood ,our inside 50 efficiency and also somehow look like world beaters with their own scoring efficiency.

17 scoring shots from 58 entries(us) at a meagre 29% and 25 from 50(them ) at 50%

So what does it all mean?

To me it says two things

1) they live in our heads and they know it and we know it

AND

2) there is a failure at the match planning/ coaching level because every time we play them , it's just rinse and repeat.

I love Fages for how he led us out of the wilderness but he strikes me more as a Manager, rather than a tactician.

I have to wonder whether there is a lack of quality with Assistant Coaches and back up for Fages with match day planning.
It's obvious as well that we need an injection of some serious midfield grunt for us to seriously compete with the best 3 or 4 sides in the comp.

Ashcroft from all reports will be a ready made AFL quality mid next year but it's just too much to expect a first year player to provide the level of support that Lachie desperately needs.

Apparently Dunkley might be on the table and I think that would be an option well worth exploring

Been a concern how little we are getting out of Zorko, Lyons and Rich this year. You don't really want to play those guys in the VFL, but on recent form they might/ should all be there next year. Perhaps a big call gets made on Zorko as he is the only one out of contract I think.
Club announced that Zorko had re-signed for one more year this week.

Deadset embarrassing for the 3rd time. Pray for a honorable finals loss from here. If lions rock up to round 1 with rich, Zorko and matho types next year you might as well jump off. Pathetic list management catching up with us

I'm wondering whether we'll ring some changes ,try something different.

Unlikely now that we've come this far.

I really don't want any changes unless forced to be honest. I'd like for Fagan to complete his journey of vindication with Lyons and some of the older players. We've come this far - might as well see this through in 2022.

Was 2021 GF in reverse - just WOW

Everything Dees touched was magical and turned to gold

Lions had enough of the footy and enough entries - forward line was rubbish and no cohesion - talls especially (one of McStay and Hipwood has to go)

FMD how hard were Lachie and the Suitcase working though - tried their ***** off

And in defensive transition got burnt bad - need a couple of shutdown rebound defenders as Gardiner and Richy not quick enough anymore - Jayden Hunt?

And need a big body FB badly as Harris needs to move to CHB as he can't take on the bigger forwards

Bezza didn't look good - he does have 2 weeks though (hit the hyperbaric chamber)

Will have to challenge any Rayner suspension

Reserves play top of the table and undefeated Casey Saturday - be an interesting watch to see who stakes a claim

So did everyone watch the whole game? I stopped watching with 2mins34sec left in the 4th quarter. Then I spent the next hour in bed wondering why I even kept watching it for that long.

I still think we can beat Richmond at home if that's the matchup. Not too many other posters are with me. But we'll see.

So did everyone watch the whole game? I stopped watching with 2mins34sec left in the 4th quarter. Then I spent the next hour in bed wondering why I even kept watching it for that long.

I still think we can beat Richmond at home if that's the matchup. Not too many other posters are with me. But we'll see.
out of pure pettiness if its a bad loss I stop watching like 1 second before the final siren just so I don't have to watch the opposition celebrate.

And yeh I agree with you re: Richmond. All on the line, we may completely fail, but we have the ability to really make our mark on the match if things go our way.

even watching it live I knew the result 10 mins in :(
Tactically we played the same game plan that was not working for the whole game.
I posted this about 6 weeks ago, your so right, we just have the same game plan, the same players, over and over.
25564-Albert-Einstein-Quote-Insanity-is-doing-the-same-thing-over-and.jpg

At one point (towards end of 3rd) a commentator said Brisbane has 1 MORE forward entry than Melbourne! An amazing stat, which if is true, shows the midfield was actually working (if not perfectly). Our backs were lethargic, disinterested, over matched. Our forwards were lazy, outmatched.

The workrate of the Melbourne backs and forwards destroyed us.

If the stories are true; Zorko destroyed any possible moral positive in the whole debacle. I said 2 months ago 'Lions look like chokers". Well, now its official.

I took my daughter to watch the Carlton game a couple of weeks ago. She hadnt been to a lions game before, so she was excited and supposed to be a bit special... Anyway, during the gamei felt i had to apologize to her for the Lions performance. Although Brisbane were winning comfortably, it was just a matter of Brisbane being less bad than Carlton! The skill errors on both sides weere a disgrace for highly paid, full time profesional athletes.

Next day media and fans were saying Brisbane played well...??!!! FFS. It was obvious then that Brisbane were nowhere near their best. Last night they didnt meet a poorly performing Carlton. No, they got humiliated by the reigning premiers who seem to love slaughtering Lions..

Choked out.... and submitted.

Review Round 23, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Melbourne