Review Round 23, 2024 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

Really; a grand final loss is something to show is it?

Cmon; how can you say that with a straight face.

Next thing you’ll be telling me that finishing second and third at the Olympics is something to go ape shit about.

I'd be so far beyond ape shit excited if i got a bronze medal at the Olympics. Or even just a spot on the olympics team. 10 years of training and I couldn't even make a national team. Such a loser eh. Except I wouldn't trade my experience for anything.

Best ever sports spectator moment - gold Coast commonwealth games men's marathon. Stayed at the finish line till every competitor finished. We cheered like madmen for every single one of them. The ones who had a bad day, the ones who had blown up and could only focus on finishing even if it was their personal worst result in a decade, the Irish guy who had the ambulance cart him off.

Those guys didn't get a medal but I can still see them on that last stretch and i can't remember anything about the winners.

Winning is great, but losing while trying isn't failure.

Fagan can’t kick goals for us. For me, that is far and away our biggest issue - as martinson said it’s demoralising. What’s troubling is it hasn’t improved over the last few years. Even Gunston who was a dead eye against us, and is again, couldn’t kick straight for us. Not sure what the answer is - maybe a review of our sports psychologist?
We have done exceptionally well to be playing finals from where we were. We need a soft kill next week to regain some confidence and then hope Berry/Payne are back and that we avoid the Hawks. Not over yet, but going to be mighty hard from here.

The other thing that perplexed me was that Dev must be really on the nose if we had Sharp in ahead of him. Sharpie's disposal has been the same since he started. Dev's just so much better in close and his disposal is miles better , not that it's all that hot either.
That is 100% on Fagan. I said it before the game, playing Sharp ahead of Robertson made no sense. It made less sense after Berry’s night was cut short.

f-me 12 pages already. Must have been a hell of an implosion.

So, I managed to listen to about 3 minutes of the first quarter in the car, but otherwise missed the game.

Someone want to tell me what happened.

And what's with all the Dev talk?

f-me 12 pages already. Must have been a hell of an implosion.

So, I managed to listen to about 3 minutes of the first quarter in the car, but otherwise missed the game.

Someone want to tell me what happened.

And what's with all the Dev talk?
What happened was that we inexplicably have coughed it up 2 weeks running.

I just raised the point I would've had Dev in ahead of Sharp.

No other talk really

The tackle numbers the past 2 weeks and the related differentials speaks for itself. Bunch of soft front runners.

Do you know in our big wins against the Saints, Port and Richmond we had significantly less tackles

We are a poor tackling team but we’re also first to the footy more so tend to tackle less

The other thing that perplexed me was that Dev must be really on the nose if we had Sharp in ahead of him. Sharpie's disposal has been the same since he started. Dev's just so much better in close and his disposal is miles better , not that it's all that hot either.
Sharp may be a great runner and athlete but you see better players in the QAFL and no doubt strong country and suburban leagues in VIC.

Do you know in our big wins against the Saints, Port and Richmond we had significantly less tackles

We are a poor tackling team but we’re also first to the footy more so tend to tackle less
Not the case today but. And the unwillingness of players to get physical cost us.

We just don't adjust. Crazy

I was at the game and the most striking thing about our performance was the lack of ‘on field’ leadership we displayed in clutch moments. As on previous occasions, we just don’t have anyone to rally players and stem the tide when it runs against us. I think this is also evident when players are trying and failing to convert easy set shots. Cam Rayner’s miss tonight was a classic example. He needed a team mate in his ear when he got the free kick bugger all out, dead in front, reminding him of the need to kick the goal and reinforcing whatever techniques they employ at training.

When Brain was consistently missing kicks and coughing it up (cue Collingwood’s first goal in the second quarter) he should have had a team leader in his ear giving him a bake and getting his head into the game.

Just got home from the G. Well what can i say that probably hasnt already been spoken about. First of all when Joey was running the ball down to cheersquad end and charlie was seriously 15 metres in front of his opponent and Joey decides to go for a bounce and stuff the thing up. He could see charlie running towards the goal square but did not kick it to him and tried to bounce. No good this play Joey sorry. Zac Bailey, okay if you dont decide to handball then at least get your kick away, surely you would have scored something i reckon. Geez that was frustratating . I have not watched the replay yet but when Mccreery kicked that goal was anyone goal side of him at all. Need to see it again but noone seemed to be near him.
What another frustrating day from our footy club. Not sure what it is, when the going gets really tough do we really want to get down and dirty, i dont know. Im having a sleep on it but seriously another frustrating day today.

Final 5 mins, Pies got 6 free kicks to 0.

The problem is, 4 of them were there, and 1 was 50/50. Only 1 I disagreed with. The non-calls weren't great, and gee it was frustrating... but still, we gave the Pies too much chance to get back in the game.

Hippy’s tackle was really poor. Only one I got angry about was calling ah chee for a throw - Dunkley took it out of his hands!

Geelong just blew a 33 point halftime lead to the Saints who we beat by 85 points just two weeks ago. They even were down by 30 before kicking the final 2 goals. They are probably considered the least mentally weak side in the competition and they let a downtrodden Saints team do that to them.

It’s an open season.

Sharp may be a great runner and athlete but you see better players in the QAFL and no doubt strong country and suburban leagues in VIC.
Should I invoke the U12’s for a ‘pound for pound’ comparison?

Review Round 23, 2024 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions