Autopsy Round 3, 2023: Hawks skin the Roos

Greene comes out before Wingard IMO. Breust has been struggling these last two weeks too, especially today.
Tough call and may depend on oppo... Having had a second watch this morning in WA, I was even more impressed with some of Greene's contest work, with our absence of a good first or second tall atm.. His set up of Brockman's sealer in last an example.. Mitch back, he becomes better as won't cop monster backman as well.. Not sure who else might go out though... Good problem...

Greene has been really impressive to me .
Has natural forward craft and competes in the air . If he hadnt had the yips he would have had really decent start this season.

Put Lewis in with him , Bruest , Brocky and the like and we suddenly have a multi pronged dangerous forwardline .

He is an absolute persist with for mine .
Should have read this before getting involved... Agreed after second watch of game..

He's been handy, but once Lewis comes back I suspect our best forward unit will include Lewis, Wingard, Brockman and Breust as the dedicated forwards near goals.
Big step forward for Fergus today. He made heaps of contests when outnumbered and refused to concede.

Lewis coming back means Fergus will become the second aerial target who can actually take a grab. The rucks clearly aren’t doing that.

He also gives a bit of ground level pressure too.

I’d keep Greene in for sure

Regarding Will Day, I thought he had potential but didn’t see the star quality every one was raving on about, yesterday I found out I was a moron.
Sign him up now!

Meek was sold as an aggressive physical presence, yesterday and in a prac match against Collingwood I’ve seen him brace for contact that wasn’t there and drop the ball. Someone tell him how big he is, needs to be better.

Scrim not in best 22? STFU, he would get a game in nearly every team in the league.

Dylan Moore is my favourite player, and I don’t think he has reached his ceiling. What a story and what an inspiration, well done young man❤️

Hawthorn win the clearances 43 24, and this time we didn't waste that first use.

Augurs well for the future. (opposition-best-midfielder-late-out notwithstanding.)

Frost was good. He owed us after his dreadful first two rounds and he delivered, despite some typically baffling decisions. But he kept Larkey quiet, which was his main job.
I don't think good is the right term...perhaps better is more apt.

His first two possessions were turnovers so started really poorly. Typical mixed bag from him. We ain't reaching any great heights whilst he is in the side.

Last year we were 18th for Centre Clearances and 18th for Total Clearances.

We're only 3 rounds in and there are games to be played, but right now we're equal 1st for Centre Clearances and 10th for Total Clearances.

So if any one asks what Sam Mitchell and the Footy Dept were doing 'gutting the list' show them this.

Just watched the replay as I didn’t get to see it live yesterday.
Really showed how important Scrimshaw and Morrison are to our structure and play.
Our midfield was again strong.
Really like McDonalds game, he’s so clean and a superb link player
Moore is a genuine star.
Defence held up well, and functioned so much better with the old gang back together

I'm worried about Kane. He's become our biggest cheerleader in the media this year.
Dunno what magic Sam Mitchell has worked on him, but I'm actually liking him now
Kane is a contrarian, it is popular to shit on the Hawks at the moment for the direction we went with the list build so he must go the other way.

Kane wants to cause arguments so he takes the opposite view, nothing more. No reason to like Kane, people like him are the biggest issues with sports media. He is and always will be a flog.

I don't think good is the right term...perhaps better is more apt.

His first two possessions were turnovers so started really poorly. Typical mixed bag from him. We ain't reaching any great heights whilst he is in the side.
Frost was great yesterday. He attacked the ball like he usually does but this time it paid off almost every time.

We're only 3 rounds in and there are games to be played, but right now we're equal 1st for Centre Clearances and 10th for Total Clearances.

So if any one asks what Sam Mitchell and the Footy Dept were doing 'gutting the list' show them this.

Its almost like it is Lewis and Gunston missing from our structure that is the issue for us, not the trading of O’Meara and Mitchell…. Almost like exactly what Sam told FC.

Sweet stats!!!

Impact though?:grimacing::grimacing:
Put it this way when Stratts took over as captain his statistical output (which was never huge) took a massive drop.

I'm just happy that Sicily hasn't let being caption affect his own game, if anything he has elevated it to other level.

You can argue impact vs stats to the cows come home but let's not kid ourselves that taking 18 marks in a game isn't an impressive feat.

To anyone at the ground, just out of interest, was there any interaction between Clarko and Sammy after the game? Did they shake hands? I didn't see anything on telly....

On averages we are equal second for CC
1680394266056.png

But we traded away our bets two clearance players so we must be tanking.

Also a big LOL at the ****ing overly dramatic nuffies bemoaning about a winless season after two games.

You guys are cut of the same cloth as those in the media accusing us of tanking. Pull yourselves together.

I never once felt losing JOM and Titch was a big deal long term. Like they clearly weren’t part of the future. Obviousely losing Big Boy as second ruck hurts as Meek and Reeves aren’t great forwards and Gunston is obvious.

But I just love the midfield mix we have height in Day and Nash, bulls with power in Newc and Worps snd the classy two way runners in Mackenzie, McDonald and Ward and then we have Moore and Amon to throw in there. Will take a few years but the pieces are there.

I do feel Finn is purely depth as is Bramble. Finn is a good tagged but I’d rather Nash just go head to head with guys like Bont, Neale, De Goey etc as he is menacing. And finn just doesn’t do anything beyond tag. Bramble is a butcher.

Morrison straightens up the team a lot as while he doesn’t have pace, he brings a lot of composure when he pushes back to help the backline and slingshot it forward

Autopsy Round 3, 2023: Hawks skin the Roos