Preview Round 3, 2023: St.Kilda v Essendon - MCG, Saturday 1st April, 7:25PM AEDT *150 YEARS OF THE SAINTS*

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 74 72.5%
  • Bombers

Votes: 28 27.5%

We don't have all that many options for tall defenders ATM with Zerk going down.
Reid is getting over injuries and barely played any senior footy.
Stewart is injured again, and we are trialling Baldwin as a defender in the VFL.
The selectors would have deemed he needs more time at the lower level in a new role.

If we have to go into a game with a collection of medium tall defenders, this is probably the game with King and Membrey OUT.

Ridley, Laverde & Jake Kelly probably pick up Cordy, Caminiti & Owens.
Ive been told that Mason Wood is playing off a wing, but he will need to be watched floating forward.
He is playing some good footy.
Langford will probably spend periods in defence with the addition of Stringer and Weiderman back in the forward line, and he gives us a little more height and another mature body back there.

Redman will be released to play interceptor, and you should put some work into him.
He's flying.
I know we will do the same with Sinclair.

Its going to be an intriguing game.
Cordy--> Laverde
Caminiti--> Ridley
Phillipou--> Kelly
Owens--> Redman
Owens has got enough physicality and a big enough tank to make Redman accountable. He'll still probably get off the chain but hopefully Owens can limit his impact.

Agree.
But generally its the ones who give the club a kick on the way out, like Bruce did, that understandably cop it.
Not 100% sure but I think Hind may have had a bit to say too, which is unfortunate because we gave him his chance.
No problem with Longy going for more opportunity and a better offer.

Generally though, if players choose to leave for a better payday then that's their right.
Its the reason why, although sad to see him go at the time, I would never blame BJ for doing so and am happy he's back.
Hind was played out of position for the most part. I could understand his frustration. Essendon came knocking, needing to replace Saad. No brainer really.

Agree.
But generally its the ones who give the club a kick on the way out, like Bruce did, that understandably cop it.
Not 100% sure but I think Hind may have had a bit to say too, which is unfortunate because we gave him his chance.
No problem with Longy going for more opportunity and a better offer.

Generally though, if players choose to leave for a better payday then that's their right.
Its the reason why, although sad to see him go at the time, I would never blame BJ for doing so and am happy he's back.

I just see it as a bit of theatre. I hold no grudges against the player. Usually it's the trade that pisses me off. If clubs like Geelong and the Dogs low ball us I hate them not the player but still like the booing as a bit of added entertainment.

Anyone want a free ticket?
I was hoping for level 2 but settled for level 4 row D then the next day there was a level 2 so I got that as well, I paid the 90c for a refundable ticket so thought I could get most of the money back but now reading the fine print you need a doctors letter or some sort of evidence for why you can't attend.
Pretty annoying... I thought I'd just be able to click a button.
Oh so you bought 2 tickets now I’m going to have to let Sun Ra know my crowd prediction instead of being 77,358, will have to change to 77,359, bloody paperwork 🥴

Whole forum has gone down hill - dominated by a few who think its their own personal "front bar".

No wonder there's fewer and fewer people actually posting anbout footy on here.
6DD296DD-398C-4DF2-BE43-13FA35636EC3.jpeg

Cordy--> Laverde
Caminiti--> Ridley
Phillipou--> Kelly
Owens--> Redman
Owens has got enough physicality and a big enough tank to make Redman accountable. He'll still probably get off the chain but hopefully Owens can limit his impact.
Those match ups look pretty spot on.
Phillipou is a strong kid and will need a Kelly type body on body match up.

Owens must prepare to work up the ground and be on alert, as Redman loves a goal and his team mates use him anywhere near 55 out.

That was a tricky draft. Huge changes if we reranked them all now.
Some years it really pays to not have had the #1 pick!
But Rayner's still got time. LDU has only just come good, and still waiting on Clark and Coff. And he's far from the worst #1 anyway.

That was one of the best drafts in years. Brisbane haven't got heaps out of Rayner but Zac Bailey looks an absolute star of the future.

LDU was injured early on and came on last year.

Plenty of that draft came on quickly but some have dropped off or levelled out.
Naughton
Andrew Brayshaw
Oscar Allen
Fritsch
Liam Ryan
Tim Kelly
Balta
Zac Bailey
Tom McCartin
Petty
Worpol
Stephenson
Then plenty of good but not outstanding talent like Ed Richards, Paton, Cerra, Spargo etc

A few are still developing like DeKoning, Hunter Clark, O'Brien, Ballard, Rayner, Bonar, Higgins and Coffield.

If none of our guys make it past GOP status it will be a major stuff up to have so many goes at it and miss them all.

The Royal Pom, right next door. Three piece chalk stripe suit, bowler hat and walking cane required for entry. High tea and cucumber sandwiches served pre-match. Flannel shirts strictly prohibited.
Will Captain Cook be there too?

We don't have all that many options for tall defenders ATM with Zerk going down.
Reid is getting over injuries and barely played any senior footy.
Stewart is injured again, and we are trialling Baldwin as a defender in the VFL.
The selectors would have deemed he needs more time at the lower level in a new role.

If we have to go into a game with a collection of medium tall defenders, this is probably the game with King and Membrey OUT.

Ridley, Laverde & Jake Kelly probably pick up Cordy, Caminiti & Owens.
Ive been told that Mason Wood is playing off a wing, but he will need to be watched floating forward.
He is playing some good footy.
Langford will probably spend periods in defence with the addition of Stringer and Weiderman back in the forward line, and he gives us a little more height and another mature body back there.

Redman will be released to play interceptor, and you should put some work into him.
He's flying.
I know we will do the same with Sinclair.

Its going to be an intriguing game.

Redman looks like a gun, I'd sit a player on him for sure, we seem to be playing Hill as running high HF but he's not very defensive, not sure who they could swap on to him. Ridley is an excellent defender and it will be interesting to see who they send him to. Owens is probably the most damaging but maybe too slippery for him.

How's Laverde going as a defender? Kelly is a solid player.

Unlike you to be sooking it up, usually you offer great insight. Hope you’re ok x
He has taken a hit since his Nas InSiDe iNfO went **** up. He's an old campaigner though so can't begrudge him on his bad temper.

Reckon he'll take this post seriously too, let's wait and see

I had a dream that the AFL moved this game to 4pm at the last minute for no reason, and only a few players rocked up. Robert Harvey and some no names threw on the jumper to make up the numbers, alas, we were beaten by 150 on our 150th.

Just mentioning in case it comes into fruition, hard to tell my dreams from visions these days. Local oracle still reckons Saints by 10 goals tho.
Surely a few of us could have jumped on field. Though I guess it would have been 150 goals if we were on field

I just see it as a bit of theatre. I hold no grudges against the player. Usually it's the trade that pisses me off. If clubs like Geelong and the Dogs low ball us I hate them not the player but still like the booing as a bit of added entertainment.
And most of the time the trades we’ve been angry about haven’t even paid off for the new club. Stuv made me angry that they got him for nothing then he played like 5 games and none were better than a GOP also got stabbed

Redman looks like a gun, I'd sit a player on him for sure, we seem to be playing Hill as running high HF but he's not very defensive, not sure who they could swap on to him. Ridley is an excellent defender and it will be interesting to see who they send him to. Owens is probably the most damaging but maybe too slippery for him.

How's Laverde going as a defender? Kelly is a solid player.
Laverde is a competitor, though i feel he is down on confidence.
He struggles on taller opponents with reach, thus has had some bags kicked on him in the past 12 months.

McGrath is beginning to use his running to provide drive out of the backline (keeping Hind out of the side).
I'm not sure if Hill would be used to quell McGrath as a defensive forward ?

Those match ups look pretty spot on.
Phillipou is a strong kid and will need a Kelly type body on body match up.

Owens must prepare to work up the ground and be on alert, as Redman loves a goal and his team mates use him anywhere near 55 out.

Yeah, he's a hard match up. He's probably one of the most improved players in footy in the last 2 years. I remember seeing couple of stats comparisons for running HBs last year and he was right up there.

Anyone else perplexed by the Bomber's backline. Their tallest defender is Ridley who's probably going to roll off and try to intercept. Apart from him no one else is key position height. Could see the Hammer have a fairly dominant game in the air if the conditions are good.
To be honest I don’t think they will need tall backs against our tall forwards. Cordy and caminiti are going ok but I’m not sure they are capable of kicking a bag. We just have to break level in the midfield and we probably should win.

Laverde is a competitor, though i feel he is down on confidence.
He struggles on taller opponents with reach, thus has had some bags kicked on him in the past 12 months.

McGrath is beginning to use his running to provide drive out of the backline (keeping Hind out of the side).
I'm not sure if Hill would be used to quell McGrath as a defensive forward ?

Hill struggles to defend, he's better than he was but he usually tries to make someone accountable for him but running off them. I'd almost put Byrnes on Redman and hope that Hill can make McGrath follow him around. McGrath has him on strength, Hill has him on run.

Battle seems like a great Stringer match up IMO too. Athletic and strong with just a good amount of prick about him.

String gonna be chasing the handsome bastard off half back all day too, not known for his cardio big Jakey.
Well that’s where he needs to take an advantage because I’m not sure stringer will be even told to chase. Well he will but it will be token chases. For some reason I thought stringer did well against us. Could be my imagination. They have us with talls up forward. We have them with smalls. We also have better backs than their backs.

Cordy--> Laverde
Caminiti--> Ridley
Phillipou--> Kelly
Owens--> Redman
If I was Essendon I’d play red man on caminiti. He will be able to get off him more than owens but then we would probably play caminiti deep. Anyway match ups last for about a minutes tgen it’s all team defence.

Hill struggles to defend, he's better than he was but he usually tries to make someone accountable for him but running off them. I'd almost put Byrnes on Redman and hope that Hill can make McGrath follow him around. McGrath has him on strength, Hill has him on run.

Butler will take one of their runners (probably McChin) & use his pace to keep him accountable... then try to burn them when it gets turned it over.

Our team defence has been great so far in stopping opposition run off half back & keeping them out of the corridor. Hopefully that continues tomorrow night.

Reckon Mitchito will take Ridley...maybe Maso on Redman, Caminiti on Laverde, Scud on whoever else they're got.

Well that’s where he needs to take an advantage because I’m sure stringer will be even gold to chase. Well he will but it will be token chases. For some reason I thought stringer did well against us. Could be my imagination. They have us with talls up forward. We have them with smalls. We also have better backs than their backs.
From memory he was okay against us last time, kicked a couple but had a big physical impact. Redman was best on and Wright kicked a bag.

Stringer coming back from injury (and let be honest, he looks horrendously out of shape) and no Wright helps alot. Play a defensive forward on Redman and win or split the middle and it should be simple with the new found frontal pressure.

Butler will take one of their runners (probably McChin) & use his pace to keep him accountable... then try to burn them when it gets turned it over.

Our team defence has been great so far in stopping opposition run off half back & keeping them out of the corridor. Hopefully that continues tomorrow night.

Reckon Mitchito will take Ridley...maybe Maso on Redman, Caminiti on Laverde, Scud on whoever else they're got.
Actually forgot about Zlugger... mark him down for 5+

That was one of the best drafts in years. Brisbane haven't got heaps out of Rayner but Zac Bailey looks an absolute star of the future.

LDU was injured early on and came on last year.

Plenty of that draft came on quickly but some have dropped off or levelled out.
Naughton
Andrew Brayshaw
Oscar Allen
Fritsch
Liam Ryan
Tim Kelly
Balta
Zac Bailey
Tom McCartin
Petty
Worpol
Stephenson
Then plenty of good but not outstanding talent like Ed Richards, Paton, Cerra, Spargo etc

A few are still developing like DeKoning, Hunter Clark, O'Brien, Ballard, Rayner, Bonar, Higgins and Coffield.

If none of our guys make it past GOP status it will be a major stuff up to have so many goes at it and miss them all.
Yes we should talk about it if they don’t come good even though no one is there now who selected them. Also it’s a lot of crap looking at star players taken 10 or more picks after ours because that means most clubs rated them like we did. I really think you should only go around 5 picks after ours. Also no recruiter knows about injuries. Our two still haven’t had a good go. Coffield had one full year and was 5th in the b and f in about season 3. That’s bloody good.