Preview Round 5: Port Adelaide vs Carlton, Adelaide Oval, 21/04/17

The North game was more just them being paid every possible free kick known to man all day.

The Carlton game was a mixture of that, our players being brutalised (see R.Gary) without penalty, poor calls on marks, umpire interference in the play (umpire blocking Hartlett's kick, the Armfield play on shambles, the Colquhoun non mark), etc. Never felt so cheated out of a game.

Yep. Carlton knew they could get away with pretty much anything that day. It was fury inducing.

Just a reminder of the 2015 shit show to fire you up before Friday

As the author of that piece it was just icing on the cake of a particularly shit performance by us. While it was infuriating how bad the umpiring was that day, check out the other clip I put together which as far as I was concerned at the time was worse.

The first Ebo WTF was the one I referred to above, I thought the Schulz ,is was a bit closer but he still should've kicked it. That was the day his wife in hospital wasn't it?

I was out of the country in 2015 and I don't recall ever seeing the game. Did they ever justify the decision to bounce the ball after the Hoon marked it? Like, every other example I can think of where something similar happened it would've just been play on. Was it ever mentioned? Did the media run with it? Anything?

Putting that aside I think we're going to give them a belting guys. Last couple of years results are fresh in the mind and Port's problem this year isn't their endeavour, which is what would **** us over in similar games in past years. Port will win this by 10 goals plus. Robbie will have an absolute field day.

We should win this very convincingly but two things will drive me nuts

1) if we don't crush them but instead cruise to a win
2) certain posters will gloat after a Carlton win about how this now proves that all is perfect at Port and how we have no problems: not in coaching, selection, structure, game plan, effort or skills - see the win against Carlton proves this point.

Don't get me wrong I think we actually could be good enough to bat deep into the finals if we stop trying to thwart our own progress. Everyone at the club is accountable. But some would say any criticism is treasonous. I expect to be rounded up and shot very soon.

2) certain posters will gloat after a Carlton win about how this now proves that all is perfect at Port and how we have no problems: not in coaching, selection, structure, game plan, effort or skills - see the win against Carlton proves this point.

Don't get me wrong I think we actually could be good enough to bat deep into the finals if we stop trying to thwart our own progress. Everyone at the club is accountable. But some would say any criticism is treasonous. I expect to be rounded up and shot very soon.

Who would be dumb enough to suggest winning against a shit side like Carlton proves anything? We could win by 100+ and it would be expected.

Some games are just unexplainable - we were drugged or something - some of the efforts:(

I think we should just enjoy the wins as they come. After the last couple of years I'll be glad even if we only beat carlton by 6 goals.

That wins against Sydney and Fremantle were thoroughly enjoyable, more of that please Port.

After last year's abysmal record at home Port supporters surely deserve to savour every possible win at Adelaide Oval in 2017.

The win/loss ledger is even so far. Contesting finals this year is surely dependant on Ports moving ahead of the ledger with a confidence and percentage building win on Friday night.

Carlton are hot garbage. Even if we don't fix last week's selection mistakes, we'll still destroy them.

Ah the classic over confidence in our list/under rating of our opponents!

The match up I am worried about is Simpson and Gibbs, maybe we should put SPP on Gibbs as a tagger?

We should be aiming for 4th this year, as I recall we have a good run home not travelling much in the last 6 weeks.

To do that we need to be going 6-2.

That starts with not just beating Carlton but flogging them.

Flog Carlton, flog Brisbane, get the % up and position ourselves for a solid run.

FLOG CARLTON FARKIN!

We should be aiming for 4th this year, as I recall we have a good run home not travelling much in the last 6 weeks.

To do that we need to be going 6-2.

That starts with not just beating Carlton but flogging them.

Flog Carlton, flog Brisbane, get the % up and position ourselves for a solid run.

FLOG CARLTON FARKIN!
At least the boys showed a newly found trait against Fremantle: when we had the foot on their throat, we never released the pressure at any stage. In recent years we would have won that game by 5 goals, so it was really pleasing to ram home the advantage the way we did.

Obviously the number one priority on Friday night is to win the game, but if we get the opportunity to bury them, one would hope that same ruthlessness will be on display.

I did the ladder predictor and we win the Premiership this year it's ok. Seriously though we should be in it up to our eyeballs.

Although unless some teams get woken up soon both the Crows and GWS have a good run and teams that could potentially challenge them will not be with a home ground advantage. However the season is long and so many factors influence wins and losses and teams that run on top of the ground early rarely keep it up all season. But I fall for it every year all the same.

Reckon Carlton might be more competitive than we give them credit for, they got some class in Cripps bolstering their midfield, reckon we get the job done by 30+ points still.

I think we're on the level of Adelaide and GWS, and will end up better than both by the end of the year.

It's not that Carlton are that bad...just like Fremantle aren't that bad...it's that we are that good.

I'll be very surprised if Carlton kick more than 50 points.

Should win and win comfortably.
At the moment it's about the 4 points and we've seen what we've dished up against this mob in the past.

Besides, ANZAC around, Friday night prime time at AO against a decent drawing side!
Wouldn't want to be any where else!

#carnports
#lestweforget

Preview Round 5: Port Adelaide vs Carlton, Adelaide Oval, 21/04/17