Autopsy Round 6, 2020: Fremantle v St.Kilda

I feel like you've never watched a Crouch brother play if you think they are the answer of our midfield.
I feel like you’re misunderstanding my point, I’m not saying they’re the saving grace, I’m saying they’d be a hell of an upgrade on most of our spuds - if that’s all that’s available

I know it’s easy to bash players when we lose but just some thoughts from today’s game after I’ve calmed down.

hill is genuinely scared of contact. Saw him shirk from a contest at least twice today where he should of put his body on the line.I don’t care if your an outside mid, when it’s your turn to go, you go.

coffield was far from our worse today but he still seems to freeze when he has pressure on him at a ground ball. He also has a lot off work to do on his contested side of his game.

Clark has obvious class and talent but still has a long way to go to build his tank and his work rate. Is always gassed after half time and fades out of games.

Lonie needs a spell. Hasn’t had much impact all year, which is fine when we are winning but doesn’t get his hands on the ball enough.

i thought gresh tried hard today but he is a shell of the player I thought he was about to become. Looks like a glorified Luke dunstan in the middle the way he kicks the footy and runs into traffic. Still young but has really stagnated.

none of our core group have the ability to stand up and take the game by the scruff of the neck when we need it. Billings, Steele, Gresham, ross.

battle had zero influence on the game.Has a lot of talent but can’t nail down a position.

You know what you get from jones, he will scrap all day for you but you know his skills will ocassionally key you down.

Marshall had a bad day today but he hasn’t done much wrong since the start of last year so I wouldn’t be to stressed about him.

Ross thinks he is pendlebury in traffic always trying to dance around traffic and always gets caught. Is probably a ripping bloke but he seems to have a bit of a figjam attitude while playing.

king, butler quiet today but have been good all year.

Kent and marsh are only average players and might need a spell.

In: bytel, Ryder, byrnes

out: long, Marsh, lonie

Carlisle and Battle had nothing to do. It was a waste of positions that could have been taken by runners. They just showed highlights, what in the actual **** were our defenders doing. Hardly anyone back with a few loose Dockers late in the game.

A player that gets the ball going towards their teams goals 25-30+ times a game is far more valuable to us than a supremely skillful player that gets it 10 times.

We have far too many guys in our midfield that are second to the ball.

Guys like hill only come into the game if it's being farmed out by guys who get to the ball first.
We bring in a guy like brad crouch (for free) and all of a sudden we would start getting full value out of hill too.
The Crouch brothers have two of the lowest disposal to score involvement ratios in the AFL.

Who cares if they get the ball 30 times if they dont impact the game with 25 of them. The last thing need to more accumulators who dont actually make us a better side with their disposal.

The Crouch brothers have two of the lowest disposal to score involvement ratios in the AFL.

Who cares if they get the ball 30 times if they dont impact the game with 25 of them. The last thing need to more accumulators who dont actually make us a better side with their disposal.
Pretty hard to argue we have better. Adelaide have problems we don’t have and visa versa

Again another who goes from one extreme to another. No wonder the likes of you lose the Plot when we lose
How exactly did I lose the plot?

I'm not even phased by this loss. Re-read the thread.

I haven't come in swearing. I haven't said how terrible the loss is.

If you look at this loss without the emotion in it then it's more our form line to date. Its what this side is capable of. Our best football has improved under richo but there are glaring holes in our capability.

I reckon what ever I wrote has obviously rubbed you up the wrong way because you've gone out of your way to respond to me and others about how dramatic it all is and how its lost the plot.

You've been claiming for years and years its not that bad. Nothings changed. We are hovering in the same spot of the ladder. Havent played finals. So maybe you're content with that. Maybe you don't see it as that bad.

I dont reckon that is where the majority of saints supporters view it. I reckon they're hungry and desperate for some success.

Pretty hard to argue we have better. Adelaide have problems we don’t have and visa versa
They aren't the 800k plus we would have to pay them better.

Paying that amount for little improvement is bad list management. We need to spend that money on players who will impact the game not players who will provide minor improvement at maximum cost.

The Crouch brothers rack up the ball but have minimal impact on the actual game.
They are the last type of player we need in our midfield.

I agree but they aren't the last thing we need. We need Matt and probably a spread mid who can start running confident that we'll win first use. A young Hanners is ideal.

How exactly did I lose the plot?

I'm not even phased by this loss. Re-read the thread.

I haven't come in swearing. I haven't said how terrible the loss is.

If you look at this loss without the emotion in it then it's more our form line to date. Its what this side is capable of. Our best football has improved under richo but there are glaring holes in our capability.

I reckon what ever I wrote has obviously rubbed you up the wrong way because you've gone out of your way to respond to me and others about how dramatic it all is and how its lost the plot.

You've been claiming for years and years its not that bad. Nothings changed. We are hovering in the same spot of the ladder. Havent played finals. So maybe you're content with that. Maybe you don't see it as that bad.

I dont reckon that is where the majority of saints supporters view it. I reckon they're hungry and desperate for some success.
The previous post by you was typical blaming everything to do with club

Rest? Why? Talk about changing players a week at a time. So do strange.
What does so do strange mean?
It’s a strange season where we are going to have to do 4 day turn arounds in all likelyhood. The players will be fatigue soon. This isn’t based on today’s game. I think he hasn’t been consistent all year. Don’t think he is anywhere near last years form

Based on that why does hill get one more chance and Ross doesn’t. Makes no sense to me. Both will play next week but after that it could get interesting

They wont drop Hill, the big offseason recruit. But yes they hopefully get a tap on the shoulder during the week and are told you're on notice. Hill is out of form and has had some good moments but his attack on the footy is piss weak atm. He is playing like a classic sheep dog

Ross just looks cooked to me. He gets a few rushed kicks and a few handballs to teammates feet a game and **** all tackles. He has gone from BnF to a list clogger in 6 months.

I agree but they aren't the last thing we need. We need Matt and probably a spread mid who can start running confident that we'll win first use. A young Hanners is ideal.
The problem i see is our entire list strategy right now is built around being successful within 3 years.

What happens if we don't achieve that and how do we address some of the lost pieces in the list that will occur in 3 years time?

I know it’s easy to bash players when we lose but just some thoughts from today’s game after I’ve calmed down.

hill is genuinely scared of contact. Saw him shirk from a contest at least twice today where he should of put his body on the line.I don’t care if your an outside mid, when it’s your turn to go, you go.

coffield was far from our worse today but he still seems to freeze when he has pressure on him at a ground ball. He also has a lot off work to do on his contested side of his game.

Clark has obvious class and talent but still has a long way to go to build his tank and his work rate. Is always gassed after half time and fades out of games.

Lonie needs a spell. Hasn’t had much impact all year, which is fine when we are winning but doesn’t get his hands on the ball enough.

i thought gresh tried hard today but he is a shell of the player I thought he was about to become. Looks like a glorified Luke dunstan in the middle the way he kicks the footy and runs into traffic. Still young but has really stagnated.

none of our core group have the ability to stand up and take the game by the scruff of the neck when we need it. Billings, Steele, Gresham, ross.

battle had zero influence on the game.Has a lot of talent but can’t nail down a position.

You know what you get from jones, he will scrap all day for you but you know his skills will ocassionally key you down.

Marshall had a bad day today but he hasn’t done much wrong since the start of last year so I wouldn’t be to stressed about him.

Ross thinks he is pendlebury in traffic always trying to dance around traffic and always gets caught. Is probably a ripping bloke but he seems to have a bit of a figjam attitude while playing.

king, butler quiet today but have been good all year.

Kent and marsh are only average players and might need a spell.

In: bytel, Ryder, byrnes

out: long, Marsh, lonie

Hill looked too chummy with his old teammates and didn't look like he cared.

What does so do strange mean?
It’s a strange season where we are going to have to do 4 day turn arounds in all likelyhood. The players will be fatigue soon. This isn’t based on today’s game. I think he hasn’t been consistent all year. Don’t think he is anywhere near last years form
Yep so let’s wait until they may or may not get fatigued and not it in such a vital game.

Hill 8 touches last week vs Carlton, 11 this week vs Freo. Nowhere near good enough. He runs and runs, a bit of a headless chook, running after every bloke like a dog after a ball. But most of the time he just needs to do the team thing and cover a man or space, not KEEP ON RUNNING TO THE BALL EVERY TIME!
Was at the game - Hilly is also small and has no physical presence abound the ball-if Hill and Jones are not getting it ,we are slow and one paced-incredibly disappointing today, the worst way to lose.

Byrnes has been in form. Bytel has been fine from all reports but not exactly demanding selection.

I'd also dispute they are highly rated. To me, they are bordering on 'over hyped over absolutely nothing since 99.9% of supporters have never actually seen with their actual eyes" but thats just me.
They may be completely overrated, but let’s find out. We’re full of Webster level players we need to find out if we’ve got better options.

Hill looked too chummy with his old teammates and didn't look like he cared.
You have to remember its a job for him.

Hes not tied to the club with some long emotional investment. Hes been there less than 12 months and came to secure better financial terms.

Its no different to me leaving my current employer for another because they pay better. Maybe the commute is a bit better too.

But hes not exactly in love with the place like we are. We care about the club like its another family member.

Outside of a rare player here and there most dont view it the same. Its their employer.

Autopsy Round 6, 2020: Fremantle v St.Kilda