Autopsy Round 6, 2021: Port Adelaide v St.Kilda

I still have no idea what "get a big dog up you" means. To be honest I'm troubled.

It's just a way to sound extra offensive. I believe it's probably a suggestion that you be *******ed by a large canine. Obviously your pommie dogs are not as cool with cross species bedroom antics as our free spirited pets are. Your formal manners, tea parties and cucumber sandwiches have softened you all up.

Hahahaha I'm in tears

Holy ****

Something is rotten. Likely multiple things.
Got fu** all idea what has changed in such a short period of time, but it makes my insides hurt.

The precise problem is in fact that nothing has changed for us.

The whole rest of the competition has moved onto keepings off footy and we are being destroyed by it.
(Just like how we were destroyed by teams playing keepings off last year too btw).

It's embarrassing we have supposedly 'the best strategy' guy in the game in Rath and we are trotting out the same garbage week in and out.

It's not a lack of 'effort' or talent or fitness.

The players are being directed to play horse and cart football (chaosballs+manic pressure) in a model T Ford world (methodical passing up the field).

I agree with this . We don’t have a single player to grab the game by the scruff of the neck and carry the rest of the team along with them . We desperately need a talented extrovert.
Ironically petrecca is that player and that’s the reason the club decided not to get him . The Marshall and Ryder combo will help but we’re so far down the ditch now our introverts have gone further into their shell . All the big clubs have those players . We don’t .
A large part of it was the whole "StKilda school girl" fallout. Remember Carro was potting the club nearly every week for years from 2011-2014 about the character of the players and culture. We then came out with a statement about recruiting "good characters". Petracca was seen as potentially disruptive as a number one because of his ego. A team full of introverts is now what we have.

We got sucked in by trying to placate a journalist abd that has dictated where we are now. Notice how softly she gave up on her clubs love child when he was in trouble as a young man. That club didn't blink. We did.

I snuck into a club function years ago in BJ's 2nd season. He was ordering a group of players around the bar about what they were going to be doing for the rest of the night once they could blow off from the function. He had them lapping it up. He was the youngest by a mile of them but he had the balls to lead and they were going to follow.

We don't have anyone anywhere near that ilk. Just one of the myriad of problems.

Jeez you are on ****ing fire tonight. What’s the wine and cheese combo this time?

We can't possibly finish in the bottom 4 can we?

We have to play GWS (H), Melbourne (A), West Coast (A) and Richmond (A) a second time. Our percentage is currently 67%. Effectively, we are uncompetitive at the moment.

If we lose our next two matches (Hawthorn and Gold Coast) then it is a real possibility. It’s hard to believe.

We have to play GWS (H), Melbourne (A), West Coast (A) and Richmond (A) a second time. Our percentage is currently 67%. Effectively, we are uncompetitive at the moment.

If we lose out next two matches (Hawthorn and Gold Coast) then it is a real possibility. It’s hard to believe.

we don’t have either GWS or Melbourne again but good news is we get to play port again amd Geelong twice!!! Yippee!!!

If we lose our next two matches (Hawthorn and Gold Coast) then it is a real possibility. It’s hard to believe.
Please don't tell me we traded our 2021 first round pick....

we don’t have either GWS or Melbourne again but good news is we get to play port again amd Geelong twice!!! Yippee!!!

I stand corrected. I thought we played the first few teams a second time.

Thanks for cheering me up. Not.

So, with 16 rounds remaining, we have to play Geelong twice, Port, Richmond, Western Bulldogs, West Coast in Perth, and Brisbane in Brisbane

Well, I will say categorically, if we lose our next two matches then we will finish in the bottom 4.

I stand corrected. I thought we played the first few teams a second time.

Thanks for cheering me up. Not.

So, with 16 rounds remaining, we have to play Geelong twice, Port, Richmond, Western Bulldogs, West Coast in Perth, and Brisbane in Brisbane

Well, I will say categorically, if we lose our next two matches then we will finish in the bottom 4.
Agreed.

on current form I only have us beating carlton Collingwood and north.

subject to change with each subsequent thrashing we receive this year.

To be fair he did a lot with a sh*t list at Carlton. Malthouse fresh off a premiership plummeted them to the bottom with much the same set up. Richo and him are both guys that can extract a lot form a poo list so we never get bad enough to get good picks but never have good enough recruiting to not need to bottom out. We are in a state of perpetual mediocrity.
I would not put all of the blame on Ratten , everyone involved in the game plan would be privy too what the teams game plan would be.
That would be Rath and all the coaches and I would also include Leathlean in it as well.
The plan no doubt was placed on a dominate midfield and as we have seen we are a long way off the pace and it is exposing everyone - forwards and backs.
The team at the moment looks worse than we did a couple years ago when we were bad, I hold out hope they except there preconceived game plan has failed and try and put the breaks on team destroying our backline.

One thing to point out players like Howard , Crouch , Hill , Butler , Higgins , Jones joined us to perform and extend there careers and they didn't join us to be called out about there lack of effort , we also know players like Marshall , Membery , Steele , Gresham , Billings , Clark , Coffield , King , Paton are above average so clearly we have something totally screwed up that has the team totally lose confidence.

Getting back to the team , a lot of people have a love hate relationship with Carlisle but having a guy who has played the position well for many years suddenly filling in different positions when we are hurting down back has blown me away , by getting Frawley and playing at times smaller players on teams key forwards has failed , but they still will not play him in his position - this had to be there plan at the beginning of the year and they are not changing there mind.
Anyway he is not the only one playing in a position they are not use to playing and it just seems strange they are reluctant to change.

They suffered when we lost Marshall at the start of the season and now that he is back it will take him a few games to get back to his best.
I'm hoping they can regroup and get a game style that will not expose our flaws.
But if they don't get the next couple wins our season will be over and at that point I would start sorting through our list.

The season has been tough to watch after expecting to be playing finals - it would interesting what is being said in the club rooms.

I've never trusted those blue heelers you have down there. Bestiality simply isn't cricket, old chap. Our little Shih Tzu, Missy, could never countenance such an abomination alluded to in said profanity. I had to cover her eyes and ears because of those posts. I'm all for Aussie plain speaking, but there is a limit, sir.

So to the list. How many pass marks do you see from this group?

1. Coff- Playing into better form. Still building.
2. Jake- I dunno... Filling holes.
3. Jones- Injured. Body borderline rooted. No where near his best. Backwards
4. Gresh- Injured but prior was average. Backwards
5. Crouch- Meh. One good game.Meh
6. Seb- Same, same.
7. Dunstan- Done.
8. Hill- Quite literally the worst case scenario possible. Backwards
9. Jack- One of the best dozen in the comp...
10. Hannas- Done.
11. Clark- I dont reckon he is fit. Has moments of silk. Has moments of shyte effort. Again, he just does not have a tank at all. Looks gassed and slow. Backwards
12. King- Forward setup is terrible. Needs to lead more. Needs to work more. Needs to kick through the ball every single set shot. Backwards.
13. Lonie- Same old. Bobs up a few times. Backwards
14. Gears- Done.
15. Billings- Has moments. I doubt will ever break through to the next level. Backwards.
16. Butler- Small forward. Output down massively. Probably somewhat of a victim of our F50 of horrors. Backwards.
17. Dyl- Gone.
18. Paddy- Yet to play. Thus, backwards.
19. Marshall. Gun. Needs to stay healthy and string some games. Backwards.
20. Dougal. Getting pantsed by repeated easy oppo entries. Smashed. Backwards.
21. Benny- Inconsistent. Often unsighted. Undisciplined. Miles backwards.
22. Higgins- Another small forward with mediocre output. F50 Horrors.
23. Bytel- Has had moments where he looks great. But consistency and then again, consistent game time required.
24. Frawley. Injured. Probably will be seen again. Probably done after this year.
25. Kent. Thereabouts in the twos but if he starts getting games we be rooted.
26. Battle- Where should he be played? Should be better than he is showing atm. Backwards.
27. McKernan- No.
28. Membrey- Committed tryer. F50 horror show.
29. Jweb- Average. Has had some good moments, but again, smashed by the ease the opposition get it in.
30. Allison- Not even close yet.
31. Byrnes- Realistically, he's not even close yet. He's not.
32. Wood- Another top up depth that will struggle to get a look in if we are fair dinkum.
33. Paton- Quite seriously this is where it all started to fall apart. He is dead set crucial for the back line. If playing he would be getting smashed by the sheer number of opposition entries.
34. Highmore- Fringe unknown.
35. Sinclair- Has many moments. Looks great. Another positional head fck with half back so rooted.
36. McKenzie- He's had a decent year. But he's probably not good enough for long term at the level.
37. Connolly- Like Byrnes, he isnt doing enough at Sandy yet to be an option.
38. Clavarino- As above.
39. Joyce- As above. Fringe GOP.
41. Hunter- VFL level ok. Not a realistic option for the step up.
44. Wilkie- He's solid, but getting smashed like all the other mainstay backs.
45. Alabakis- Who...

When this list isnt performing it looks absolutely horrendous moving forward. It looks dead set alarming.
I question our fitness level. I just dont think it is up to standard.
How many pass marks would you give so far? Steele probably?
I question our midfield setup. Perhaps will look different with the Ryder/Marshall combo. Defensively weak allowing far too many easy, walked entries.
I question our forward setup. Ultimate lame duck. Always congested. No one leading. No movement. No marks. No goals.
I question our defensive setup across the field.
I dont have any real answers either. There is no longer any confidence. No longer any fluidity.
We are getting pantsed.

Something is rotten. Somewhere.
At least if the coach was rooting the physio or something... we might have something to point the finger at.

Over like you were in Bali and married some stoner chick with a tattoo on her face when you'd had mushrooms and Arak and woke up the next day and wondered how the fu** your parents and real wife were going to take it.

I saw this and had to scroll back to see what it was in reference to. Was secretly hoping you were on the attack with a troll, or a poster that had stepped into the hornets nest of your mind. Pity it's not...but an absolute quality post. Respect.

would even kill to have someone like Clint Jones back! Never gave up ever, couldn’t hit the side of a barn by foot, but **** I loved his effort! Our whole team could learn a lot from someone like CJ. Got the absolute most out of himself.

Autopsy Round 6, 2021: Port Adelaide v St.Kilda