Preview Round 7, 2023: St.Kilda v Port Adelaide - Marvel Stadium, Friday 28th April, 7:50PM AEST *WOOD 100TH*

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 59 90.8%
  • Power

Votes: 6 9.2%

Given RTB’s emphasis on running I reckon Byrnes is as safe as houses. No one’s come close to his miles all year and only Tom Scully has done more in a game than him in the history (or at least since this stat has been recorded) of the sport.

View attachment 1669766
Agree re: Byrnes, however it’s a long season & he’ll need to hold his form!

so he is a fringe player but reg brings his one wood

Frustrated Parks And Recreation GIF

Funny game the Blues game, so was the Pies one, when you watch some of our replays it looks like our opposition are being beaten by "perceived pressure".

Teams will work that out eventually I recon.

That's the benefit of applying the pressure that we are that even when we don't have players pressuring the opposition ball carriers they still panic and rush their disposals due to the perceived pressure and thinking they are under pressure even when they aren't.

Maybe opposition teams will work it out and get better at handling it but for now it's working to our advantage like we have extra players out there.

I want Billings in the team but who do we drop? Don't want pou dropped, windy could have a few games at Sandy I suppose
Honestly? I'd like to see Gresh sent to Sandy - if nothing more than for the attitude he showed when Caminiti walked into an open goal and snubbed Gresh (rightly imo)
The optics have been pretty ordinary from Jade lately...which admittedly means sweet FA if he was playing the house down, but he's not.
Send a message.

When I first joined BF I remember some scandal where a highly respected Port poster faked his own death so he could find out what the board really thought of him.
Adelaide I think. Was full on. Posters were in morning offering condolences etc.

He eventually came clean

so he is a fringe player but reg brings his one wood

Frustrated Parks And Recreation GIF

It's not official but there is some serious quality on the injury list so he's got his work cut out to keep them out, my guess is he will struggle to hold his spot when some first picked types get back. We are flying if he does hold them out.

Honestly? I'd like to see Gresh sent to Sandy - if nothing more than for the attitude he showed when Caminiti walked into an open goal and snubbed Gresh (rightly imo)
The optics have been pretty ordinary from Jade lately...which admittedly means sweet FA if he was playing the house down, but he's not.
Send a message.

He had a shocker against the Pies but he was much better against Carlton with 20 disposals, 5 tackles and a goal, I wouldn't be dropping him after that.

I think one of the younger guys like Windhager, Phillipou or Byrnes are more likely to be dropped for Billings than Gresham.

Send a message.
Yeah I'd like that too but he played quite well against Carlton

That's the benefit of applying the pressure that we are that even when we don't have players pressuring the opposition ball carriers they still panic and rush their disposals due to the perceived pressure and thinking they are under pressure even when they aren't.

Maybe opposition teams will work it out and get better at handling it but for now it's working to our advantage like we have extra players out there.

teams will eventually get a better understanding, we've won some games that we would have lost had the opposition played better and taken their chances like Carlton. A test for our game style will come through the cold months of June, July and August which some players struggle through and by that stage we will be tiring as our game style is extremely physically taxing, our young players especially will find it tough by then.

5 day break and back to back tough contests the past fortnight. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Windy come in for a full game and Billings also in. No idea who for. Possibly Paton and Pou with one to the sub role. Maybe Crouch doesn’t get up. Just a bunch he’s sore based on his subpar game against the Blues. He’s had a fairly heavy role in the first 6 weeks and done extremely well.

What's the matter mate? Seemed to have overdosed on the flog pills this morning...

Billings is in the 2s, he's a good player with elite endurance...that's all that was said...

It's an actual fact....

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
did i quote you?
no

by the sounds of it, you wouldnt need any flog pills

This is only the second time we will have played Port at Marvel since 2013 - I'd take most of the historical head to head record with a pinch of salt. Thank Christ we're not heading up to some tropical shitpit for it.
The games in SA have been good just not the results...I was there to see P Ryder put it down R. Grays throat for the game.

Play two different roll. Byrnes is very quick out of the stoppage. Something Jack can’t do. Byrnes isn’t going anywhere. Jack might have to play some more time in the twos but its good finally having a bit of pressure on spots

Byrnes runs end to end sprints and covers a huge amount of ground. Can't see Billings offering anywhere near as much run.

yeah running is definitely Byrnes one wood but he's still fades out of the game and is a bit fumbly at times and his kicking is still a bit dodgy at times.

Can't afford to drop off bringing his one wood as he's limited outside of that as Billings will displace him.

At games he's plugged a hole in defence, then sprints to draw a player for the kick out, then he's at the next contest...and then offering an option out wide in the forward 50...then sprints back to defence again. He's seriously impressive with his run. He would be highlighted by coaches every week for his efforts. I can't think of any player that covers as much ground at top pace. He'd be close to the fittest player in the side.

do you think Zac and Billings can replace his running ?

being the obvious replacements ?

Dawson was a much better player though. Cordy looks easily the most replaceable player in the forward line when we have everyone available. Dawson held down FB.
Sure. Ironically we got Cordy as a standby tall defender not as a forward. With all of King, Membrey, Caminiti and Hayes available you'd have to think Cordy will be playing at Sandy unless we lose players from the back line.

Certainly a good problem to have....and one we haven't had in a long time!

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

totally, and if Byrnes does in fact keep those types out of the team then even better for us but I'm just not 100% sold that he's capable of being a premiership type player but he's doing everything right presently. Can he keep it up and has he got any improvement left in him will be a fascinating watch.